We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been coming here for years - for good reason”
Review of Pufferbelly on French - CLOSED

Pufferbelly on French
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Been coming here for years - for good reason”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The food at Pufferbelly is always excellent, the atmosphere is relaxed, and the service is good (although possibly a bit quirky from time to time). If you are eating light, try the wonderful salmon and spinach salad, which is served with generous amounts of sliced almonds and apples. Some nice vegetarian selections are available, like the vege quesadilla and a roasted red pepper sandwich served with a basil pesto on a ciabatta roll. My favorite dinner entree has always been the Steak Madagascar. Good desserts - usually quite large! We also enjoy sitting in the bar area, where Rose the bartender will keep your coffee cup filled -- and she makes a good Irish coffee, too. Don't go too late in the evening, though, since they're not really a late night place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jozalerie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    75
    14
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Strange Restuarant Name...Great Food”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Where else could you have a paella wrap with saffron rice, sausage and shrimp? It was absolutely the best! When you enter the restaurant located in a turn of the century fire house, you will feel relaxed as the interior is paneled with dark woods and high ceilings.

There is no pretentiousness in this establishment. You will find doctors, lawyers, business professionals as well as vacationers, the retired, and many people "off the clock" who just want to relax.

Try the pecan encrusted haddock sandwich. It is the best fish sandwich or just sandwich I have ever had.

The service is terrific with a friendly and attentive staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1000NaturalShocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great food, atmosphere and service!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My family and I ate here for lunch yesterday and thoroughly enjoyed it. My husband had the French onion soup to start out with and he loved it! I had the pasta Sophia and it was excellent! Our food came out fast and the service was friendly...couldn't ask for more! We would come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique Dining Experience”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have had dinner and Sunday brunch at this restaurant and the food is always excellent. The brunch is especially good offering a wide variety of foods from made to order omelets to sliced prime rib. The dinner menu is varied and offers something for everyone. The staff is very friendly and attentive. This is locally popular so I would recommend reservations on the weekends and for Sunday brunch. Enjoy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wetsu6567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
347 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere but average chow”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

the restauarant appears to offer a lot of promise at the door. It is a converted firehouse and very charming. food is just Ok. nice place for a safe meal before an Erie Otter hockey game. good with a client but just average

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LARRYOTTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing