We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect for families”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The main reason that we chose this hotel was the attached waterpark, and we were not disappointed. My nephew had a blast, and our suite was clean and spacious. They provided a great breakfast, and despite what some earlier reviewers said, I felt that the staff was very friendly, helpful, and patient. I would definitely recommend this place to families with kids, but maybe not for other travelers. There are a lot of kids running around, so this might not be the most peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trubeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We are so thrilled to see that you and your family throughly enjoyed your time here with us as well as Splash Lagoon. Thank you for the positive comments about the cleanliness of your room and the friendly helpful and patient staff! We value comments like yours to know what kind of job we are doing. Thank you for the review! We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in Erie area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    114
    42
    35
    22
See reviews for
204
39
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here one night at the end of our week vacation. It was so nice to have a nice quiet, clean comfortable place to stay. Room was clean, people was very nice, free breakfast was great, connected to waterpark was super easy to get around. Parking lot was kind of small, not sure if they had additional parking in the back, but between waterpark guests and hotel guests spot were few and far between. While we were there, they had a power outage for a few hours. While walking outside to smoke I overheard a few of people taking it out on the front desk ladies. They handled it very professionally. Luckily we just drove down the street for dinner and by time we got back power was restored. Had a nice kitchenette area, sink, microwave, fridge/freezer and coffee maker. Huge LCD tv and nice spa tub. Wasn't without some flaws of missed dirt and stains, but no enough for cause a fuss about.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Videotonyk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel as a way to end off a great vacation for you and your family! We appreciate that you took the time write a review on your recent experience with us, and are thrilled to see that we rated a 5/5! It is great to see that our property had everything to fit the needs of you and your family. While the front parking is limited we also have a large parking area in the south side of our building, which has a side door for access. We very much appreciate you acknowledging the professional attitude that our staff had during that tough time. Something not to be foreseen by any, but glad that we did well when it happened. I will be bringing the small housekeeping concerns you had to the appropriate staff. We enjoyed having you and your family and hope to see you again for another visit. Thank you again for all of your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, NY
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was very disappointed in my room on a recent stay. We got a kid's suite as my daughter and a friend were there to use the water park. I had pretty low expectations, but the room was really worn out and very damp smelling. The bathroom was clean but everything else about room screamed for a remodel or update. The included breakfast was a disappointment as well. I've stayed at other HIE and they all had better rooms and food.

The reception staff was very friendly and helpful however.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgmoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Our hotel will be undergoing a renovation beginning at the end of this year, where your concerns will be addressed. Thank you for your positive comments on our front desk staff, I will be sharing this comment with them. We hope you will give us another chance when you are in the Erie area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is our second time staying at this hotel. The one thing I love most is both times our rooms were ready at noon and we did not have to wait for check in. Price is very reasonable. This trip when we checked in they upgraded us to a suite which had a large living area with a fireplace, kitchen area, and whirlpool tub. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Although the room was clean it is getting to the point that parts of it, are in need of updating or replaced. The dining room chairs were really scratched up and the carpet was bubbling and in need of replacement. The tv was excellent although the channel guide did not match up with the tv it seemed. The setup for the room was excellent especially with two younger children. The hotel was quiet, and I did not hear any noise in the hotel even though it was sold out that night. If you are making a trip to splash lagoon this hotel is your pick. Its attached to the water park which makes it super convenient and offers a hot breakfast with lots of options in a nice dining area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdhill619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We appreciate your ongoing business and your willingness to share your experience with others.
Thank you for recognizing the staff. They all work so hard to provide a great hotel experience. With having the early check in I am sure that does help when utilizing Splash Lagoon during your visits with us. While not always available our housekeeping staff work diligently to clean and make rooms available as soon as possible. We are thrilled to hear that the layout of the room was perfect for you and your family's needs. We are due to have a renovation start at the end of the year and would love for you and your family to come back and see the upgrades that are in store for our property. Thank you again for your ongoing business and look forward to having you and your family again on your next visit to Erie and Splash Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

First I should state that our kids had a fantastic time at Splash Lagoon, and some inadequacies can be overlooked due to the convenience of being attached to the waterpark. However there are things that are worth noting. First, the desk staff was very friendly and check-in was not until 4pm but our room (Kids Suite) was ready at 12:30 so we were able to get in early. I appreciated that.

As for the room though, very disappointing. First, upon entering, and for the rest of the stay, there was a pungent onion odor in the room. Very odd, but definitely noticeable. The carpet throughout was stained and just not appealing at all. The beds were significantly uncomfortable. And our window had only the sheer curtain, no heavier pull-across shade so the room was very bright at night. Lastly, there were not enough seats at breakfast, but I will say that may be due to high volume of customers from Roar on the Shore. The eggs were a bit watery but the rest of the free breakfast was acceptable, and what you would expect from a free continental breakfast. The last point that we did not care for though was in the morning at about 9:30, when we were trying to get back up to our room to get our items for check-out and head over to the waterpark, the entire housecleaning staff was getting ready to start their rounds. At most hotels they have a service elevator, but at this one this staff utilizes the 2 main elevators which are slow at best. So a large group of a dozen or more staff with large carts is trying to use the same elevators as a large amount of guests, and the staff makes no effort to allow the guests to go first. It was also difficult to navigate around this group in the hallways by our room. I found this to be an annoyance that I do not come across at most hotels.

There were a few nice things though. The bathroom was spacious and clean, and the jacuzzi tub was the largest I have ever seen in a regular bathroom. It could easily fit 6 people. Also in the kids little room in the Kids Suite, the TV had a DVD player attached...this was a very nice option as we brought movies for the kids. I would have liked to see the main TV in the main bedroom have a menu option for renting movies though.

Overall, I do not know if I would stay here again. We were talking with people inside Splash Lagoon who were staying at the Residence Inn that is also attached to Splash Lagoon and they had very good things to say about it. There is also a 3rd hotel attached but I cannot remember the name. This is definitely one of the more disappointing Holiday Inn Express hotels that we have stayed at, so I think we will try one of the other attached hotels next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iTravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, August 7, 2013
The team at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites would love to thank you for taking time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that your time at Splash Lagoon was an enjoyable one. Also thrilled that our front desk was friendly and housekeeping team were able to have a room prepared for you and your family to be able to have a early check in time. As for your concerns of the rooms and the housekeeping issues I will be passing this information on to the right team members so that encounters like the one you had to have does not happen again and we as a team are truly sorry that this happened. At the end of this year we are to be starting a renovation on the hotel and we love if you and your family do consider another visit to our location to enjoy the updates that will be taking place. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Arrived at 2pm and was rudely informed check in was not until 4pm. When we finally got our room, at 4pm, it was kinda dingy. Carpet was raised in certain areas and room was just not fresh looking at all. Wouldn't stay here again. We chose it because we had passed to splash lagoon, and it was attached.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dscoochie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We appreciate your willingness to share your experience. It is disappointing to know you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, and regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. We will be undergoing renovations starting at the end of the year and would love for you to come back and see the improvements. Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My family and I were travelling through the area (lagoon city was not a destination) so since this place was close to the Interstate we decided to stay here...what a mistake. The desk staff were incredibly rude and unhelpful...it was like they didn't want to be there. Hint, if you take a job a hotel at least fake you like people. The room was clean but the air filter in air conditioner was hanging halfway out of the unit and barely even worked. The room was nice and big and maintenance guy who looked at the air conditioner was very helpful. The staff at the front desk seemed very annoyed...I will never come back here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank X_rjh_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and we are truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the unacceptable service you received from our staff. We have shared your input with our front office and other team members for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#20 of 38 in Erie
186 reviews
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Address: 8101 Peach St, Erie, PA 16509-4716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to go to a place where your just steps away from a water park attraction? Want the perfect place to spend the day without having to drive anywhere? Then the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Erie, PA is the place to be. We are connected to Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park and Resort offering 77,000 square feet of continuous indoor water fun. The resort also featureng an a huge video arcade and are adjacent to Laser Tag Arena. All rooms are spacious suites offering 1 or 2 queen beds, a 2 person whirlpool tub, wet bar with refrigerator and microwave, the children will enjoy the 27' cable TV offering pay per view movies, and a sofa sleeper. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring the world s best tasting cinnamon roll. We have added to this great hotel 30 new and exciting rooms, some that have small kitchenettes, fireplaces, and flat screen TV's. Come visit Erie, PA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. We are completely non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Holiday Inn Express Erie
Holiday Inn Erie
Summit Erie
Erie Holiday Inn
Erie Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing