We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, clean, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Took a shopping trip here with the family for a few days. The hotel was clean, the staff were pleasant, and the included breakfast was good (make your own waffles is always fun). The pool/hot tub was a great way to unwind after a day of walking. The shower was very nice, and at no time did we ever smell cigarette smoke in yhe halls or our room. As with all the hotels in the area, highway noise can be noticeable, but packing a sleep white noise machine always assists with that. Would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,334 - 1,340 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great breakfast. Everything else super except loud A/C unit on room. I guess I could have requested another, but we just crashed for 1 night. Reasonable room rate also. I would stay here again if I checked out the A/C unit first...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cache_n_out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

we stayed at the hotel in mid-august with our 2 children. the room was a good size for us. we had room to put up our pack-n-play for our youngest and there was still room to move around. the room came with a small fridge and microwave, which was great! we were on the 3rd floor. the pool is great (indoor) and the hot breakfast is also very good. it does get crowded in the main lobby seating area, however, they had an "overflow" room for extra seating. the staff was constantly keeping food out. they never seemed to be out of anything. there is coffee, tea and hot chocolate available 24 hrs. day in the lobby. they also put out popcorn in the evenings, which is a nice treat for the kids. the room was clean as was the bathroom. the housekeeping staff is funny. they "arranged" our kids stuffed animals on the beds when they cleaned the room!

my only real negative with this hotel is its location (which they can't help). we came up for the beach and the hotel is located about 8 or 9 miles from presque isle where the beaches are located. normally this would equate to a 10-12 minute drive, however, they are doing road construction all around the hotel's location and it took us a good 20 minutes to get to the beach everyday. there are a TON of restaurants right near this hotel, as well as shopping centers. overall, it is a good hotel and i would recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lajenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The 4 of us stayed at the Wingate for 2 days in room 404 and we had only 1 minor issue with our stay. On Wednesday we left our room at 10am and came back at 11:30pm and housekeeping only made the beds. Left our dirty towels right where we put all of them and didn't replace the shampoos or soaps. We were rather disappointed in the housekeeping staff; however, the night front desk clerk was nice enough to get us some fresh towels and took care of us.

The front desk was very nice and helpful. They allowed us to check in a little early which was a great help to us. The room was clean and comfortable when we first walked in. Additionally, the beds and pillows were very comfortable too. One of the odd things about our room was that we could not close the large curtains to darken the room at night. Only the white shear curtains would close.

One of the other great things about the hotel is its location. It was close to entertainment and to an abundance of food selections on Peach Street.

The front desk staff, location, room and even the free continental breakfast would make me book a room here again. Nice place for a quick rest or a short vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyclone2933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Our stay their was great. It was clean and comfortable and the staff was very accommodating and helpful. It was decently priced and well worth the money. Great location, very close to a lot of attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreameyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Looked for a handicapped accessible accommodation. Wingate offered an accessible room that was perfect for our needs. After we had unpacked we asked about area restaurants and found all major chains are nearby.
I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the comfort of the bed and bedding. The air conditioning was quiet - a big plus for me. The bathroom had a tub - a roll in shower would have been preferable, but all-in-all this was a hotel I would recommend to my friends.
I based by selection on tripadvisor reviews - thank you. We were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mercy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I booked 2 nights in a room with a king bed and pull out sofa. The room was nice and clean other than some iron burn marks on some fabric of a stool. The bathroom was rather small. If it was just my husband and I it wouldn't have been much of an issue but with 2 little girls coming in and out while I was in there, it got crowded and the door opened in so that it was hard to get out of the doors way to go out when more than one person was in the bathroom. It was nice having a fridge, microwave and coffee pot in the room and the coffee was actually pretty good. The small fridge did not have a freezer (usually small fridges like this have a tiny freezer section) which wasn't a huge issue but when I went to put an ice pack in the freezer I realized there wasn't one. The pool is pretty small and was crowded when we went. The hot tub was nice. This hotel is right next to an interstate. And our room was at the end closest to the interstate. I kept the fan on all night but I could still hear the traffic noise, which I am not used to, and it kept me awake the majority of the first night. This is when I tried sleeping on the pullout sofa further from the window but I could still hear the traffic and was incredibly uncomfortable. Good thing my daughter's don't care much about comfort while they sleep.

Room Tip: Request a room farthest from interstate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nolan1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Erie

Address: 8060 Old Oliver Rd, Erie, PA 16509-4650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#6 Family Hotel in Erie
#9 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range: $94 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Erie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham offers world class accommodations as well as first class customer service. We provide you with a deluxe hot breakfast from 6am until 10am, indoor heated pool with whirlpool, 24 hour fitness center, business center, and sundries shop. Our room offer you wired and wireless high speed internet service, pay-per-view movies, flat screen TVs, in room safes, mp3 player adaptable alarm clocks, as well as mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We provide a complimentary shuttle service to and from the local airport, casino, mall, and a limited service area. Shuttle hours vary. We have great rates, packages, and specials that we offer. Book direct to receive the best available rate. We do offer price matching as long as we can validate the rate. One all inclusive rate at one great price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Erie Hotel Erie
Wyndham Erie
Erie Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing