We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lake Erie has so many fascinating stories on the War of 1812 and on ship wreaks and how important Lake Erie is to our co

Please, if you have time it is a must while visiting the great city of Erie, to visit this museum... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Sightseer615506
Must see

The wooden ship alone is worth the price of admission. We arrive fairly late, so didn't get to... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jim R
,
Bellingham, Washington
Read all 263 reviews
  
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
164
75
12
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
75
12
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brig niagara tall ship flagship niagara great lakes guided tour below deck commodore perry day sail war ship set sail local history great exhibits answer questions history buff very nice gift shop worth the trip presque isle
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Please, if you have time it is a must while visiting the great city of Erie, to visit this museum. Great Gift shop as well.

Thank Sightseer615506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The wooden ship alone is worth the price of admission. We arrive fairly late, so didn't get to completely take in the museum, but the guided tour of the ship and mock up of a ship wall splintered by cannon balls were very interesting.

Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you seek treasure, this is Erie's hidden chest. Erie is steeped in naval history and it comes alive here in this magnificent museum, so very well done (and well placed) and comes complete with a tall ship. Sad to say, even somewhat of a secret to area folks, this is a great take. Just a wonderful place well worth visiting.

Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This museum provides an overview of the war of 1812, a part of history that we don’t discuss much. Even in the winter, you can go onto the US Niagara which is a very interesting part of the museum. For $10, I highly recommend a visit.

Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice displays of articles and equipment. Inside and outside viewing areas of the actual rigged ships in dock. Was able to watch how the crew worked to prepare for departure. Handicap accessible also.

Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

Special place to visit as PA Resident or anyone visiting Erie. Volunteer Staff were professional and informative. Visited and toured the Niagara big ship and we are making plans to revisit for a short afternoon sailing. Reasonable price for seniors.

Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

The tour of the brig Niagara provides a fascinating insight into Commodore Perry and the decisive naval battle on lake Erie. The museum also has interesting displays explaining naval battles and the damage a cannon ball created on board ship.

Thank odysseusChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

This was a WONDERFUL way to spend an afternoon. We didn't tour the museum, but my husband and I stumbled on this as a day trip. I wish we lived closer so we could visit more often and see the museum as well. We had a perfect, sunny, mild day for our trip. The US Brig Niagara is a teaching vessel and the crew is small for it's size and partially volunteer so the visitors are "students" for the day and help out with tasks on the trip. They make it fun, but you can see just how much work there was to do on board and how crowded it got when there was a full crew. Every member of the crew was knowledgeable and willing to take a minute to talk to the "day students".
I was (of course) the one who got seasick for a while and they were very helpful and got me feeling better and having a good time without a fuss.
The trip was about 4 hours and while there was plenty to do and see, there was time to just sit and enjoy the trip too. I would say it was just about the perfect amount of time. We highly recommend this to anyone who likes history, sailing, and hands-on activities.

Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

We visited here with a tour. Did NOT expect to like it! I WAS SO WRONG! There is so much to see and do here ~ save lots of time! Our group loved it See and board the sailing ship in harbor! Museum was very interesting ~ unlike any I've ever seen!!!!!! Beautiful 9/11 memorial at end of property! So must to see and do and enjoy!!!!!! I HIGHLY recommend!

Thank redhead2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

Even if you are not a maritime follower, you will be enthralled with the history that is waiting to be retold to you by the exhibits and volunteers working at the museum.

Thank bathtravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews