We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview on the Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeview on the Lake
Ranked #3 of 8 Erie B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at Lakeview on the Lake on July 7th and 8th. Four of us stayed at Annie's Retreat, a 2 BR/2 Bath upstairs suite with a nicely decorated living room, full kitchen with table & chairs for six people. Free internet connection included for those of us who can't leave Facebook behind! :) The grounds are immaculate and the adirondack chairs are so comfortable. We sat for a couple hours watching the sun go down over Lake Erie and what a marvelous sunset it was, starting with a soft peach hue which deepened to rich orange as we sat there. There are 100 plus steps down to the water below, with the last several steps being a ladder and though we're not spring chickens we decided to go down. We were so glad we did as the photo opportunities were not to be missed! We didn't have time to use it but they do have a nice swimming pool. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10Annie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    16
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lakeview in one of the romantic suites. We didn't want to stay in a typical hotel or right in downtown Erie, so this was the perfect place. We loved our room, it had a great lake view. We had a porch with chairs, and also chairs next to the room overlooking the lake. There was a grill and picnic table, which would have been nice to use if we'd been able to stay longer. The grounds were beautiful, and the room was homey, clean, and comfortable. The hosts were great, and gave us good suggestions on food and wineries. They also had a heated pool, which was clean and warm (in contrast to the fairly cold lake water). If we ever have the chance, we'd love to stay there again!

Room Tip: The romantic suite was great because it overlooked the water, but in the future we'd opt for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly E, Owner at Lakeview on the Lake, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. It is guests like you that help to make Lakeview such a special place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at Lakeview on the Lake this past weekend (June 21st- June 23rd) and after being there for ONLY a half an hour I turned to my wife and told her I wanted to stay here again. We are "seasoned" Presque Isle/Erie tourists and have stayed in just about every hotel in and around the area ---but being very private people and not big fans of crowds- we thought this place might fit our personal needs better. First and foremost, as you drive into the grounds you'll notice its spotless !!! The grounds, and buildings are well maintained. We stayed in the motel part of the area and enjoyed the rustic feel of the room- almost like a cabin in the woods feel to it. The rooms were equipped with a microwave and fridge as well as cable tv. The bathrooms- which were surprisingly big- come with local, all natural soaps- putting a smile on my wife's face because she is an organic kind of person....The swimming pool is very clean and well maintained and there are several hammocks on the property to read a good book or just fall asleep in.... Several comfortable adirondack chairs sit atop the hillside overlooking the lake and at sunset time the area is filled by guests waiting to see what the sky will reveal that night....The sunsets here are absolutely amazing and the best I've seen in Erie or anywhere. Finally, the hosts Kelly and Demaris are wonderful, kind people who really want you to enjoy yourself. They are very knowledgeable about the area and wonderful to talk to. We will be coming back to stay soon- in fact, I've already informed my wife were going back in the next month or so. Thanks Kelly and Demaris !!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly E, Owner at Lakeview on the Lake, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit. Thank you for the kind words. We truely appreciate guests such as you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaca, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The grounds at Lakeview on the Lake are absolutely beautiful! This is our second time staying here and my husband and I love it The rooms are charming, clean, and well-kept. The owners have comfortable chairs over-looking the lake, so you can sit and watch the sunset or just relax during the day (with a nice bottle of wine!). It is a quiet, romantic setting and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breinigsville Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Lakeview on the Lake is a retreat, an escape from the ho-hum, the generic and the everyday, a place to just "be." My husband, Joel, and I stayed there from June 1-8 and can't thank Demaris and Kelly enough for sharing their piece of paradise with us. We stayed in the Bungalow, which was spotless and only 2 years old. Perfect for privacy and loved having a place to ourselves. Demaris showed me some of the other accommodations -- motel room, Annie's Retreat, cabins, one of the RVs and the suite, and all are impeccably clean and comfortable. Lakeview has an accommodation for every budget, which makes it an attractive spot.

It is conveniently located to Erie and Presque Isle State Park, the wineries and the peaceful little town of North East. After hiking the trails at Presque Isle, kayaking and fishing the lagoons and bays at the park, visiting the Tom Ridge Environmental Center, lying on one of the park's beaches, and visiting the U.S. Brig Niagara and Maritime Museum, the Lakeview was a wonderful place to return to each night. As soon as you make the left turn into their property, it feels like another world -- a world apart from all the hustle and bustle -- where you can see a female eagle and her yearling soar above the trees, hold a drink in your one hand and your love's hand with the other and be still and watch the sunset, wake in the morning to the soothing sounds of mourning doves, chuckle at the antics of fox squirrels and chipmunks and sit outside at night and read with hardly any noise from the road and only the distant calming sound of a train. And is there anything better than sitting on your porch in the morning and being greeted by the property owners' Chesapeake Bay retriever, Joey, a chestnut-colored four-legged welcoming party who happily bounds toward you with his tongue lolling.

This is a relaxing place on a beautiful piece of land that makes you feel like you are hundreds of miles away from all your cares. The propery has a lovely pool, picnic tables, hammocks and grills and nice landscaping with towering old trees that offer plenty of shade.

There are many advantages to staying at a property like this where the owners live there and take pride in their property and their home. When we noticed a stain under the front of our SUV the second morning there, our first thought was "Oh, no." Kelly recommended a mechanic he uses at a nearby garage, and the man was kind enough to check out our vehicle and fix the problem. Something connected to the power steering needed tightened. The man fixed it at no cost, and in minutes, the vacation that could have been ruined was resumed. We are very grateful to him for helping us.

Demaris recommended a nice winery loop. We highly recommend Burch Farms for their baked goods and produce, and Heritage Winery for their fruit wines. All the wineries are unique and charge between $3 a person for tasting to $1, but Heritage is laid-back and very casual, does not charge for tastings and has a pour-your-own philosophy -- no tokens, no pretense, just great wine in a great setting.

The steaks at Ricardo's were some of the best we've ever had, the Freeport restaurant has good food at reasonable prices, and Bootleggers bar and restaurant close to Lakeview has a friendly atmosphere, inexpensive drinks and is a great place to watch Pittsburgh sports. Sandwiches there were memorable, but the potato soup, which won an award in the Souper Bowl, is delectable. Would have loved to have tried the artichoke, portobello and asiago soup, which also won an award. The Sand Bar sports bar and grill near the entrance to Presque Isle is a raucous and rowdy fun place with reasonably priced sandwiches, more than 30 beers on tap and outside patios.

If you have a canoe or kayak, definitely paddle the lagoons in the state park to Marina Lake and paddle Misery Bay to Horseshoe Pond to see the more than two dozen houseboats.

We highly recommend Dead Pond Trail and Gull Point Trail. Take binoculars! You never know what you will see. From the observation tower at the end of Gull Point, we saw a turkey, great blue herons and a mallard family with little ones. Keep your eyes open all around the park. We saw a mink crossing the road one day at dusk. On Dead Pond Trail and any of the sandy trails, look for tracks in the sand. You'll see deer tracks, racoon tracks and turtle tracks. Following the turtle tracks one day, we found a snapping turtle hiding in the tall grasses. One medium-sized turtle was in the middle of the path, and a very young turtle not much bigger than a 50-cent piece was on the side of the trail.

If you go to Erie and Lakeview, pick up a copy of the Erie Reader, a very helpful newspaper. We got one at the Environmental Center.

We would have loved to have stayed at Lakeview and in this area another week. There certainly is plenty to do. On the day we left, there was a craft fair at the lovely little park in North East, and I was wishing we could have been there for some of the summer fairs and festivals in North East and Erie and the summer concerts on the beach on Mondays at Presque isle.

When we checked out, Demaris was wearing a T-shirt that said, "North East...Like Key West Only Cooler."

We have traveled to Belize, Costa Rica, Ireland, all over the Caribbean, to many national parks and state parks, and to cities all over the coutnry. All were fascinating in a different way. We learned something from every place and every person we met.

But Lakeview and the area in which it is nestled prove that you don't have to spend thousands of dollars or travel hundreds of miles away to find beautiful natural landscapes, fascinating people, animals and, most importantly, tranquility.

It's all right here.

Debbie
Breinigsville, Pa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SeekingOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly E, Owner at Lakeview on the Lake, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. We enjoyed meeting and talking to both of you, and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We found this place when surfing the web and boy are we glad we did. We had a wonderful stay and the place is very well kept. The owner was very helpful with suggestions on what to see and where to eat. Must say we enjoyed the Freeport very much with excellant food. We could go on and on about staying but I think you need to go and see for yourself you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romney, West Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The staff was courteous, friendly, helpful and informative. She knew a lot about the area and offered suggestions. Our room was very clean. There are board games available in the office as well as swingsets and horseshoe pits on the property. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
9.9 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
11.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
13.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
13.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview on the Lake

Property: Lakeview on the Lake
Address: 8696 East Lake Rd, Erie, PA 16511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Erie
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a romantic getaway or relaxing family vacation? Lakeview on the Lake offers a variety of clean comfortable rooms, mini-cottages, and suites. We are the only resort in Pennsylvania located on the shoreline of Lake Erie. Only 10 miles east of Erie in the heart of wine country, the smell of grape vineyards can be intoxicating. Many of our guests have been coming here for years, the serenity of our eight acres is what keeps them coming back. Descend the grand staircase and walk along the shoreline, take a dip in our outdoor heated pool, play badminton, bocce, volleyball, or simply relax and unwind in our Adirondack chairs as you enjoy the spectacular sunsets. Fresh lake air and peaceful surroundings are sure to restore and revive your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Lakeview on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview On The Lake Hotel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing