We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Glass House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glass House Inn
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
“A home away from home”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have stayed at the Glass House Inn numerous times, and I keep coming back. It is a clean quaint motor lodge reminiscent of a bed and breakfast or the motels of my youth. My family and I love feeling like one of the Merryman family when we come and stay. We have seen their children grow and relish the feeling of safety and security we have at a place like the Glass House. The quality of care Tim and Laura have for their facility is second to none. The rooms are immaculate and homey. The pool is perfect for my family and we love to hang out and relax on our journeys. The continental breakfast is a great way to get the day started, coffee, fruit, cereal, bagels and toast - what we eat at home. If you want something more, there are many excellent LOCAL restaurants close by.

The Glass House Inn is also just miles away from numerous Erie attractions, Presque Isle, the Bayfront area, Waldameer and Water World Amusement Parks, the Millcreek Mall complexes, and just minutes from the Presque Isle Downs and Casino. If you have to be in Erie for business or medical reasons, the motel is also close to both St. Vincent's, UPMC Hamot, and Millcreek Community hospital. Its location is another reason why I thoroughly enjoy the Glass House. At first, I thought being on Route 20 (a major highway) would be discouraging and loud, but not the case at all. It is a quiet, neighborhood setting, right on the road. I will stay again and again. I have also sent my family there and they love it as well. Keep up the good work, Tim and Laura!

Room Tip: Has plenty of amenities for the family traveler, Great for the business traveler who is tired of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JujuB911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura m, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
You do have a way with words. They are music to my ears. I wish you and your family the best. We hope to see you soon! Thank you. Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    217
    48
    12
    10
See reviews for
219
253
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

So two days out of the week I stay at a Marriott or Starwood chain, but when work brings me to Erie I always look forward to the Glass House Inn! SO much cleaner and friendlier than any of the chain hotels. I feel like I am always coming back to stay with family. Laura/Tim the owners are great and I have seen their kids grow up over the years. It is a very nice motel, no elevators, you can park by your room, new beds, free wifi, great pool, and a nice continental breakfast. Tim/Laura are extremely helpful with restaurant reccomendations, directions, and basically anything you ask. This week I had late conference calls and the front desk got the continental breakfast back out for me! Thank you! See you soon from Nashville.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura m, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
dear Sara M,
Thank you for the great review. What can I say your too nice. People like you make our job so worth it! We wish all of our guests liked us as much as you do. Thank you. Sincerely,Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stood at this motel just a few days ago, for one night. My husband and I were quite pleased! Admittedly, the bathroom and the TV were a bit dated, as one reviewer mentioned, but -- so what? Everything worked, and was clean. The bedding was new(er) and pretty. Decor was nice. I can't believe the fuss reviewers are making over the breakfast. I thought everyone knew a "continental" breakfast is a lighter breakfast. Though I was completely satisfied after my cereal, coffee, juice, danish, and melons. We walked over to the clean and beautiful pool in the evening, and dipped our toes in, and the water was delightfully perfect. Too bad we were too tired to swim. The motel was close to Presque Isle, which was what we wanted. The most important thing - the bed - was very comfortable. I only wish I had another pillow. Since we didn't want to use the two pretty pillows with the shams that were not removable, we were only left with two. Maybe an extra plain pillow in the closet would be nice. But we made do! :)

If you are looking for an average-priced hotel that is comfortable, clean, and has free breakfast - stay here. If you want a big-screen TV, steak and eggs, etc., I guess this isn't the place for you. But it was just right for us!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snickybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura m, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. All the pillow shams pillows can be removed and the pillows have clean cases on them. Tim and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you stay again. Thanks, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here before traveling on business, and this time I stopped with my family. Although the design of the rooms and bathrooms is typical for an older motel (some rooms have pink tile bathrooms!--lol), they still do a nice job of keeping it updated and clean. Since we are travelling with kids we appreciate being able to lug our stuff directly from our car into the room. We are able to get quick in and quick out. This place is closer to the State Park with beaches than any of the hotels on I-90, and my kids are happy just going to the pool here. The continental breakfast is ok, coffee, juice, cereal, and some donuts nothing fancy, the coffee is my biggest complaint--made in big aluminum coffee makers just like at my church..lol. but we are able to get on the road with the kids fed something to keep them happy. For us the location works, pulling up to the door works, and it is cleaner than most motels. Overall a decent place and fair price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aTolerantTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura m, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for the review. We do make the coffee in a Bun coffee maker then pour it into air pots to keep it hot. Just like the other hotels. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will stay with us again! Thanks, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Glass House Inn with our three young children this past weekend. It was a very pleasant and relaxing experience. We had forgotten how remarkably easy it is to be able to pull your car up to right in front of your hotel room, particularly when vacationing thing with young children and a lot of luggage! The rooms were well decorated and clean. They have a nice pool that's right out front (again, easy with small children). It is located close to Presque Isle as well as to many restaurants. The owners were very accommodating and went out of their way to make recommendations on dining and things to do. Overall it was a very relaxing and easy stay for our family.
Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7mittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura m, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear 7 mittens, Thank you so much for the kind review. We are so glad your family enjoyed our small motel. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

After reading the gushing reviews about the retro appeal and excellent service, I decided to take our one-night, August 16th stay to the Glass House. After all, patrons wouldn't lie...would they? Well, they might obscure the truth whether clouded by nights of binge drinking or three way fantasies...whatever the case - it was not an experience I wish to relive.
When we arrived, we were pleasantly greeted by the cheerful front desk girl. We took our key (yes, a real key) to a corner room and entered. The room was stuffy - A/C off, and smelled of stale tobacco. Seems their $250 smoker's cleaning fine wasn't well spent... We wearily climbed into bed and turned on the TV - a 20" RCA model with the worst sound you could imagine. It was downright irritating. Sure, small TVs have tiny speakers, but this model seemed intentionally made to sound like claws on the chalkboard. OFF. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows. Ahhh, let's connect to Wi-Fi and surf. Wait...can't connect? Still trying... 30 minutes later it connects. Ok...surf over to one of my favorite sites and....blocked. Wait...what? It's not an adult site... Their overbearing firewall blocks just about anything (except god and guns). ARGH. Give me a break! Fine. I'll go to sleep.
Next morning...the shower is 1950's appeal with a spray head about a foot shorter than my head (I'm just over 6'). I spent the next ten minutes hunched under this contraption with a stream of water hitting me in the neck. Yay.
Ok, let's eat. Breakfast was utterly ridiculous. Bagels or bread and a toaster. Jelly and cream cheese with knives stuck in the jars. Seriously? I came down with a cold the day we arrived - and you want me fingering the utensils? I also saw Cheerios and some other flake cereal. Milk was in an open pitcher. Disgusted.
Leaving: I stood at the front desk while the badly shoulder-tattooed desk girl (not the same, friendly one from the night before) chatted away on the phone, glanced up for three microseconds to say "Leavin'?" and wandered to the back. I dropped the key and left. Yes, I'm leaving: Your hotel and a deserving review...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aardvarrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We are sorry that our place did not meet your expectations. Our wi-fi was upgraded to state of the art equipment in May of this spring. It has been our experience that the few guests that had trouble connecting didn't know how to use their own devices to connect. When brought to our attention, they connected immediately. We run a family establishment and we do have filters blocking pornography and gambling. Thank you for complimenting the brand new bed and new pillows that we got this spring. Your room also had brand new drapes and carpeting.

We take offense to you stating that our patrons would lie, or only write good reviews due to binge drinking and fantasies. That's rude and ridiculous. Obviously most of our customers enjoy staying at the Glass House Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We chose this place solely on the basis of the TripAdvisor reviews, and there is absolutely NO WAY that this place should get a rating over four stars. It's a dump. The rooms are dated, dark, and dingy, and they smell like a hospital. The only good thing I can say about the very loud air conditioner is that it drowns out the traffic noise from the adjoining very busy highway. The "breakfast" is minimal, and if it can't be cooked in a toaster it doesn't get served. I mean really... powered cream for the coffee? The pool is OK. The rooms are WAY overpriced. For what they charge or less you can get a clean, comfortable room in a much better motel. The "folksy charm" is non-existent. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for the compliment that the room smells like a hospital. That means it's extremely clean. Our free continental breakfast consists of: 3 kinds of cereal, 4 types of danish, 2 types of muffins, oatmeal, wheat bread, juice, tea, coffee, milk and 2 types of melon. We DO NOT advertise a hot breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
4.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
5.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#8 of 38 in Erie
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glass House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass House Inn

Property: Glass House Inn
Address: 3202 W 26th St, Erie, PA 16506-2591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#2 Family Hotel in Erie
#3 Best Value Hotel in Erie
#7 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glass House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting and vacationing in Erie, Glass House Inn will be your home away from home. Our personable, 30-room inn is family-owned and operated. Glass House Inn is a colonial style motel with quaint, clean, and comfortable rooms. We offer convenient parking directly outside your room. Each room is furnished with a range of amenities with all the comforts of home including in-room coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. Additionally, we also offer an outdoor, heated pool, outdoor gas grill, basketball hoop, and continental breakfast. Our homey inn offers all the amenities and accommodations of other hotels with an added personal touch. The Glass House Inn is only two miles away from Presque Isle State Park, Waldameer & Water World amusement parks, and minutes from Millcreek Mall and downtown Erie. Enjoy all the comforts of home at Glass House Inn when visiting Erie. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Glass House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glass House Hotel Erie
Glass Hotel Erie
Glass Motel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing