We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value in Erie” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solstice

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Solstice
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Value in Erie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

A great location, right off I79, near all kinds of amenities. Far enough off the road for peace and quiet & have a good nights sleep. Nice pool & spa on the main floor of the hotel, it is usually never too busy, it is clean & well stocked. I've stayed here a few times & it will now become my hotel of choice in Erie. The breakfast offered is not too bad, some hot & cold. A good overall selection, but if the hotel is busy you may be fighting for a table. The rooms I have stayed in are comfortable, clean & well stocked. Curtains are good for keeping the sun out & allowing you to sleep in, if you want.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    83
    54
    63
    60
See reviews for
164
74
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I travel quite a bit and I must say this was the worst room we have ever stayed in. We did decide last minute to stay in Erie while doing some shopping in the states and booked the last room available. As soon as we enetered the room the stench was overwhelming and for the first time in my life at any hotel asked to switch rooms, but nothing was available. The employees working the front desk were extremly friendly, but all they could offer us was industrial air freshner which really only made matters worse. Bedding and towels smelled of stale ciggarettes, so much that we contemplated sleeping in our car. Upon arriving home we actually disinfected our luggage. Not a great end to the wonderful trip we were having.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy H, General Manager at Solstice, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I do apologize for your experience at the hotel. Unfortunately, at the time of booking, the room reserved was a smoking room. We were sold out that night, so we did not have any non smoking rooms available to move you too. We do review these and use them for training purposes to avoid any future issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Erie hotels

ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We only stayed one night, but our room was clean, staff was friendly, and there were no problems with noise through the walls. I would have only two negative comments, one being breakfast which was jam-packed but I believe the hotel was sold out so that's to be expected, the other the parking - the main parking lot was full when we arrived so had to park in the smaller side lot which wasn't very well lit.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank girlcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a pleasant one night stay. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. The room, bath, linens and towels were all clean. The bathroom was spacious. The room was quiet. There were complimentary cookies at the front desk. The bed was comfortable. They had the usual eggs, bacon, sausage and biscuits, cereals, muffins and bagels, waffles, yogurt and juices for the complimentary breakfast but not too much fresh fruit. They have a pool and a work-out room.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in the middle of the building. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here as I am finding the prices for hotels in Erie to be getting quite high. We found a great rate for the night and decided to stay as I have stayed at the chain in the past. Very friendly and helpful staff that went out of their way to assist. The room was clean and quite spacious. My only complaint would be from the noise, I think the walls were made out of paper as we could hear the people beside us and the people above us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oostevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here for a family vacation for 4 nights. I never once heard a vaccuum being used and you sure could tell. The halls were filthy and hot, not sure if there is air in the halls. The elevator had the same dirt in it everyday we were there. The room had sticky/filthy carpet and the refrigerator and the cabinet it was in was filthy. Cobwebs/layer of dust on the desklamp shade and no light bulb in the desk lamp. The water pressure trickled out for a bath and the drain plug didn't stay down. Took 1/2 an hour to run a bath for my son, and as he bathed you had to keep the water running because the plug would let it out. Cobwebs on the light fixture in bath. Beds....OMG, harder than a board! The one queen bed in our room had such a pit in it, my husband and I kept rolling into eachother. The coffee pot in the room looked so old/dirty, I couldn't use it, and the trays that it sat on had an inch of dust on it. Our room was never vaccuumed, in fact, I never saw/heard a cleaning person using a vaccuum there our whole stay. The internet didn't work for a day and a half that we were there either.
The pool..... Scum and dirt stuck all around the sides of the pool and the hot tub jets do not work. Another guest told us that he told them upon his last visit to the hotel that the jets didn't work and they still hadn't fixed it. No use complaining at this hotel, because apparently the general manager does not have high standards. We saw him at the front desk numerous times and never did I see him crack a smile or greet us. One day when he was on duty at the front desk... there were no complimentary cookies baked all day. My husband wanted to get one for my son, but I guess he was too lazy to make any.
Overall, this establishment is just gross. We stayed here in 2009 and 2010 and this year in 2012 and it sure was different. I think it is under new management now, which was a downhill move. I will NEVER stay here again. I will pick one of the newer Marriot hotels in the area or even the Hampton Inn. Very dissapointed that I wasted money here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamBamBam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Friendly and efficient staff. Check in/check out were both quick. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Rates were comparable to other brands. Swimming pool was nice, but hot tub was not working properly. Complementary breakfast was on the skimpy side. But, there are numerous dining options located within close proximity to this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Erie, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Erie
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#29 of 38 in Erie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solstice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solstice

Property: Solstice
Address: 8040 Oliver Rd, Erie, PA 16509-4620 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Solstice 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solstice features an indoor pool and a fitness center. High-speed wireless Internet access is complimentary. A complimentary breakfast is offered each morning. This family-friendly hotel also offers complimentary newspapers in the lobby, a fireplace in the lobby, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Onsite self parking is complimentary. Solstice is a smoke-free property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Solstice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Erie South
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South Hotel Erie
Country Inn Erie South
Erie Country Inn
Country Inn Suite Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing