We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nightmare!!!”
Review of Lake Erie Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Erie Lodge
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Reviewed October 17, 2011

All I wanted was a weekend to relax with my husband. We had stayed here previous times over the years and returned once again. It has to be different management than the prior times. The first night I was awakened at 2:00 to a woman fighting and screaming with some guy and shouting obscenity. When we left for breakfast in the morning there was beer cans scattered all about in the lobby. This alone should have made us leave the next day but we had already paid for two nights stay and thought it couldn't be like this again, I was wrong!!!
The next night we was awakened at 11:00 by the front desk calling to say that we only paid for one night. I had to explain to him all of the events that unfolded that day with our checking in. He apoligized and said he would have to go over his paperwork. Maybe he needed more beer money, who knows. Then quess what happens again? The partying and shouting started once again into the early morning. When we went to the office the next morning to check out (8:45) the door was locked and we had to ring the bell over and over again and kept knocking on the door to get someone to answer. Gee, how does it feel getting awakened during your sleep!!!???!!! After 5 minutes the door opened and we gave him our key and left.
VERY POOR management and bookeeping!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Lake Erie Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 121 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

I had a very nice stay in july, went with my sister and my two little boys, and was very satisfied. Room was clean, had all we needed, and staff was extra friendly. Nice inground pool, and late evening campfire for whomever wanted to sit around it. Very nice, relaxed atmosphere. :) Would definately recommend staying there. Harry, the owner, left a wonderful impression on me, very warm, helpful and friendly. Look foward to seeing him my next visit :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becky n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Accommodating; not fancy but clean and friendly. Very convenient to Presque Isle. Well managed family business. Will return.
K and C

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This place is horrible, the room smelled bad, bathroom smelled bad and it was noisy with people outside. I asked for the password for the internet because it says free WiFi and the password the guy in the lobby gave me was wrong. Only stayed an hour as after paying for a room and the rest of our party arrived, they wouldn't let us stay, said there were too many. We called earlier that day to reserve the room, the lady said on the phone said our number of guests were fine. The guy at the front desk wouldn't refund us and basically called us a liar by saying there was no lady that answers the phone there, yet his mother was standing there in the lobby. He was very rude to us. What ever happened to the rule customer is always right? Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere, this was the worst hotel I had ever been at.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank Mode09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Our room was updated.. New carpet, chairs and paint. Clean and a good deal for your money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddeedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This place was the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel and I am not the picky type. The room was not clean (carpet stains, old bed linens, odor). The internet did not work, nor did the TV and the toilet did not flush. On top of that, the staff was extremely immature. Several young men in their 20s hanging around without shirts, drinking and smoking. In the morning they had left their trash all around the place. They kept me up until around 4:30 in the morning smoking and drinking and inviting girls to the area just outside the guest rooms. Oh, you think I am talking about guests....No, this was the hotel staff. I had to go outside and tell them to quiet down. I guess they partied so late they were unable to get up in the morning. Several guests were waiting for them until almost 9 am. I could not check out or complain about the service as they were nowhere to be found. I could see more of their trash from the night before strewn at the front desks and other guests could not shower because they were given no towels. Grow up if you want to run a hotel. Seems they are in it just to impress their girlfriends and have no interest in the guests. Find another hotel until these clowns grow up.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jcrunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My child and I stayed at the Lake Erie Lodge after a long drive to visit relatives. The room had two beds, a television, refrigerator, and air conditioning. The bathroom had a 70's era peach colored sink and bathtub. There was ample parking and an outdoor, in-ground pool.
While plugging my cell phone in to charge, I noticed a gallon spray container of some sort of insecticide. This was NOT what I wanted to see in my room!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikemolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 38 in Erie
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Lake Erie
2.8 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#7 of 38 in Erie
858 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
5.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Erie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Erie Lodge

Address: 1015 Peninsula Dr, Erie, PA 16505-4152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range: $59 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Erie Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Erie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Erie Hotel Erie
Lake Hotel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing