We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun”

Waldameer Park & Water World
Ranked #2 of 63 things to do in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Give your family all the fun and excitement of more than 75 great attractions at Waldameer. You'll find thrilling rides and family classics, plus some awesome rides for the little ones! Then there's Water World, a whole waterpark full of wet n’ wild fun for everyone.Plus, check out challenging midway games, tasty summertime foods and enjoy great free entertainment with 3 musical shows daily at our Showtime Theatre.Waldameer & Water World is a family-owned and family-friendly – we are proud of our Park’s major expansion in recent years, which has only improved upon the park’s long rich history of providing safe, clean and affordable summertime fun!
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Great for younger children. No long lines. Waterpark is great fun on warm days. A nice family park.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank belladonna53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    223
    76
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A bit of nostalgia”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Waldameer is an old and old fashioned amusement park that is great for families visiting the Erie area. Although it seems there are more game booths than rides, there is enough of both for all ages. The park isn't huge, and that's a plus if you have younger children or teens that may want to be on their own.

Adults get onto the grounds free, so if you just want to walk around or get a sweet treat after a day at the park, this is a good place to do it. Parking is also free. We were lucky enough to be there for the Memorial Day weekend and were treated to fireworks at the park.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingal15644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“great family spot”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

For our first visit to Waldameers we were surprised to see that parking was free and so was admission (you only need to pay for a wristband if you want to go on the rides). And speaking of rides, they were perfect for our 8 year old son who has passed the "kiddie ride" stage but is still intimidated by the super large coasters that dominate at so many parks these days. It was also nice being able to bring both our own food into the park as well as our dog, who thoroughly enjoyed walking around the park instead of being stuck in a kennel for the day. It was nice that the park is heavily treed so on a sunny, hot day, there is plenty of shade to be found. While some of the rides are showing a little wear and tear, I have to say our family thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will probably return later this summer. It's a great place to spend family time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jetset_woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great time for a great price!”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

My husband and I took our 3 year old there today. The water park wasn't open yet, but we had a great time! If you plan to ride rides, definitely get a wrist band. Well worth the price. However, it is free to park and free to get in. So if you don't want to ride, its a cheap day out! My son pretty much got our money's worth on all of the kiddie rides. He had a ball. The park is small, but very clean and very family friendly. Staff was great with the kids. TIP: the park doesn't accept cash. If you want to use cash, you need to get a Wally card, which is sort of like a gift card. Because we went before the start of the peak season, there wasn't any lines for the rides and we still managed to spend 6 hours there. The food was great too, but you can bring your own and enjoy there picnic areas.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RelaxedGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is an awesome park with an old time feel.”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a terrific park if you don't want the long lines at Cedar Point, and if you want a softer pace, yet still fun filled day. There is plenty for adults and kids alike.

Helpful?
1 Thank marnster321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldameer Park & Water World also viewed

 

Been to Waldameer Park & Water World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing