We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel was nice and the breakfast was good. They did have a AAA discount but the price was still a bit high. It was not too far from the freeway so the location was acceptable for this trip. We would consider staying here again but would check prices in nearby properties if we have time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalifKidRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 324 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Convemiemtly located but a bit disappointing. No pool or hot tub, only access to the adjoining indoor water park. The staff was having a very difficult time keeping up with the breakfast rush over the Labor Day holiday...tables weren't wiped, garbage not collected. Rooms a bit dated and worn, but clean. For as many families that were there it was very quiet at night. Could have been nicer for $100 + a night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunchlandqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear lunchlandqueen,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the disappointment you had with the pool, your experience at the breakfast area and your room accommodation. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on Friday August 30th on Peach Street. The staff were wonderful, friendly and very helpful. The breakfast area was clean with lots of seating. The breakfast was very good as well. The rooms were very spacious and clear, I would definitely stay there again on my next Erie trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberlykan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It served our purpose for wanting to be close to Splash Lagoon. I was pleased too see that the window in the room opened a little(very little). We stayed in a kids suite, I guess for a bigger family it would been fine. There was only 3 of us, we should have got a double bed room or a king. The kids area was very worn and dirty looking, the sheets didn't stay on the bed at all, there were pretty big stains on the carpet as well as throughout the whole room. They said there was a video game console in the room too, well I ended up finding it when we were leaving, it had fallen behind the desk and obviously the cleaning staff neglected to make sure the room was in order. I have definately seen better breakfast set ups than this, most hotels I have stayed at offer a nicer spread of food. I just ended up getting a terrible cup of weak coffee and never went back for anything else, I went and spent money else where. The most positive aspect of the stay was the front desk clerks, very polite and friendly. The overall cleanliness of the hotel is ok, its not filthy. I guess a shampoo of carpets would help. I would probably stay again if I went to waterpark but I would get a king bed room and plan to go out to eat breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Julie911,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you like our friendly and polite hotel staff. However, I sincerely apologize if some aspects of the property was not at par to your expectations. I am sorry for the inconvenience and negative impression brought about by the condition of the kids area, housekeeping services received and food option. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

our labtop screen computer was broked bu the housekeeping staff!! the manager never was arroung for 4 days!!! time aftertime i asked for manger i get the same answer .. they are aware of the situation but no manager is available!!! for 4 days!!!!
the carpet was very old and towels were stained!!!

Real bad costumer service and never again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esteban S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Esteban S,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Erie.

Sincerely,

Karen G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were booked at this hotel by "Splash Lagoon" water park bundle. We had a two queen with a pull out sofa bed room. Five adults were able to sleep comfortably. The hotel looked fabulous from outside but the age shows once you are inside the hotel. Overall the hotel was kept clean. Front desk staff were very helpful and check in was quick. Hotel has water park access from inside.

Once we entered the room, it had a "wet carpet" odor. We left the windows and cranked up the AC and the smell was bearable a few hours later. Room showed its age and some minor reno is needed to bring it up to 4 star standard. Overall, our stay was good. A lot of restaurants are nearby for a good meal. I will stay here again despite the shortcomings.

Room Tip: Book early! Don't wait till the last minute.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sujeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff on arrival, genuine people working there. Good housekeeping staff.
Breakfast was value for money.
Attached to Splash Lagoon Waterpark, very convenient!
Although there is no pool, Splash Lagoon MORE than makes up for it!
Splash Lagoon is great fun, for all ages!!

A must-stay in the future!
Thanks!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SriGo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#19 of 38 in Erie
198 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)

Address: 8101 Peach St, Erie, PA 16509-4716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range: $132 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to go to a place where your just steps away from a water park attraction? Want the perfect place to spend the day without having to drive anywhere? Then the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Erie, PA is the place to be. We are connected to Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park and Resort offering 77,000 square feet of continuous indoor water fun. The resort also featureng an a huge video arcade and are adjacent to Laser Tag Arena. All rooms are spacious suites offering 1 or 2 queen beds, a 2 person whirlpool tub, wet bar with refrigerator and microwave, the children will enjoy the 27' cable TV offering pay per view movies, and a sofa sleeper. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring the world s best tasting cinnamon roll. We have added to this great hotel 30 new and exciting rooms, some that have small kitchenettes, fireplaces, and flat screen TV's. Come visit Erie, PA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. We are completely non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Holiday Inn Express Erie
Holiday Inn Erie
Summit Erie
Erie Holiday Inn
Erie Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing