We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Stouffville, ON
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Served our purpose”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were booked at this hotel by "Splash Lagoon" water park bundle. We had a two queen with a pull out sofa bed room. Five adults were able to sleep comfortably. The hotel looked fabulous from outside but the age shows once you are inside the hotel. Overall the hotel was kept clean. Front desk staff were very helpful and check in was quick. Hotel has water park access from inside.

Once we entered the room, it had a "wet carpet" odor. We left the windows and cranked up the AC and the smell was bearable a few hours later. Room showed its age and some minor reno is needed to bring it up to 4 star standard. Overall, our stay was good. A lot of restaurants are nearby for a good meal. I will stay here again despite the shortcomings.

Room Tip: Book early! Don't wait till the last minute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    117
    44
    35
    22
See reviews for
207
40
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff on arrival, genuine people working there. Good housekeeping staff.
Breakfast was value for money.
Attached to Splash Lagoon Waterpark, very convenient!
Although there is no pool, Splash Lagoon MORE than makes up for it!
Splash Lagoon is great fun, for all ages!!

A must-stay in the future!
Thanks!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SriGo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My family stayed Aug 4 and 5th at the holiday Inn. We had a suite which had two queen size beds, pull out couch and a roll away bed. They did not charge us extra for the roll away bed. The beds were comfortable but the pull out sofa was very uncomfortable. The room was very clean and I was impressed with their free breakfast. We will definitely be staying here again when we want another great weekend of shopping!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just got back from a 2 night stay with my kids ages 8 and 10 years old. I will give a separate review for the Splash Lagoon Attraction.

We will not be staying at this Holiday Express again. The room was large and on the surface appeared to be clean. It was located on the first floor. Our room has a noticeable musty smell and decided to tolerate it because we wouldn't be spending much time in the room anyway. The bathroom didn't smell as fresh as I would like it too as well.....could not pin point the smell until we were ready to leave...and realized it had a faint urine odour. I would have requested another room had I realized what it was on day one.

We were there for 2 nights and housekeeping never set foot in our room....not to make up the beds, not to refresh towels.....nothing. That has never happened to me anywhere before. I shouldn't have to go to the front desk to request this (as if they're doing me a favour).

Overall....I think the room is overpriced for what you receive. Will not go back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007Diva64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear 007Diva64,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept my sincerest apology for the service you received that did not live up to your expectations. I also sorry for the unusual condition of the room you had during your stay. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, I will make sure that your feedback will be reviewed and take actions accordingly. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I won't be staying at this Holiday Inn Express again. We had just stayed the night before at a Holiday Inn in a different state, so thought we would try a Holiday Inn Express.
The room was large and accommodated 2 queen beds and a "queen" size pull out sofa. Both beds and the sofa mattress were extremely lumpy, uneven and very uncomfortable. Nobody had a good night's sleep. Makes me wonder just how old the mattresses are.
The bathroom was ok, but it could have been cleaned better.
I did not feel comfortable or safe in this Holiday Inn Express and also where we had to leave our car for the night.
As for the other review saying beware of pricing, I'm wondering if we were overcharged for an extra person again. It happened at the previous Holiday Inn and I've had no response from them. Is this a common practice with Holiday Inn - overcharging and no response from management?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Kelly R,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township). It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 2 days in July. Overall, this is a very nice property. The room was exceptionally clean, and larger than most Holiday Inn Express hotels. We inquired about being upgraded before we actually saw the room, but one wasn't available. Acually, the standard room we had was larger and better than expected, complete with couch and mini-kitchen. My BF travels weekly for his job, so he is a 'gold member' or whatever they call it when you stay at Holiday Inn. Probably the only negative thing I have to say about our experience is that the Manager on duty wasn't overly friendly when we asked about upgrading. However, the front desk employee later that day (named ? Delana?) was SO nice and cheery. We were headed to the Casino and Race Track, and she gave us directions (one exit away down US 90) She even offered us 'free play' ceritificate to present at the Casino.

Parking at the hotel was a little tricky, as we were told the hotel was completely booked, and it is located next door to Splash Lagoon. There was parking available in the rear of the hotel, but we didn't feel safe about leaving our car in the back lot. We opted for a parking space in front of Splash Lagoon. A short walk to the Holiday Inn, but manageable.

Be sure to plan a trip to Presque State Park during your stay. This was definitely a hilight of our trip, and is only about 15 mintues away. The beaches are awesome! Also, another hilight, Jr's Comedy Club. We went there on a Thrusday nite, and the place was jammin!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here on a July 13 with a family of 4. The hotel had plenty of parking to the side and back of the hotel for cars and large vehicles. The front of the hotel had no parking but expected that because of the water park. We stayed in a queen suite because that is all they had left when we stopped into town. The price was good for the amenities and room we received. The beds where comfortable and clean but the tub had lots of hair left in it. We informed the front desk and they took a little of the bill. The breakfast in the morning was good and fulfilled the kids and adults alike. Other than the hair in the tub the stay was good and decent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cflo97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#19 of 38 in Erie
190 reviews
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
6.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Address: 8101 Peach St, Erie, PA 16509-4716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to go to a place where your just steps away from a water park attraction? Want the perfect place to spend the day without having to drive anywhere? Then the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Erie, PA is the place to be. We are connected to Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park and Resort offering 77,000 square feet of continuous indoor water fun. The resort also featureng an a huge video arcade and are adjacent to Laser Tag Arena. All rooms are spacious suites offering 1 or 2 queen beds, a 2 person whirlpool tub, wet bar with refrigerator and microwave, the children will enjoy the 27' cable TV offering pay per view movies, and a sofa sleeper. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring the world s best tasting cinnamon roll. We have added to this great hotel 30 new and exciting rooms, some that have small kitchenettes, fireplaces, and flat screen TV's. Come visit Erie, PA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. We are completely non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Holiday Inn Express Erie
Holiday Inn Erie
Summit Erie
Erie Holiday Inn
Erie Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing