We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Canelo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Canelo
Ranked #237 of 402 Restaurants in Erie
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“Very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Very good food and yummy margaritas! I had steak tacos and a mango margarita. Food was hot and came quick. My whole family enjoyed it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christinamarie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    6
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The place give you a homely feeling. Oh also the price is right, the food is tasty and the service is excellent. recommend to people of all ages.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maadca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite mexican restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We love this place. We also visit the location in New Castle from time to time. We keep asking them to open a location near the Pittsburgh airport. The food is great...you will have leftovers...are very reasonably priced. I love the beans and rice. My husband goes with fajitas...and they make them very spicy per his request. We recommended this place to someone staying at the same hotel and she thought it was great too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank slpaulpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Good hot food, quick service, and awesome Mango Margaritas! So much better than the chain Mexican restaurants.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank plantlover36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WORST EVER!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Im not quite sure what people from Erie think is Mexican but this is not it. Im from So. California so I know authentic mexican food. I had nachos and a maggie, my husband had a burrito. Watered down, unseasoned, bland..... I could go on. We both got sick. The only decent thing was the tortilla chips if you added tons of salt! Take my advice & go to taco bell!!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Canelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing