We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”

Tom Ridge Environmental Center
Ranked #5 of 60 things to do in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
WESTON
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have been to Erie a few times and this is the first time we stopped at the Tom Ridge Center. It was very neat. We really like going up in the tower and looking around. It was very windy that day and you could here the waves crashing on the shore from the top of the tower. We also watched a show. It was about the ice age. I don't remember the name. But very good. show. The center was free and the show was $5.00 a person.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wcoult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    97
    36
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The "green" building is its own best exhibit”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Probably would be a little boring for kids/teens. Love the gift shop. I was doing a virtual geocache so I learned a lot more about the building itself than i would have just wandering through it. The green features are very interesting but for the money it cost it should be a lot more, and have more varied exhibits so it's not the same thing every time you go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank critic119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting...”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Especially on a day when you would rather not be buffeted by high wind and 20f temperatures. Our first visit occurred several years ago, when temp dropped and light snow arrived in late October. It was fantastic, even though we ran out of day...we visited again last year. Don' t miss it

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Ac lot of cool and interesting things to see and do. a must is to go up into the tower to see the view!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnM23_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“needs maintenance”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This time the center looked a bit worn, with many of the whirlygigs out of order. The staff was very pleasant and helpful however.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trixiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom Ridge Environmental Center also viewed

 

Been to Tom Ridge Environmental Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing