We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The one thing they can't control”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The rooms are clean and comfortable the value so so though it was about as reasonable as anything else around if you need to stay here. The one thing they can't control is the road noise, as the property sits just off the interstate there was a lot of road noise so if this bothers you don't stay. I also was bothered by little things, the floor in the elevator was damaged and the internet it the room was slow and spotty. I'd probably stay again for the cleanliness but would look at others farther from the road.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Letsroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,403 - 1,409 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I went to Erie shopping for a weekend, and we decided to try Hotwire.com and see where we could get the best rate and see if it's all its hyped up to be.

We ended up booking a king room at the Wingate for $105. We saved maybe $20 overall, but nonetheless, money was saved.

The hotel was fantastic, clean, quiet, concierge was helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast each morning was also very nice too, lots of variety!

The only few complaints I had, our ice bucket had mold on the inside (no problem, concierge sent a new one up right away), we had booked a king room, but when we got there they only had 2 double beds. I wasnt the happiest when i was told i didnt have a choice, but I wish hotwire had communicated to the hotel what was booked to prevent further issues.

Apart from that, place was great! close proximity to everything, yet tucked away in its own world too.

Room Tip: don't bother booking through hotwire, the $20 you save might as well get you the room that you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I will never trust this site again. This was basically a glorified motel. I guess eveything is relative - we are used to staying at much nicer places. If this is the third best hotel I am shocked.

This was clean enough for the most part although the elevator was muddy and dirty

The towels were dingy and ragged

it was so noisy - SO close to the freeway and the air conditioner was exceptionally loud all night - the walls were so thin I heard the person next door sneezing and the doors seem to slam ever louder than usual in a hotel!

The breakfast was nice but that is the best I can say about this hotel. Had we planned sooner we would have stayed at a Marriott as we usually do

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at the Wingate for one night--appeared to be relatively new property---bathroom and room were immaculate. Fast internet access in the room and they honored our request of a top floor room. My husband's only complaint was that there were not more premium tv channels to pick from---a man thing! Price of $87.00 + tax was excellent. Front desk clerk, Jeff was extremely helpful guiding us to hotel by phone.

Room Tip: upper floor away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Proseco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night and had no problems with my visit. Check-in was prompt and desk agent was friendly which was nice to see at 11pm. The room was clean, bathroom/shower looked nice and plenty of towels.

The free wifi was easy to sign on to but speeds were not that great, I was getting download speeds around 900k and sometimes peaked at 1.3mb. it's good enough to check mail and surf the web.

We didn't have time for breakfast in the morning but they had a nice little sampling of waffles, cereal, yogurt and juices available.

Check google maps on the location of the hotel and you will have no problems getting there, it is kind of odd how you get there but once you see it on the map it makes sense then.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have to say this hotel was the cleanest hotel I have stayed at in years. My husband and I stayed one night here in a king room and we were so impressed, not with just the cleanliness but with the service also. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great!. The bed was very comfortable. I cant say anything bad about this place. Everything was very close to perfect. Just wish every hotel was this nice. I really feel it was money well spent! I would definitely stay here again. Keep up the good work staff! We dont have many of you left out there!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gutseygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
0 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Erie, PA
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Erie

Address: 8060 Old Oliver Rd, Erie, PA 16509-4650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#6 Family Hotel in Erie
#9 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range: $78 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Erie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham offers world class accommodations as well as first class customer service. We provide you with a deluxe hot breakfast from 6am until 10am, indoor heated pool with whirlpool, 24 hour fitness center, business center, and sundries shop. Our room offer you wired and wireless high speed internet service, pay-per-view movies, flat screen TVs, in room safes, mp3 player adaptable alarm clocks, as well as mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We provide a complimentary shuttle service to and from the local airport, casino, mall, and a limited service area. Shuttle hours vary. We have great rates, packages, and specials that we offer. Book direct to receive the best available rate. We do offer price matching as long as we can validate the rate. One all inclusive rate at one great price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Erie Hotel Erie
Wyndham Erie
Erie Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing