We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to par”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Erie
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not up to par”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

I have stayed here before on business, but this time the experience was not up to par. I had trouble with the key after I returned from dinner. I had to go back down to the front desk time to get the keys remade. On the second time, someone from the desk came up with me and told me that I was removing them too quickly, so when I did it slowly, it still was not working well, so we decided it was the lock, which he admitted that someone had trouble about a week ago.
Once back in the room, I noticed a red stain on the sheets when I turned them down. Also, in the bathroom, the shower drain was pulled all the way out. In the morning when I showered, I had to turn the water off twice to avoid standing in drain water, which I find to be unsanitary in general. If it did not look like they already knew about the drain, I would not have been so disappointed, but obviously since it was up on the rim of the tub when I got there, they knew it was not draining well. Certainly, poor housekeeping and facilities response.
Also, the room was very hot inside (75 degrees, and it was 36 degrees outside) I had to turn on the air conditioning in the room in mid-November to get the room to a comfortable sleeping temperature. I don't think the air circulation was up to par.
Continental breakfast is nice, but for the price I paid, ($129), I expect a little better for the room and upkeep in general.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil E, Manager at SpringHill Suites Erie, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at the Springhill Suites Erie. We appreciate you being a repeat guest and are sorry your most recent stay was not satisfactory. We have met with our maintenance and housekeeping staff to address your concerns and have made the appropriate corrections. We hold ourselves to very high standards and appreciate being notified when we fall short. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again on your next trip to Erie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    157
    39
    19
    8
See reviews for
242
123
16
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

This hotel is clean. The staff are very accomodating and it is close to the Millcreek Mall and easy access to Grove City Outlets. There is a swimming pool so bring your bathing suit.
The only thing I found not appealing is the thin walls you could hear the people above us the one night. It may have been just kids jumping or the people were very heavy walkers.
Overall no complaints, great service, good location and spotless.
I would recommend this hotel.
3 of us went but there was also a pull out couch.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLKayser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil E, Manager at SpringHill Suites Erie, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding our staff and your stay here at the Springhill Suites Erie. We hold ourselves to very high service standards. The entire staff thanks you for your business and hopes to see you again on your next trip to Erie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed at this hotel in Oct/2011. Hotel is fairly new & clean.
Staff were friendly- rooms were clean. Had a Jacuzzi room - Jacuzzi did not have much pressure. King bed was not very comfortable.Toilet did not flush properly. Had 2 nice flat screen televisions in room, however it was a project to get them on at the same time. Some times one would come on & at other times the other.
The value wasn't there for the price we paid on this trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil E, Manager at SpringHill Suites Erie, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We have addressed the issues you point out in your comments and are sorry that your stay did not have the value you expected. We hope that you will try us again on your next visit to Erie as I am confident you will notice a difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

I'm very disappointed this time around. Me and my family always stay here when we come in to Erie, PA a few times a year since they opened. The front desk lady ( Kimberly )was fantastic with our service as usual and check in went swiftly, but as soon as I got to our room it was horrible. The sheets were not cleaned and did not smell good at all, the bathroom was just pure nasty as if all they did was put new towels and soap in there. The next day the housekeeper if I remembered correctly ( Melissa )was at our room and I had asked her nicely if she wouldn't mind cleaning the room and bathroom really good since it was not done properly when we arrived and to have new sheets on our beds. She had a very bad tone in her voice and had an attitude the whole time and still didn't perform good cleanliness. Other than that the stay was nice, I just hope by the next time I stay that the housekeeper is no longer there she will, put a bad reputation on this nice and wonderful hotel if she continues to be rude towards customers and does not do the job she is suppose to do.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil E, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Erie, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello,

My name is Phil the General Manager since Oct 2011. I apologize that your good review was never responded to even though your valuable feedback was read. In retrospect the fact that you took the time to compliment us made me feel bad a response was not posted. Therefore if you are out there THANK YOU on behalf of the team.

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

The only good thing to be said is that the hotel is new. After that this review goes down hill. When we came to the room for the night, I wished to take a shower to find someone elses pubic hair on the shower wall. The mattresses where like something from goodwill, they had no support.
We have stayed at the Springhill Suites in other locations so we believed that this experience would be like the others, it was a far cry from that. My husband went to the front desk to inform them of the dirty room and that there where no pillows for the pullout couch. He was told that he should have just called the desk. He said he prefferred to speak face to face with a manager. He was told there are no managers on site. Have you ever heard of such a thing? no mangers! This was not because of the time of day, they have no general manager at the hotel he is off site at a development company, or so we were told.
They ignored the complaint of the hair and said they would send some pillows to the room. The pillows came in a timely manner, but that is the last good thing that happened.
Upon check out the next day, we chose to pay cash for the room. We were told that our card would not be charged, it was. We found that out after coming home and checking online. My husband called he was assurred it would be removed in 24 hours it was not. My husband called again he was then told no record could be found of a cash payment and it would be 7 to 10 days depending on our bank. Our bank is PNC bank the same bank that is all over Erie PA. We are from Pittsburgh so our bank ,(PNC), is not even an out of state bank, why would it take 7 to 10 days to remove a charge?
When ever there was an issue at any other Sprinhill Suites it was taken care of in a timely fashion. A good example is the first time we went to a Springhill Suites was in VA beach. We had never stayed at one before and did not realize that there where no in room safes. The manager on duty went home on her break, and brought back her safe for us to use on our stay. This kind of graciousness is why we have always chosen Sringhill Suites over any other hotel. The Erie branch is not even in the same league they should be ashamed to call themselves a Springhill Suites by Marriot.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anad47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil E, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Erie, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello,

My name is Phil the General Manager since Oct 2011. I apologize that your review was never responded to even though your valuable feedback was read. In retrospect the fact that you took the time to comment us made me feel bad a response was not posted. Therefore if you are out there THANK YOU on behalf of the team at SpringHill Suites Erie!!

Please give us another try and see the changes for yourself!!

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Hurricane Irene forced us to cancel our reservations at Spring Hill Suites, Virginia Beach. So we settled for a short stay in Erie and booked a night with you because of the superb experiences we've always had at Spring Hill, VA Beach. We expected the same from you and OMG...at 1/2, 1/3 or even 1/4 their size...You Are NO VA Beach Spring Hill Suites.
When I have guest overnight at my house, I welcome them with open arms and a clean, well-prepared living environment. The heart of true hospitality lies in the cleanliness, preparedness and anticipation of my guest's wants and needs.
I thoroughly clean the bathroom prior to their arrival... so they don't have to see someone else's pubic hair STUCK to the shower wall and on the bathroom door. (THEY WAY I SAW PUBIC HAIR IN YOUR BATHROOM WHEN WE DROPPED OUR BAGS IN THE ROOM UPON ARRIVAL.)
I make sure that MY guests have ample bedding supplies; pillows, sheets and blankets.
(UNLIKE THE PILLOWS THAT WERE NOT STOCKED IN THE ROOM TO ACCOMPANY YOUR PULL-OUT SOFA.) Had to interupt the gal at the from desk...texting beside a laundry cart...to get some pillows...after I was forced to play the "Are you sure you didn't look everywhere"...game. And while I'm on the subject of games...the signs that say "Vending & Ice" don't appy to all floors. On the 2nd floor it really means, "An Ice Machine" and a plug where a vending machine should be.
Finally, in lieu of no management or anyone capable of handling a management scenario...one gentleman behind the desk stood out...on the day of check-out. I needed a little extra time and Mr. David -- EFFORTLESSLY accomodated my needs. He wasn't a manager...but he SHOULD BE. He was caring, sincere and reassuring. He didn't need a nametag to show that he was important . He showed me that I was HIS guest and HE was going to do whatever he felt necessary to make ME feel special. The only way I'm ever bringing my family back to your hotel is if Mr. -- is promoted. I get the strong impression from his attitude that he would run it like he owned it. THAT is something that cannot be taught or trained. You've either GOT IT...or you don't. And after 18 years in the hospitality industry myself, and the Banquet manager at the Top Of The Triangle in Pittsburgh...IT IS a tough job. But if you don't love it for what it's worth and put service first.... you have no business being in "the business."

Room Tip: Clean the bathrooms from ceiling to floor between guests and get better mattresses
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PIttsburghPappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil E, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Erie, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello,

My name is Phil the General Manager since Oct 2011. I apologize that your review was never responded to even though your valuable feedback was read. In retrospect the fact that you took the time to comment us made me feel bad a response was not posted. Therefore if you are out there THANK YOU on behalf of the team at SpringHill Suites Erie!!

Please give us another try and see the changes for yourself!!

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the SpringHill Suites in Erie PA. The hotel is one of the newest ones in Erie and is in a good location, very close to the mall and many restaurants. The room had a wet bar, microwave and refrigerator. There was a sitting area with a sofa and chair and a flatscreen tv that could be swivaled if you were on the sofa or in bed. The breakfast that was included was good, and there was always fruit in the lobby to snack on. The only negative comment I could make was that the walls were a little thin and you could hear flushing toilets in the middle of the night. All in all, it was a good experience and I would stay at there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 64PamS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil E, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Erie, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello,

My name is Phil the General Manager since Oct 2011. I apologize that your good review was never responded to even though your valuable feedback was read. In retrospect the fact that you took the time to compliment us made me feel bad a response was not posted. Therefore if you are out there THANK YOU on behalf of the team at SpringHill Suites Erie!!

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
5.2 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
5.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Erie

Property: SpringHill Suites Erie
Address: 2087 Interchange Rd, Erie, PA 16509-8315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Erie
#2 Business Hotel in Erie
#3 Family Hotel in Erie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Erie 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Erie is an all-suite Marriott hotel located off I-79 and Interchange Road. We are a short walk from multiple restaurants, shopping at Millcreek Mall, and less than 6-miles from Presque Isle State Park, Waldameer Park, and the Erie Zoo. Travelers looking for hotels in Erie, PA will appreciate our hotel's complimentary WiFi, hot breakfast buffet, and parking after a busy day on the road. Our spacious guest suites offer a comfortable living area with an ergonomic work desk, wet bar, and sofa separated from the sleeping area, featuring plush Marriott bedding with crisp linens, WiFi, and a large HDTV. Busy guests at the SpringHill Suites Erie, PA hotel will enjoy the convenience of our onsite 24-hour fitness center and 24-hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Erie Hotel Erie
Erie Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing