We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite, relaxing comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Quite, relaxing comfort”
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Stayed for the first time at this Hilton Brand chain hotel and was quite pleased with the accommodations. The room was nicely decorated, comfortable and very quite. Although I will never understand how hotels call themselves suite hotels when in fact it is one room with a bed area over there, the small living (sleeper sofa) area over in one corner and a more than adequate kitchen in another. No separation from the various designated areas. It is not set- up like an Embassy Suites at all. Still for the AAA price of $141.00 plus taxes (including hot breakfast) it provided our family with a pretty decent stay. It was also nice that the room had a small area with a vanity/sink/mirror that was actually separated from the WC and shower. The hotel staff was responsive and most accommodating. Considering Erie has only two Starbucks, this hotel was within walking distance of one of them. The coffee, as in most places, just doesn't cut it. Need the Starbucks. I would recommend this hotel highly and would most assuredly stay again.

  • Liked — Quite, clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — The room was little crowded
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Charlestonnext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    167
    107
    50
    26
See reviews for
295
115
25
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

Military families BEWARE: The Hilton family of hotels honors military people by giving you a different rate when you stay with them, that is all Hilton family hotels except this one. The Hilton web site says valid ID card OR orders. We were simply on leave for the Easter holiday traveling up upstate New York and we had made a reservation through the Hilton web site for this hotel. I cannot tell you if it was the actual mananger who humilitaed us in front of all the other guest or just a regular clerk because her name tag was not visible; but because we only had our ID cards and not orders she said WE COULD NOT stay for the military rate. She made a point of saying this so everyone in line could hear her. We have never been turned away from a Hilton family hotel until this night. Instead go down the road one exit and stay at the Marriott Residence Inn, they are more than happy to have military families stay with them.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank studlyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2008

This was our second stay at the Erie, PA, hotel, and it was as delightful as the first. A professional and friendly staff is available to take care of all your needs. With a hot breakfast, manager's reception in the evening, and the recent addition of a light evening meal, you really don't have to leave the hotel to find dining. The local area, however, does provide amply dining outlets. Rooms are kept in good condition (we stayed in a queen bed suite), the pool and hot tub are properly conditioned, and the lobby/eating area is very accommodating. The hotel is located right next to the interstate so choose a room farthest away from the traffic noise. We plan to use this hotel exclusively on our future trips to Erie.

  • Liked — Professional and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Traffic noice from interstate.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Valkyrie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2007

The homewood suites is one of the two best hotels in erie, along with
the courtyard marriott. They are very similarly priced, so I will try to compare the two.

If you are just passing through Erie, the courtyard marriott has a better location, being right next to the highway (although noise was not an issue at all) and it is located right next to a bunch of restaurants. The Homewood suites is away from the highway, in towards
downtown Erie, located next to a large shopping area. This location might be better if you are planning on staying in Erie for multiple nights.

The rooms at both hotels are nice, but the rooms at the Homewood suites are nicer. The room we stayed in was the studio suite which included a small, but very nice kitchen, and a nice sitting area, with a television that swivels between the sitting area and bed.

The courtyard is in general a more complete hotel with a large sitting area near the lobby, an adjoining bar, and conference facilities that appear to be nice.

The breakfast at the courtyard is nicer and includes made-to-order omelettes, as well as belgian waffles.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2007

Very clean hotel with friendly staff. Excellent facilities including pool. Free breakfast was above average. Would definately recommend this hotel and would stay again if I return to Erie.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSR-CMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

A well managed property with comfortable accomodations and nice amenities for the price paid. One drawback was that cigarette smoke infiltrates many of the public areas, and some of the non-smoking rooms. Housekeeping is also inconsistent and does not do the most meticuous job. That being said, I would definitely return again since it is probably the best property in Erie.

  • Liked — Beds are extremely comfortable.
  • Disliked — Too smoky
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luxurytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

My experience at the Erie Homewood Suites began long before I arrived. This hotel operates at three night minimum stay, and I had trouble booking a room. I called about half a dozen times just to get a reservation for two nights. Being a Hilton Diamond member, I contacted the manager on duty who finally booked me a room for two nights. While I understand hotels use minimum stay requirements to boost their overall occupancy, however they seem to think Homewood Suites Erie is like a high end resort where a minimum stay is reasonable.

We had trouble finding the hotel at night, as it is set back in a mall like setting. We had to call to get specific direction from the attendant. Upon our arrival at 12:45 am due to flight delays, the attendant was outside smoking a cigarette-which was completely uncalled for. By the time we found a parking space, he had almost finished his cigarette and we checked in. Check-in was quick and efficent. As a diamond member, I am entitled to a special welcome amenity (usually a bottle of wine), however we didn't get anything at this hotel. When I asked, they gave me two (2) bottle of water and a package of Milano cookies-what kind of quality is this??

We were assigned room #120 (2 bd/2 ba suite). Our room had two bathrooms, one of which was an accessible bathroom with a roll in shower. The walls, doors, floors, and ceilings are paper thin in this hotel as we heard a lot of noise from the room above and neighboring rooms. The room was not clean, and could use new bedspreads, draperies, and carpeting.

In the morning, I inquired on switching rooms and a very snippy attendant was behind the desk and told me that they didn't have any availability to switch rooms. Finally, I politely informed the attendant that her co-worker was out smoking upon my arrival and she suddenly became very defensive.

I later proceeded to the breakfast buffett which was decent. Food was replenished frequently, however the food quality wasn't very high. There were very few available tables in the morning and tables were dirty and not attended to.

I read that a Sheraton is coming to the Erie area-which will be Erie's only full service mainline hotel. Although other reviews are very positive, If possible avoid this hotel! This hotel is about six years old and is not aging well. There appears to be staffing issues at this property as I overheard from several employees.


Check-out was quick and to the point.

I can reccommend Marriott Residence Inn on Peach Street. There is a Marriott Fairfield Inn directly accross the parking lot, however through discussion with people at breakfast I discovered that it is under the same ownership and management. They favored the Homewood over the Fairfield as they didn't care for the Fairfield either.

AVOID THIS HOTEL!! AVOID THIS HOTEL!!

  • Liked — Convenient Location
  • Disliked — Front Desk Service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 737823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
4.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
2.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Erie, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie
Address: 2084 Interchange Rd, Erie, PA 16565-5108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie is conveniently located just a few short miles from Erie International Airport and Presque Isle State Park in Erie, Pennsylvania. Visit our hotel and enjoy our Mon-Thurs Welcome Home reception, free breakfast, 24-hour convenience shop and free high speed wired and wireless internet access. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our indoor pool and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Hotel Erie
Homewood Suites Erie
Erie Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing