We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Solstice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Solstice
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is very quiet even though the doors are thin. It is in a great location just off the hwy. with lots of restaurants nearby and a gas station next door for easy fill up. The beds are firm with duvets and they supply nice toiletries. The pool was warm and the hot tub was actually a bit too hot. The fitness room has a bike and 2 treadmills. The breakfast was very good and the staff are very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillandjohn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    82
    54
    62
    60
See reviews for
163
74
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Country Inn & Suites after having to leave another motel in the area for noise difficulties. We were quite pleased with the Country Inn & Suites. We did experience some problems in room 318. The back of the bathroom door had a hole punched in it apparently from a domestic dispute that had occurred sometime earlier. A new door was on order. The toilet was loose on its’ floor mountings. It still worked but it would move under the guest. When we reported it the front desk called someone in to repair it. The repair people were waiting to get in when we checked out the next morning.
Other than those two things we totally enjoyed our stay and would return without hesitation. The rooms are large and very clean. The breakfast was great. Much better than we have experienced at other places. The staff was polite and helpful. The kids used the pool and hot tub and said they were both clean and well maintained. It’s a good place to stay; five minutes from the mall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stivonovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with two young children. The facilities were nice, the breakfast was much better than most free breakfasts (fresh waffles, eggs, bacon/sausage, oatmeal, cereal & pastry options, and more), and the staff members were very friendly (especially the breakfast attendant). We enjoyed the Indoor pool, hot tub, "lending library" (books available to borrow & bring back whenever we chose) and the free coffee & cookies, which were available all the time. It is right across the street from Splash Lagoon, and very close to malls & restaurants. No complaints at all about this visit. We would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times in the past few years and loved it. We visited Feb. 23, 2013 and were appalled at how worn everything has become. Needs a good updating...also we had a terrible night with neighbours that were LOUD and not at all thoughtful. Finally fell asleep at 1:30 am. Not very impressive especially for the money we spent.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BoltonInxtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Care at Solstice, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. We also understand how important a quiet environment is. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly or feel free to contact us at CCare@carlsonrezidor.com ~Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Erie hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in mid-feb for one night. Staffs are friendly and rooms are spacious. It is a bit older than other Country Inn and suites though. Overall this is a very good choice if you're looking for a hotel suite in this area.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 1015286969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleroi, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had never stayed at a Country Inn Suite before. The entrance has a very warm feel - Oak staircase, fireplace, library, cookies and coffee. The rooms were clean and nice too. like that this one is off of the main road which helps with the traffic noise. Very close to shopping and Splash Lagoon. I have stayed at a few other hotels in Erie and the road noise was an issue. The staff was super friendly. The pool guy talked to us and made sure the pool was well kept. It was a nice little pool and hot tub compared to most hotels. The soundproofing in this hotel was not too good. Our neighbors came in from Splash Lagoon at 11:00 and we could hear every word theywere saying, the hairdryer, shower, etc. until 1:00. The heater also sounded like a jet taking off in our room all night. This would have been a great hotel minus these two instances. The breakfast was great with quite a variety.

Room Tip: Stay on 3rd floor on an end room to eleviate overheadnoise and minimize neighbor noise. 108 has a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at this property on a "spur of the moment" trip to Splash Lagoon. Since it was MLK Day weekend, all the hotels attached to the waterpark were sold out. We have never been there before, so I mapped out where Country Inn and Suites was compared to the waterpark and it appeared close, so I booked it and got in the car to drive up.

The hotel is right down the street from Splash Lagoon - if weather had been nicer, we probably could've walked to the waterpark. Parking lot was large and I had no problems finding a spot. Lobby is nicely decorated and check-in was uneventful. We were asked if we wanted first or second floor room - selected second and took the staircase up to our room.

Had a two queen non-smoking. Room was clean and bathroom was find. Flat screen tv on a swivel made it easy to see from either bed or the desk. A mini-fridge and microwave were also present and made it nice since I was traveling by myself with two kids. Front desk called about 15 minutes after we got into the room to ensure that everything was ok - nice touch.

Pool and hottub were just ok. I've already mentioned this on a post-stay survey sent by the property manager and got a reply that they will work to address the suggestions. The lighting was dim and there's not enough seating. Towel quality is sub-par (thin and small) and the motor on the hottub was not sufficient for the size. These are all pretty picky items - but when you're traveling with kids, having a pool area is an important amenity.

Breakfast assortment was good. They also have cookies, fruit, and a coffee station available all day. For the price and location, this place is definitely a no-brainer vs. paying twice as much for a hotel attached to the waterpark.

Have a great trip! If you found this review helpful, please click the "helpful" link!

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#27 of 38 in Erie
3.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Erie, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#8 of 38 in Erie
4.0 of 5 stars 759 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solstice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solstice

Property: Solstice
Address: 8040 Oliver Rd, Erie, PA 16509-4620 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Solstice 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solstice features an indoor pool and a fitness center. High-speed wireless Internet access is complimentary. A complimentary breakfast is offered each morning. This family-friendly hotel also offers complimentary newspapers in the lobby, a fireplace in the lobby, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Onsite self parking is complimentary. Solstice is a smoke-free property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Solstice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Erie South
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South Hotel Erie
Country Inn Erie South
Erie Country Inn
Country Inn Suite Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing