We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and will go back again”
Review of Solstice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solstice
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great hotel and will go back again”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 19 month old son. I had requested a pack-n-play but upon arriving, we were told by the manager that one was not available until the following night. We were a little irked but we were not guaranteed a crib to begin with. Instead they gave us extra pillows and we surrounded our son with them on the fold out couch. Worked like a charm! The next night after coming back to our room from a long day at the parks, a pack-n-play was all setup in our room waiting for us. The manager even asked us the next morning if everything was okay with the pack and play. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Even enjoyed the indoor pool. Great family hotel!

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom suite works best for families. We could be separate from our son while he was napping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steelersgal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    83
    54
    65
    60
See reviews for
165
75
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Good location off the highway - easy to find. Nice hotel. Rooms were well decorated - enjoyed the flat screen tv. Continental breakfast okay. Friendly staff. Affordable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramona106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This was a great hotel! The front desk staff Alyson was by far the best part of our stay! She was super helpful with great restaurant suggestions (Smuggler's Warf!) and always had a smile on her face, and a greeting to go with it. The tall young gentleman working with her (Josh? John? He didn't give his name.. on 6/24) did not seem very friendly, and did not interact with the guests. However, we will definately be back to this hotel next month to visit our family again.. Thanks for the wonderful Stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_m_conf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I found our stay was better then what we expected from the past reviews given about this Hotel on Trip Advisor. At the time of our stay the place was very clean. The hotel was sold out. It was PROM weekend and we never heard any noise from any other guests. The rooms where very clean, and for us the Breakfast was not bad.
The only complaint was the curtains in the breakfast area needed replacing.
I found the price a little high but again it was a PROM weekend and they where sold out.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porky113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.catharines,ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This hotel was clean, in a great location and the staff was so friendly and helpful. We will always choose to stay here again when travelling to erie for shopping.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmeaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

not very clean, mold in room, rooms are small breakfast was disgusting one bite and had to throw it out, manager had compted room because of previous problem but even at free it was somewhere we will not stay again, wallpaper peeling off walls furnishings need major update, try one of the many hotels near by I am sure they have to be better, Country Inns must not have a standard that there chain needs to conform to??

Thanks for the room but not coming back

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biguglybeardedguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Erie hotels

Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2011

My husband began frequent business trips to Erie and we decided to start taking the family along, we chose this because of the suites and price. We were not disappointed, the staff is very friendly, the rooms are nice, and while its hard for me to sleep anywhere else but in my own bed, I sleep quite well here!! I love that there is a separate TV for the kids and separate sleeping spaces. The breakfast is a basic continental with waffles. Of all our trips up here this is the best value for our family!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinitee121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#29 of 38 in Erie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Erie, PA
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solstice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solstice

Property: Solstice
Address: 8040 Oliver Rd, Erie, PA 16509-4620 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Solstice 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solstice features a fitness center. and High-speed wireless Internet access is complimentary. A complimentary breakfast is offered each morning. This family-friendly hotel also offers complimentary newspapers in the lobby, a fireplace in the lobby, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Onsite self parking is complimentary. Solstice is a smoke-free property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Solstice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South Hotel Erie
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Erie South
Country Inn Erie South
Erie Country Inn
Country Inn Suite Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing