We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Cosy.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glass House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glass House Inn
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cosy.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I always like to support small businesses where possible, we arrived very late and our room had been left open for us, its a little dated but warm and comfortable...breakfast was limited but did the job, worth tracking this place down...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    197
    43
    10
    9
See reviews for
199
225
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotia, NY
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

As we weren't going to be able to make it until after 10pm when the office closed, we were told that our door would be unlocked and it was. Comfortable bed with a table and two chairs in a small nook with a small fridge, microwave and a coffee maker. The bathroom was fine but I would suggest a small table to the right of the sink as the only place for toiletries was on top of the toilet tank. Housekeeping did neglect to fill the Kleenex dispenser. Very comfortable lobby but the breakfast as has been stated was mostly carbs. The only fruit were clementine's, a disappointment as any other place we have stayed would provide apples and bananas. I'm sure I was told on the phone that there would be yogurts but if they were there, we did not see them. Regular coffee was fine but those who would want decaf would be have to settle for making it themselves from a jar of instant.
We did like the idea of staying in a place that was built before all the big chains when Route 20 was the main thoroughfare. It was nice to get off the interstate and actually stay in town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotiaCantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Glass House Inn this past weekend. We used it as a base to go skiing and shopping down to Grove City. We often stay at the large chains, but due to the great reviews we decided to give this motel at try. We are so glad we did. The location is close to the 79, so easy in and out. We never appreciated the convenience of a motel. It was so nice being able to park directly outside the unit. After a day of shopping we loved the short walk to the unit. We stayed in a Queen room with a sofa. It was very clean and well maintained. The breakfast was quite adequate, toast, bagels, pastries, oatmeal and great fresh oranges.
The staff recommended a restaurant nearby, and it was a very good pub style place. We will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura m, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We are so glad you gave us a try. Hope to have you stay again. Thank you for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, WI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed there last fall and liked it enough to rebook. There are some dreadful motels out there and then there are cozy-cute ones like the Glass House. Plus, it's close to half a gillion restaurants, so you'll have fun deciding where to eat. Go, Glass House!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura m, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us again! There are many great places close to the Glass House Inn. Tim and I love to help our guests find just what their in the mood for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at the glass house inn the past two July's with all of our children and plan to return this year in July as well!! We absolutely love this place!! It's very close distance to the beaches and Hoss's is just a few doors down! 2 years ago when we stayed there I had a bed that was so hard...like bricks. Last year before booking, I emailed the staff who told me there was a few rooms that had soft beds and that they would book my girls and I in that room! Well we got there and the bed was super comfy!!! The rooms are so clean!!! I took one of their white bath towels to clean up a spill on the bathroom floor and there was not even a spec of dirt on it!!!

Tim, the owner even remembered us from the year before! Now that's pretty cool! Tim is always at the pool testing levels and talking to his guests! We love the bfast in the morning! Nice and quick and feels like your eating in grandmas house!! I can't say enough about this place!! In a few more months I will be calling to book my room for the 2nd week of July!!!

If you need somewhere to stay while your in Erie, I promise you will not be disappointed!! Oh and the flowers outside of all the rooms are beautiful!! So well maintained!!

Thx Tim and Laura and we will see you in July!!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tmboss17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura m, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for the review. We hope you will come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Glass house Inn is clean and rather old fashioned. we have stayed here several times. Looking to book again this year.

The only thing that really bothered us, is the loud partying, car running with radio blasting at all hours of the night into 3 a.m. Produced by the owners daughter. Very unprofessional. I cannot believe the owners let this happen. This is supposed to be a business, not a partying house, free-for-all.

We are trying it one more time, if this happens again, I think we will move on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us over the years. I guarantee you that we don't "let" something like that happen. That is totally unacceptable for anyone to behave that way on our property especially a family member. She does not live nor work at the property, so there is no reason for it. This is the first complaint I have had like this and I truly apologize and assure you it will NOT happen again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope to see you again this summer.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband and I had an opportunity to stay at the Glass House Inn. We could not have been more pleased. It was immaculate, tastefully decorated, quiet, very comfortable and convenient. The staff was cordial and went out of their way to please us. If you are looking for an alternative to a chain property, this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryBczyps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! We really appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
5.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#7 of 37 in Erie
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glass House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass House Inn

Property: Glass House Inn
Address: 3202 W 26th St, Erie, PA 16506-2591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Erie
#2 Family Hotel in Erie
#2 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#7 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glass House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting and vacationing in Erie, Glass House Inn will be your home away from home. Our personable, 30-room inn is family-owned and operated. Glass House Inn is a colonial style motel with quaint, clean, and comfortable rooms. We offer convenient parking directly outside your room. Each room is furnished with a range of amenities with all the comforts of home including in-room coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. Additionally, we also offer an outdoor, heated pool, outdoor gas grill, basketball hoop, and continental breakfast. Our homey inn offers all the amenities and accommodations of other hotels with an added personal touch. The Glass House Inn is only two miles away from Presque Isle State Park, Waldameer & Water World amusement parks, and minutes from Millcreek Mall and downtown Erie. Enjoy all the comforts of home at Glass House Inn when visiting Erie. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Glass House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glass House Hotel Erie
Glass Hotel Erie
Glass Motel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing