We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & decent hotel. The price is not...”
Review of Solstice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Solstice
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Clean & decent hotel. The price is not too bad since you have free breakfast and free parking. Less than 3km away from Millcreek Mall. The hotel is close to walmart, loews, restaurants, bestbuy etc. My 3 kids love the place and the indoor pool...if they liked it...then it is good.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myla_wheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 323 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2010

We recently went to Erie Pa shopping, and stayed at Country Inn & Suites, a chain we often use when traveling as they are very consistant.
We were meet by a friendly Gent who made check in seemless.
The Free Breakfast was very nice offering some hot items. The Gent attending was very friendly and made sure all was in order. The room was clean and bed very comfortable. Highly recommended and we will continue to use Country Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chief_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

I stayed overnight for a shopping excursion... easy check in to a clean, comfy spacious room. It's a basic no frill hotel, with reliable fast wi-fi and a simple fresh breakfast of cereal. bagels, muffins, waffles, coffee and juice. The side and entrance stairwells were a little worn, but I guess if guests dont care about dropping food and drinks that's what you would end up with (I do wonder how these folks treat their personal property - they must live like pigs in a pen). Do not be afraid to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eb19_Son29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

A near perfect stay! The hotel was pleasant. The hotel staff was the best ! The room was on the small size but quite adequate for the price. The cookies were great and breakfast was super (make your own waffles, cereal, fruit, bagels, English muffins, coffee, tea, milk or juices). Typical of a complimentary breakfast but with a nice man who makes sure that everyone is getting what they need and helps with the waffle preparation, if you need him. The only complaint that I had was parents who allow their teenagers to go unsupervised...they cannon-balled water from wall to wall in the pool area making it difficult to read in the hot tub- that's not the hotels fault. The next day children had sprinkled sand all over the floor in the pool area. It would have been nice to have video surveillance for management to weed out negligent parents and rude teenagers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WRDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Every contact with the hotel staff was a positive experience from initial calls for reservations, followup calls for changes, check-in/checkout experience and special requests for a family reunion requiring 5 rooms.

The complimentary breakfast was fine with waffles, cereal, bagels/toasts, juices, fruit, eggs/sausage, etc. and the Breakfast Manager/Attendant Bill was always present making sure everything was going smoothly .

Front Desk staff are pleasant and efficient and pay close attention to everyone's details to ensure a pleasant experience.

The pools is fine and many kids were found making use of it (as usual).

Someone else spoke negatively of parking but I'm sure they were unaware of the additional lower lot space around the back of the hotel. (If you don't see a space open just keep on going, folks!).

The rooms were comfortable, well appointed and the beds were great! All of us in all 5 rooms had no issues with room quietness. I read someone else comment negatively about the pillows. What were they talking about? Did they have the right hotel? The pillows were fine (and plentiful - 3 on each bed).

We did a lot of shopping around the area and have stayed at other hotels and all of us thought it a great value. We'll surely stay here again next year.

Lots of close-by restaurant options (and great grocery store) as follows:

- Boston Pizza - 8071 Peach Street (11/52) - .2 mi/1 min
- Bob Evans - 8041 Peach Street (8/52) - .3 mi/1 min
- Quaker Steak & Lube - 7851 Peach Street (18/52) - .5 mi/2 min.
- Safari Grill - 7796 Peach Street (13/52) - .5 mi/2 min
- Golden Corral - 7500 Peach Street (17/52) - .8 mi/3 min.
- Tom Horton's - 6980 Peach Street - 1.2 mi/5 min.
- TGI Friday's - 6755 Peach street (25/52) - 1 mi./3 min.
- Olive Garden - 5945 Peach Street (45/52) - 1.6 mi/4 min. - near Interchange Rd
- Outback Steakhouse - 2076 Interchange Road (22/52) - 2.2 mi/5 min. - left onto SR99 S/Interchange Rd.
- Smokey Bones - 2074 Interchange Road (47/52) - 2.2 mi/5 min. - left onto SR99 S/Interchange Rd.
McGarrey's Oakwood Cafe - 1624 W 38th St, Erie, PA(814) 866-0552 (3/52)
• 3.8 miles/11 min..... and last but not least..............
- Wegmans (Groceries): On Peach Street after the Olive Garden (above) and before Interchange Road. If you're not from the area and you haven't been to a Wegmans you should stop by and consider it another attraction(they're the best).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FearlessFlyer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Upon arrival, stood at front desk for close to 20 minutes while desk clerk struggled to straighten out a botched reservation for another couple; clerk publicly and repeatedly blamed the problem on a specific clerk, which was poor business practices, and never did get things straightened out for the party with the problem. I stood there being completely ignored until the other party told her to take care of me. Have to say we like to stay in Country Inns and typically have above average stays, but this was by far the worst Country Inn we've stayed at. Room was disgustingly dirty, with cobwebs in all the corners, huge stains on the chair cushions, hand prints on every mirror in the room, and the big triple window was filthy. We did catch up with the housekeeper the first morning and asked her to address some of the issues we saw; she looked around, apologized profusely and went to work cleaning the room up. She did say that she did not normally work that floor and was filling in for vacations, but assured us she would report what she found to management. We brought our concerns to the attention of various clerks at the desk, all of whom were sympathetic but unable to do anything about anything; manager was never available. Other annoying little issues were the guest services book was a shambles, with most pages missing but plenty of pizza delivery fliers inside; no cable TV channel line up, and the front desk could not do anything about either; breakfast area was much too small for the crowd it needed to handle, although the attendant did a remarkable job keeping up with the huge number of people and resulting chaos and mess; insufficient parking spaces for the number of rooms the property had, with several cars parking in tow away zones out of desperation; faucet assembly on tub was so loose you could rotate the entire spout and valve assembly 4"-5" in either direction; toilet seat was so loose, you practically slid off when seated unless you held yourself in place; no fitted sheet on mattress, pillows were tiny, lumpy and understuffed. Positives; A/C worked well and was quiet, mattress was reasonably comfortable, room was quiet. Rates were more than triple the regular published rate due to a special event in the area the weekend we were there (but not for the event), so that compounded the frustration of $200/night for a dirty room and the other annoyances..

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corky1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We have stayed here a few times before. Lots of hotel to choose from in this immediate area and we usually pick this one due to price which is very reasonable.

My only negative comment is the flushing of toilets is VERY loud. At first I thought it was thunder. You can hear other rooms flushing their toilets each time.

My wife also found a used washcloth left from my previous guests which was overlooked by the cleaning staff.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Marc19002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Erie, PA
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Erie Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#28 of 38 in Erie
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie
1.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solstice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solstice

Address: 8040 Oliver Rd, Erie, PA 16509-4620 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range: $80 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Solstice 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solstice features a fitness center. and High-speed wireless Internet access is complimentary. A complimentary breakfast is offered each morning. This family-friendly hotel also offers complimentary newspapers in the lobby, a fireplace in the lobby, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Onsite self parking is complimentary. Solstice is a smoke-free property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Solstice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South Hotel Erie
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Erie South
Country Inn Erie South
Erie Country Inn
Country Inn Suite Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing