We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice hotel right off I-90” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solstice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Solstice
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel right off I-90”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Nice hotel. Very close to I-90. We were upgraded to a suite due to having gold status. Room had a small living room area when you walked in with a pull-out couch and chair. There was a sink/mini-fridge/microwave combo in the middle of the room. Comfy bed in the back.
Breakfast was good several hot items, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, bagels, cereal, juices.Hotel seemed fully booked on Saturday night, so breakfast was packed on Sunday morning. Staff did a good job in keeping the food coming.
We didnt use the pool, but it looked nice, small hot tub next to it as well.
Overall, nice hotel. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfdalbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    83
    54
    63
    60
See reviews for
164
74
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I make it a point to stay at County Inn's no matter where I travel, if possible. My family love's the breakfast and pool/hot tub. Location was excellent for our Splash Lagoon trip. The room was clean but the wall paper was peeling off the wall and there was ceiling water damage in the bathroom of room #215. One of the pillow cases on the farthest bed from the entrance had what looked to be dried up red juice stains- or something of that sort, in a line across half of the pillow. The kids were mortified and were yelling that it was blood (which I hope and pray it wasn't). We arrived around 11:30am and there was a room ready for us early, which was awesome. Breakfast was okay, the breakfast area was super crowded. My BIG issue was the fact that I look very forward to a hot tub at the end of the day of children's activities, and the "jets" were just very sad streams of water coming out of holes in the tub walls. Some Einstein (I'm assuming maintenance person) used regular paint on the immediate perimeter of the hot tub and it was full of nasty white paint flakes and chunks. It was obviously the wrong type of paint and is causing a bigger problem than what they were trying to cover up. I spent the entire time picking it off of me, my spouse and out of the water. Yes, I still got in, against my better judgment. This is by far the worst County Inn I have stayed at, which makes me sad because I always recommend them to everyone. We will be returning to Splash Lagoon but I may have to find a different hotel to stay at, sadly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunMom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oil City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great stay! Enjoyed the stay on valentines day. Good staff and very clean atmosphere. Comfortable bed and room. Very cozy, home like feeling. Will surly stay again. Great breakfast as well! Close to restaurants and other fun things. A definite success of a stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgeorgeio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I'll start with a few positives: the property was conveniently located off the highway, close to many restaurants, the hotel was clean, hot beverages and cookies available anytime in the lobby, rooms accommodated 5-6, breakfast included, & the price was OK.

Now the negatives: check in was at 3, we didn't get our room until 4. Staff seemed to be in disarray. Woman at desk tried to justify why we had to wait till 4 for a room & indicated it was a busy weekend and this happens at all hotels (sorry, this never happened to me prior). I'm not sure that should be my problem. Once we finally got our keys I had asked if there was bedding in the room for the pull out sofa (which was very uncomfortable). She said yes. Stupid me didn't check prior to leaving for dinner and a hockey game so when we got back late and looked for our bedding there was none. I had to go to the desk and get sheets but he indicated there was no blankets available.
Little did I know the blanket issue really wasn't an issue because our room was uncomfortably warm and the a/c was of no help. It would run for about a minute and then shut off. Our room was above the pool area which is open till midnight. The smell of chlorine traveled into our room and so did the noise, and I mean the screaming of kids doing what they do in a pool area (nothing against the kids). The noise finally ended at 12:05 a.m. Breakfast in the morning was decent but the breakfast room was very small to accommodate a sold out night. Many families were making plates and bringing it back to their room because there was no where to sit.
I wouldn't stay here again. If you choose to I would suggest a 3rd floor room. It might be a little quieter.

Room Tip: Request 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy H, General Manager at Solstice, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. I have used this review to discuss with my staff ways to avoid this from happening in the future. We do appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Erie hotels

Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great place to stay, staff are very friendly and helpful nice fitness room and pool, best breakfast, eggs, ham, cooked steel cut oats and lots more. Good location for restaurants and gas. Lots of things to do. We have stayed twice in early January. Beds are comfy with good pillows.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in a good location, no highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Upon arrival we entered the side door and the floor mats were so deteriorated and stained. It also smelled like mold and chlorine. As we entered the hallway to our floor, you could see dust and debris on the hallway carpeting and along the walls. The door was scratched and missing paint on our room and wallpaper was dirty and scratched. When we entered our room, there was popcorn on the floor. The corner glass table was saturated in what appeared to be spilt soda all over the top and dripping down the edge to the carpet. The bathroom toilet paper had not been changed.The wallpaper by the waste basket in the bathroom had a smear on it which appeared to be feces. The constant fan did not work on the heater. Maintenance could not repair it, they said all the rooms need new boards.The beds were hard. We cushioned them with extra blankets from the front desk. The first mornings breakfast was great. The young girl's friendliness and attentiveness to her guests was exceptional.She had sandy brown hair, I did not get her name, but we left her a nice tip to show our appreciation. The second days breakfast experience was not as good. The waffles were sour, either from soap contamination or from old batter. The coffee cups were not refilled and the attendant with blond hair was visibly irritated and mumbling obscenities as she left the breakfast room. As we checked out, the front desk gentlemen never said thank you, smiled, safe travels or even happy holidays. It was Christmas eve...and he was a zombie bored stiff behind the desk. To end this all, I serve people myself for a living. They have an excellent experience in my care. I'm very proud of my attitude and work ethic. I wish this establishment would have done the same for my family on the one vacation we will take this year. I stayed at Country Inn not for price,but I felt it would be comfortable. Next time I stay anywhere, when I walk in the door and the carpet is dirty,and the desk person is unfriendly, I will leave. They can keep my deposit. Nothing costs a family more than time lost and wasted.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monicalowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Support Specialist at Solstice, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly, or a Customer Care Representative at 1-800-967-9182.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is our 3rd time staying in November at this lovely hotel. The beds are comfy, the pillows not so much, the rooms are clean and the breakfast is more than adequate. It is the little extra things that make it very nice, fresh cookies, fruit in the lobby and coffee all day long. It is a great location for shopping and is easy access to the highways. The hotel has charm, and no it is not new and modern but I kind of like it that way. All staff we dealt with were VERY friendly. I will definitely come back and I did refer a friend to the hotel and she had a pleasant stay as well.

It seems to always be filled with my fellow Canadian shopping women, see you next year!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMattice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Erie, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#27 of 38 in Erie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#7 of 38 in Erie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solstice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solstice

Property: Solstice
Address: 8040 Oliver Rd, Erie, PA 16509-4620 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Solstice 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solstice features an indoor pool and a fitness center. High-speed wireless Internet access is complimentary. A complimentary breakfast is offered each morning. This family-friendly hotel also offers complimentary newspapers in the lobby, a fireplace in the lobby, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Onsite self parking is complimentary. Solstice is a smoke-free property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Solstice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Erie South
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South Hotel Erie
Country Inn Erie South
Erie Country Inn
Country Inn Suite Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing