We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up close and personal..”
Review of Erie Zoo

Erie Zoo
Ranked #4 of 63 things to do in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Seward, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Up close and personal..”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This zoo allows you to get up close and personal compared to many other zoos such as Pittsburgh. There aren't as many animals, but the animals they do have are cool. My favorite was the bears. Although the sign said they were black bears, they were actually brown. Anyhow, they were fun to look at. The one seemed irritated that it was hot out and kept doing this weird movement. It was onl $8 and only took us about an hour to an hour and a half to look through it. My husband and I are in our 20's and we went with two other 20 year olds and we had fun. I believe you could probably spend more time here if you were here with kids.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiepug90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    210
    61
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best small Zoo in America!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a gem....The entire zoo is stroller friendly and kid friendly. Beautiful animal exhits and gardens. This is a very managable size for small children. Epic train ride and a Merry go Round that is one of the best I've ever seen....want to ride an elephant, sea dragon or how about a zebra. The variety of animalson this ride is incredible.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Son's first trip to the zoo.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wife and I took our son to the Erie Zoo for the first time on July 14, 2012. He was so excited to see all of the animals. He really liked the monkeys, zebra's, lions, rhino's, and polar bear. He really enjoyed it and we will definitely be taking him back there again. He also really liked the model train that was running around. He loves trains and even got to ride on the train around the part of the zoo. He was so tired from his trip to the zoo that he fell asleep before we were even off of Peach St.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Being a fan of animals, I am lucky to have a place like the Erie Zoo. Always a clean park, and the animals are very lively for being captive. It is so much fun to see the monkeys play, or watch the tiger stalk small children as they walk by.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best little zoo I've ever been to!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We all loved this zoo, beautifully landscaped, plenty of shade and places to sit and rest. We thought the variety of animals were fantastic- the best of the best! This is zoo is a great size, and you are not exhausted when you leave! Very clean and well kept and the price was reasonable.

Helpful?
1 Thank luckylady830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Erie Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing