We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet cloth napkins with silverware rolled in them! YUCK!”
Review of Olive Garden

Olive Garden
Ranked #39 of 406 Restaurants in Erie
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
W. PA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wet cloth napkins with silverware rolled in them! YUCK!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our wait for a table was not real long about 20-25 min.
Food was good as well as service but all the silverware was rolled in wet cloth napkins.
The more you think about it the more it sounds discusting. How long have they been wet and what if they don't get put out now and they mold and people eat off the moldy silverware? YUCK! These things were so wet they made your clothing wet after you laid them on your lap.
We hung ours from the corners of the table with dished so they dried as we waited for the main meals to come. The real question was if they were washed and not dried are the germs killed in the wash ect.............

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PAhitstheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    63
    37
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have eaten in many Olive Garden restaurants all over the U.S. either by ourselves for with family and have found them to be extremely accommodating and the food to be plentiful, hot and very good. It's my daughter in law's favourite place to eat when we are in the states. The Erie location was no different as the service was fast and fun and the food delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Great food but service breakdown not addressed properly”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Kids love the Olive Garden since we don't have it in Canada and usually try and stop while in the U.S. - the Erie location has a huge parking lot and was full so we thought we were in for a wait, but were sent right to a table upon arrival. Waiter arrived within a few minutes and we usually do the entire order - drinks and food to save time with kids. Off to a great start, but there's where the breakdown was. Twenty minutes later - no drinks, no salad, no breadsticks - kids complaining. I realized two other tables beside us were also getting vocal who looked in the same situation. What happened was the waiter I guess had enough of working at Olive Garden and basically decided that was it - and walked out the front door stranding multiple tables. When people started complaining the staff and managers started to address it - and we had to reordered our food and drinks 30 minutes after we had originally ordered them. Eventually of course we got our drinks, salad and food but the tables beside us turned twice before we were done, and what could have been a 45 min quick dinner turned into more than 1.5 hours and with kids that's not exactly what you signed up going to the Olive Garden.
It wasn't the restaurant's fault the waiter decided it was time to quit, but aside from the managers coming around and chatting up everyone apologizing, they didn't offer any compensation which I found quite surprising. I didn't really have the energy to fight in front of the kids after a long day for some form of compensation - at the minimum the deserts should have been comp'd or the drinks comp'd -but I got the full bill. Lessons in food service customer management -it's how you deal with a problem that truly defines your customer service reputation. Only a C in this case.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachman727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Night with the Family”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Was in town for July 4th and luckily was seated within 5 minutes for our party of 7. Food was typical OG and our server was great. Kids of the OG and would be back when in town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gojadego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wattsburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Picnic Ever!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family loves the Olive Garden and we are regular patrons. They have some of the nicest servers I've ever met, but until recently, we never realized they did take out.

It was a beautiful day so we called in an order as I picked up my daughter from work. They have a dedicated parking spot right in the front and it was ready when got there. I always thought sitting at the beach with family and friends, eating hamburgs and hotdogs was great, but there's not much better than sitting at the beach with mushroom stuffed ravioli. (The food was packaged well enough that there was almost no quality loss from the 25 minute car ride...and I think the take out salad might almost be better than the regular salad, if you can believe that)

Presque Isle, Olive Garden and Noble Winery--a recipe for a perfect picnic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

 

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing