We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just watch out for Kate Gosselin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just watch out for Kate Gosselin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Except for the rude front desk lady who looks like Kate Gosselin and the fact that they charged me $43 for a late check-out time which I didn't ask for (they said they'd refund it), we had a lovely stay.

Oh, and another thing that annoyed us was that our room wasn't ready until 4 p.m. Now, 4 *is* the guaranteed check-in time, and every room was booked the night before meaning they ALL needed to be cleaned, and I understand that getting hotel rooms ready for the next guest is a big job, but come on, 4 p.m. is a little ridiculous. They couldn't have had more cleaning staff on that day? It's not that the maids are too slow, it's that the management should anticipate this on peak dates and know that guests usually arrive well before 4 in the afternoon. We came for the water park and didn't want to go swimming until we were settled into our room.

We made the best of it however, and had lunch at the connected Boston's and enjoyed laser tag and the bar at the water park. Splash Lagoon of course is what we came for, and the crowds die down after 4 anyway.

I would definitely choose this hotel again on a future visit to Splash Lagoon.

Also, they have menus available for several nearby restaurants that deliver to your room. There are some on the shelf, and they have more you can ask for from behind the desk. (I guess they don't put them all out because they're paid to advertise certain ones?) We ordered Chinese which was delicious. I forget the name of it, but if you ask for the Chinese menu they'll give you one. Oh, and if you order food, don't forget make sure you already have or are getting eating utensils! ;)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlyssaJones37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    110
    41
    35
    22
See reviews for
198
38
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in a Family suite with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a common living area with kitchen on a weekend trip to Splash Lagoon. We received a package deal which included the passes to splash lagoon. The room was comfortable, clean, and had a gas fireplace which was nice after swimming at Splash Lagoon. The bathtubs were jacuzzi tubs if you have time to enjoy and relax. The complimentary continental breakfast was okay with your typical eggs, pancakes, toast, fruit, cereal and juice. It was a fairly large dining room but was a bit crowded as the hotel was full. The hotel is nicely appointed and clean and the service staff was responsive to our requests each time we called. There are several restaurants in close proximity to the hotel and menus are provided to many of them in the lobby. We'd stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank doin_a_travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband, two children, and I stayed this past weekend for two nights! What a wonderful hotel! The rooms were clean and HUGE! We stayed in their "standard room", which had 2 queen beds, a sofa bed, table for two and desk. Plus we had a kitchen sink, fridge, microwave and coffee pot. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub, which the kids loved! We also couldn't believe how quiet the room was (no hallway noise)...with the exception of the hum of the bathroom fan...which only bothered if we were in the bathroom. The breakfast had a great variety, and the breakfast room offered plenty of seating. We went to Splash Lagoon, which is attached, and loved the ease of walking through the short 15 foot hallway into the water park. We will definitely be staying here again! If you're wondering about staying, BOOK IT! Also, there are several different area restaurants that will deliver to the room. We took advantage of this each night!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank padisneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Just staying one night for an interview at LECOM..found it very clean with great linens and was the perfect location. Plenty of places to eat, shop and hang out nearby. Great if you're looking for a pleasant, quick stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Booked this hotel since it is attached to Splash Lagoon. Room was very clean & we were able to check in 1.5 hours early. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We are very careful to check the pet policy of a hotel when traveling. We checked this hotels website and called direct. They did not have a policy listed in either place, however when we got there, they have a NO PET POLICY. The front desk was NOT helpful in this matter. After complaining to the priority club of Holiday Inn, they have now posted their NO PET POLICY. I dont mind a no pet policy, but the hotels need to post it, so travelers know where they can stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandgirl134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Erie hotels

Clio, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

...and the room went from there. Great property, great people, and very relaxing atmosphere. The hotel does not have it's own pool, but for those of you traveling with little ones, "Splash Lagoon" is built in, right next door. It's an indoor water park, complete with wave-pool and water slides.

For a great dinner, visit "BOSTON'S" next door. Great food, sports-bar atmosphere in one room, and family restuarant in the other room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#19 of 38 in Erie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Erie
Residence Inn Erie
#22 of 38 in Erie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Erie
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Address: 8101 Peach St, Erie, PA 16509-4716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to go to a place where your just steps away from a water park attraction? Want the perfect place to spend the day without having to drive anywhere? Then the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Erie, PA is the place to be. We are connected to Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park and Resort offering 77,000 square feet of continuous indoor water fun. The resort also featureng an a huge video arcade and are adjacent to Laser Tag Arena. All rooms are spacious suites offering 1 or 2 queen beds, a 2 person whirlpool tub, wet bar with refrigerator and microwave, the children will enjoy the 27' cable TV offering pay per view movies, and a sofa sleeper. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring the world s best tasting cinnamon roll. We have added to this great hotel 30 new and exciting rooms, some that have small kitchenettes, fireplaces, and flat screen TV's. Come visit Erie, PA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. We are completely non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Holiday Inn Express Erie
Holiday Inn Erie
Summit Erie
Erie Summit
Erie Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing