We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best of this chain”
Review of Solstice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Solstice
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Latham, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not the best of this chain”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Check in was easy, the desk clerks were very nice.
The room, well there was a very loud Hummm coming from someplace below our room. Very annoying, and we were unable to change to another room. Lots of other hotels in the area to stay in. Make this your last choice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48035Ladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    84
    55
    65
    60
See reviews for
167
76
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh, pa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I booked a room at the Country Inn & Suites in Erie for a 2 night stay in June 2014 and we got a really good deal on the room. Even though we paid a low price, I still expected more from this hotel. The room had water stains on the ceiling and a few ants in the room in the corners. I'd say the bathroom was the worst part. The toilet was sinking into the floor and it had one of those seats that pinched your butt when you sat on it. We weren't really in the room too much other than to sleep but I still feel like there could be improvements.

The indoor pool and "hot tub" were disgusting. We wouldn't even go in the hot tub because it looked like we would come out with an infectious disease and the pool was pretty sketchy.

With all of the other hotels in the area, I wouldn't choose this one again, even for the low price.

Room Tip: Not sure any of the rooms are actually good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Solstice, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with your recent stay. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inn & Suites standards. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. Thank you for your feedback and we hope for another chance in the future to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Erie hotels

MI
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We booked this hotel in an area that we know well. We have stayed at other hotels in the chain and have not been disappointed.

THIS WAS VERY DISAPPOINTING. The pool itself was filled with mold and dirt. The pool room was very dirty. There was an ant hill in our room feasting off someone's dropped goodies. The bathroom was dirty, the coffee pot still had the last visitors' remains. The rate was more than we had ever paid in the area. The elevator had not been cleaned in quite awhile. The towels were gray and not on purpose. We will not be returning - ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Solstice, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services regarding the pool and guest room. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The most expensive, least comfortable Country Inn we have stayed in. In desperate need of repairs and renovations. The air conditioner was not working and bathroom dusgusting. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Solstice, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Country Inns in other areas. Always clean and comfortable. Not the case here. Told that we would get a roll away brought to the room. No show. No call. Had to move to another room. Not going to chance my kids' health on free breakfast tomorrow.
I will never return to this hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Solstice, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Tim W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel was dirty-the elevator, hallways, etc. The cot that we got for our room was awful. The mattress was ripping apart. Things in our room were not in working order such as the dead bolt on our door, the shower drain, etc. It certainly was not up to the standards of the other Country Inn and Suites that we have stayed at. The only positive thing that I can think of is that we got a good rate. Other than that we did not enjoy our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salisburyfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Solstice, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inn & Suites standards. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. Thank you for your feedback and we hope for another chance in the future to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munhall, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I booked this hotel for my family and my in laws because we had access to a suite for the minor league baseball team in town. I stay in this area regularly and my normal place was booked up. I had stayed at this place 7-8 years ago and I knew the 1 bedroom suites would work to my liking size wise....Well that's all that worked. The service was horrible the place was in dis-repair and anytime you asked to have a problem fixed you were either disturbing the staff or it just took forever to fix. The pool area is filthy and the hot tub doesn't work. The rooms are just plain dated and ther are just genral signs of mis maintenance everywhere

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.... Homewood Suites, Hilton Garden Inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Solstice, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#28 of 38 in Erie
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Erie, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Erie Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solstice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solstice

Property: Solstice
Address: 8040 Oliver Rd, Erie, PA 16509-4620 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Solstice 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solstice features a fitness center. and High-speed wireless Internet access is complimentary. A complimentary breakfast is offered each morning. This family-friendly hotel also offers complimentary newspapers in the lobby, a fireplace in the lobby, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Onsite self parking is complimentary. Solstice is a smoke-free property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Solstice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Erie South
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South Hotel Erie
Country Inn Erie South
Erie Country Inn
Country Inn Suite Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing