We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A retreat, an escape, a place to just "be!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview on the Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeview on the Lake
Ranked #3 of 8 Erie B&B and Inns
Breinigsville Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A retreat, an escape, a place to just "be!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Lakeview on the Lake is a retreat, an escape from the ho-hum, the generic and the everyday, a place to just "be." My husband, Joel, and I stayed there from June 1-8 and can't thank Demaris and Kelly enough for sharing their piece of paradise with us. We stayed in the Bungalow, which was spotless and only 2 years old. Perfect for privacy and loved having a place to ourselves. Demaris showed me some of the other accommodations -- motel room, Annie's Retreat, cabins, one of the RVs and the suite, and all are impeccably clean and comfortable. Lakeview has an accommodation for every budget, which makes it an attractive spot.

It is conveniently located to Erie and Presque Isle State Park, the wineries and the peaceful little town of North East. After hiking the trails at Presque Isle, kayaking and fishing the lagoons and bays at the park, visiting the Tom Ridge Environmental Center, lying on one of the park's beaches, and visiting the U.S. Brig Niagara and Maritime Museum, the Lakeview was a wonderful place to return to each night. As soon as you make the left turn into their property, it feels like another world -- a world apart from all the hustle and bustle -- where you can see a female eagle and her yearling soar above the trees, hold a drink in your one hand and your love's hand with the other and be still and watch the sunset, wake in the morning to the soothing sounds of mourning doves, chuckle at the antics of fox squirrels and chipmunks and sit outside at night and read with hardly any noise from the road and only the distant calming sound of a train. And is there anything better than sitting on your porch in the morning and being greeted by the property owners' Chesapeake Bay retriever, Joey, a chestnut-colored four-legged welcoming party who happily bounds toward you with his tongue lolling.

This is a relaxing place on a beautiful piece of land that makes you feel like you are hundreds of miles away from all your cares. The propery has a lovely pool, picnic tables, hammocks and grills and nice landscaping with towering old trees that offer plenty of shade.

There are many advantages to staying at a property like this where the owners live there and take pride in their property and their home. When we noticed a stain under the front of our SUV the second morning there, our first thought was "Oh, no." Kelly recommended a mechanic he uses at a nearby garage, and the man was kind enough to check out our vehicle and fix the problem. Something connected to the power steering needed tightened. The man fixed it at no cost, and in minutes, the vacation that could have been ruined was resumed. We are very grateful to him for helping us.

Demaris recommended a nice winery loop. We highly recommend Burch Farms for their baked goods and produce, and Heritage Winery for their fruit wines. All the wineries are unique and charge between $3 a person for tasting to $1, but Heritage is laid-back and very casual, does not charge for tastings and has a pour-your-own philosophy -- no tokens, no pretense, just great wine in a great setting.

The steaks at Ricardo's were some of the best we've ever had, the Freeport restaurant has good food at reasonable prices, and Bootleggers bar and restaurant close to Lakeview has a friendly atmosphere, inexpensive drinks and is a great place to watch Pittsburgh sports. Sandwiches there were memorable, but the potato soup, which won an award in the Souper Bowl, is delectable. Would have loved to have tried the artichoke, portobello and asiago soup, which also won an award. The Sand Bar sports bar and grill near the entrance to Presque Isle is a raucous and rowdy fun place with reasonably priced sandwiches, more than 30 beers on tap and outside patios.

If you have a canoe or kayak, definitely paddle the lagoons in the state park to Marina Lake and paddle Misery Bay to Horseshoe Pond to see the more than two dozen houseboats.

We highly recommend Dead Pond Trail and Gull Point Trail. Take binoculars! You never know what you will see. From the observation tower at the end of Gull Point, we saw a turkey, great blue herons and a mallard family with little ones. Keep your eyes open all around the park. We saw a mink crossing the road one day at dusk. On Dead Pond Trail and any of the sandy trails, look for tracks in the sand. You'll see deer tracks, racoon tracks and turtle tracks. Following the turtle tracks one day, we found a snapping turtle hiding in the tall grasses. One medium-sized turtle was in the middle of the path, and a very young turtle not much bigger than a 50-cent piece was on the side of the trail.

If you go to Erie and Lakeview, pick up a copy of the Erie Reader, a very helpful newspaper. We got one at the Environmental Center.

We would have loved to have stayed at Lakeview and in this area another week. There certainly is plenty to do. On the day we left, there was a craft fair at the lovely little park in North East, and I was wishing we could have been there for some of the summer fairs and festivals in North East and Erie and the summer concerts on the beach on Mondays at Presque isle.

When we checked out, Demaris was wearing a T-shirt that said, "North East...Like Key West Only Cooler."

We have traveled to Belize, Costa Rica, Ireland, all over the Caribbean, to many national parks and state parks, and to cities all over the coutnry. All were fascinating in a different way. We learned something from every place and every person we met.

But Lakeview and the area in which it is nestled prove that you don't have to spend thousands of dollars or travel hundreds of miles away to find beautiful natural landscapes, fascinating people, animals and, most importantly, tranquility.

It's all right here.

Debbie
Breinigsville, Pa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SeekingOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly E, Owner at Lakeview on the Lake, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. We enjoyed meeting and talking to both of you, and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    16
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We found this place when surfing the web and boy are we glad we did. We had a wonderful stay and the place is very well kept. The owner was very helpful with suggestions on what to see and where to eat. Must say we enjoyed the Freeport very much with excellant food. We could go on and on about staying but I think you need to go and see for yourself you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romney, West Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The staff was courteous, friendly, helpful and informative. She knew a lot about the area and offered suggestions. Our room was very clean. There are board games available in the office as well as swingsets and horseshoe pits on the property. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncanton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visited this motel in what would be considered "off season" (September). This motel was very nice....and very clean. We are used to staying in higher end Hotels and Inns...so staying in a "Motel" was a stretch for us. Not knowing what to expect....and deciding to stay here based on other Trip Advisor reviews, we were pleasantly surprised. Our stay was very comfortable...it is a very beautiful area, full of quaint wineries, beautiful lake vistas, and the "must see" Presque Isle State Park...was fabulous. I wish we could have that beautiful park where we live...I have never seen such a "user friendly" park with all its beautiful beaches and bike and hiking trails!
Back to the "but" in my review....I think it should be pointed out that during the "off season" the pool is not available". it closes after Labor Day. One odd thing also....we were looking for ice..and they also closed down the Ice Machine. I was told that it is something they also close down after Labor Day.
Also, if you want privacy, we do not recommend the Motel section. Rooms are very close together....and if the windows are open...you can hear your neighbors conversations and their TV. Since you park in front of the Motel, you can hear others comings and goings...at all times of the day and night. Be VERY aware....the beach can only be accessed by an EXTREMELY steep and long set of stairs.
The view is great....but somewhat limited because of the property sitting so high up from the lake. There are chairs for watching the view...but if someone is sitting in them...you may have a problem finding a spot in which to see a full view.
We recommend this Motel...but advise being careful of booking the Motel section if you like your privacy...we were lucky to have considerate neighbors (with no children) at the time we visited.

Room Tip: Avoid the Motel Section if you like privacy or are a light sleeper. if staying in Motel Section...tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travelncanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A beautiful location right above Lake Erie, with a special sunset watching spot. Still maintains the 30's feel, but updated, clean and friendly. There are many choices for rooms, including a house and a huge RV. The sweetest are the little cottages. We stayed in a paired old cottage, with kitchen and small living room. Nice touches include flat screen tv's. Very quirky, with the bedrooms in the front and the kitchen-living room in the back, but it works. Small bedroom, but wonderful queen bed. There is also a brand new beautiful cottage which we toured. Totally nice place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoopoePhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was our first trip to the lake region and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at Lakeview. We stayed in Annie's Retreat, which had nice views of the lake. The whole resort is well kept, clean, and comfortable. The owners, Kelly and Demaris, were extremely friendly and knowledgable of the area. My favorite activity at Lakeview was watching the sunset at the adirondack chairs facing the lake with the rest of the guests. Absolutely breathtaking! This is a quaint and quiet place and we would love to come back. As other reviews stated, it is about 10 mi from Erie, but we did not find it a problem. There really is no "downtown" in Erie with a lot to do and we found plenty of wineries and places to eat in North East, which we enjoyed better than Erie itself. We did spend a day at Presque Isle State Park, another beautiful place. The small bayfront area and Dobbins Landing was worth seeing also.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuePA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I booked 2 nights in a mini-cabin looking for a some downtime during our vacation. After visiting an amusement park and downtown Cleveland, the Lakeview on the Lake was a great place to relax. We stayed in the Driftwood mini-cabin and enjoyed all it offered. The coffee machine, microwave, and fridge came in handy to make breakfast and lunch. The bathroom and shower were nothing amazing but what you should expect and worked just fine. We spent an entire morning just relaxing and watching tv. The pool is older but well kept and clean. It was nice and warm and there were always people lounging around it. The grounds are very nice and well kept as well. I did make a trip down the stairs to the 'beach' but couldn't figure out how to get to the beach once I reached the bottom. It was very beautiful down there, but not really a swimming or sunbathing beach. Mother nature had placed some muck on the beach so it did smell a bait, but this is not the fault of the property owner. My only suggestion would be that they could try to clean off the spider webs a bit more. The entire staircase was covered in them making the small benches along the way unuseable. Also, the chairs on the porch of the cabin were covered in webs as well. I guess this can be expected in nature, but it could be cleaned off when the cabins are cleaned between guests. The owner was very accommodating and always made us feel welcome. Thanks for a great time! We did visit the Presque Isle Downs Casino, which payed out pretty good on the slots, and the Mazza Winery, which had great wines. Both were close by.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobby829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
9.9 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
11.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
13.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
13.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview on the Lake

Property: Lakeview on the Lake
Address: 8696 East Lake Rd, Erie, PA 16511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Erie
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a romantic getaway or relaxing family vacation? Lakeview on the Lake offers a variety of clean comfortable rooms, mini-cottages, and suites. We are the only resort in Pennsylvania located on the shoreline of Lake Erie. Only 10 miles east of Erie in the heart of wine country, the smell of grape vineyards can be intoxicating. Many of our guests have been coming here for years, the serenity of our eight acres is what keeps them coming back. Descend the grand staircase and walk along the shoreline, take a dip in our outdoor heated pool, play badminton, bocce, volleyball, or simply relax and unwind in our Adirondack chairs as you enjoy the spectacular sunsets. Fresh lake air and peaceful surroundings are sure to restore and revive your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Lakeview on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview On The Lake Hotel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing