We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
George Carroll House
Nearby Hotels
$89
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
ComfortInn
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Erie(Erie)(Great Value!)
$59
Red Roof
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$101
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie(Erie)(Great Value!)
$96
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wingate by Wyndham Erie(Erie)(Great Value!)
$85
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
157
37
6
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
157
37
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb boff street parkingwithin walking distancebed and breakfastgannon universityoatmeal packetsdowntown eriebars and restaurantsmedical centerplace to staypresque islea great stayparking lotprivacyaccommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 202 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at GCH for one night while we were in Erie for the Wine Festival. Our room was bright, cheerful and very clean. And everything worked! The keypad locking system for the front and room doors was very convenient. We had only a light breakfast before leaving town the next morning. It was a great value and we will stay at GCH the next time we visit Erie.

Room Tip: We only saw the room we used, #6. None of the other guests said anything negative about their rooms to us.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsh923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eakidder, Owner at George Carroll House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at George Carroll House. We highly appreciate your kind compliments. We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Erie!

Chris, Betsy, and Patti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Over the last 5 years , we have traveled to Erie, home of our daughter's college Gannon University. Once we found the George Carroll House, we have never stayed anywhere else. The consistent comfort, cleanliness and value offered by Chris, Betsy and Tim allow me to recommend this B&B to everyone~ It is an Erie Gem!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eakidder, Owner at George Carroll House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

We're so happy that you and your family have chosen to visit us time and time again over the years. It is the best compliment to know that you have enjoyed staying at George Carroll House and we truly appreciate your kind words It has been a pleasure having you as our guests.

Chris, Betsy, and Patti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I recently stayed at the George Carroll House and had a wonderful experience. My welcoming email gave me all the information I needed to access both the house and my room without waiting or hassle. Our room was very modern, comfortable and spotless and rivaled some of the big chain hotels without all the noise. The house is within walking distance of restaurants, bars and the University so my rental car didn't get much use. Betsy and Chris, the owners, are very warm and friendly people and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eakidder, Owner at George Carroll House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your excellent review! It was an absolute pleasure having you, and your daughter, as our guests. We loved to hear that you enjoyed your stay. One of the perks of our location is the convenience of being within walking distance of many downtown establishments and Gannon University. You can park your car in our off-street lot and you may not need to use it again until you leave. We sincerely hope to see you again at George Carroll House.

Chris, Betsy, and Patti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Very clean and comfortable. Close to Bayfront and quaint bars and shops. Lovely sitting room to invite family or friends over for cocktails before going out to eat. Nice breakfast room.Nice and quiet.

Room Tip: I think all room picks would be good.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrssybille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eakidder, Owner at George Carroll House, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for choosing George Carroll House for your stay in Erie. And, also, thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Erie. Hopefully the weather will be warmer!

Chris, Betsy, and Patti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I just had the pleasure of staying a night at the George Carroll House. Our room was modern, clean and very comfortable. The house is beautiful and close proximity to bars and restaurants. We would definitely return for another stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNic27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eakidder, Owner at George Carroll House, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Erie and for taking the time to give us such a kind review. We also enjoy being within walking distance of so many wonderful downtown Erie restaurants, bars, and attractions. We hope to see you next time you're in Erie!

Chris, Betsy, and Patti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews