We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Better than average room at a lower than average price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites Erie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Erie
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than average room at a lower than average price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

We've stayed at the Townplace Suites in Erie twice and have been pleased with our stay both times. The hotel is a little tricky to find - it's behind the Millcreek Mall and you have to wind your way through the mall parking lot to get to it. But once there, you'll find a hotel that feels fresh, clean and up-to-date. We traveled with friends and got a two bedroom suite, which really is like a small apartment, with two reasonably sized bedrooms, each with a queen bed. The rooms also have their own heating / cooling units and each has a flat panel TV. There is one generously sized bathroom, which was clean and up-to-date, with a hairdryer in the top drawer of the vanity. There is also a living room / kitchen area with an easy chair, sofa bed, desk, and table that could be used for dining. A third TV is in this area. The kitchen has granite counters with a fridge, sink, disposal, dishwasher, stove and microwave. Basic dishware and cleaning supplies are in the kitchen cabinets. The living area is not spacious - the furniture is a little crowded, but it's big enough to work well. The heating / AC units are a little noisy. The hotel has a pool and exercise room, which we did not use. A breakfast is include with the room price in a central breakfast room, which was big enough to accomodate the flow of guests. Hot waffles, cereal, bagels, pastries, yogurt and fruit were include in the breakfast options. The hotel also has a small convenience store featuring snacks and microwavable food. Wireless internet access was provided and worked well. Checkout was fast and efficient. Since our room was shared by 4 adults, the price per person was very competative with what two rooms would have cost us at a budget hotel that would not have been as nice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifterguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    184
    71
    27
    19
See reviews for
231
115
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

Great hotel, perfect location for shoppers and sightseeing. Full kitchen in every room, free breakfast and parking. Only 10 minutes to casino, or Presque Isle State Park, only one hour to Grove City Outlet Malls.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

I stayed here for two nights for the Erie Marathon. It was perfect for what I needed- a place to chill out before and after running a half marathon, where I could have food in my room, and soothe my muscles in an indoor pool and hot tub. The room was very nicely decorated and everything seemed very clean and new. The bathroom was sparkling clean, the bed really comfortable. It's located next to the mall, which is very central. But be warned that you pretty much have to drive anywhere you go; this is in a suburban "big box" area, not a neighborhood where you can actually walk to places. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmmsbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
336 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

We travel to Erie often so I'm checking out all the hotels/B&B's. This one wins for the category of "Best Decorating". I loved the contemporary decorating. They've used a lot of cool fabrics and furninshing ideas. Our studio had a small kitchen with stainless appliances and granite coutertops. Breakfast is always good when you can make your own waffle. So why didn't this get a 5 star rating? The two problems were a soft bed (the kind where both people roll to the middle) and noise issues. I woke up around 5:30am and couldn't go back sleep because I could hear every footstep in the room above me. I knew when they turned on their light/fan, as the fans in the bathroom are extremely loud. I heard their shower go on. And I have really bad hearing so you know the walls and floors are paper-thin.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tamaralea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

I would recommend this hotel. First we were in a Room with a King bed, plus a pull out couch. We let the 2 teenage girls have the big bed. Well, in the morning after almost no sleep because of the crummy mattress on the pull out couch, I went downstairs and asked if they had a room with 2 queen beds instead. and Suggested that they recomend the couches for small children only. Well the nice person in charge, I think her name was Amanda Pritchard, moved us to their best suite available. A 2 bedroom suite. I was overjoyed. The beds were so comfortable, and it was great having the girls with their own room. They loved it too.
The grill outside is for guests to use, so we grilled hotdogs one night. Very nice.
The hotel is very close to the Mill Creek mall, like right behind it. And things like the Zoo, Casino and Waldameer park were all just 10 minutes away.

Even though the first room was not good because of the couch/bed, the rest of the room was great. It would be fine for a couple, or couple with 2 small children.

Enjoyed our stay thoroughly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyw42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, PA
Level Contributor
284 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

The rate of $129 was actually low for this area. SO many hotels of the same or LESSER quality cost this and more. We stayed an extra night and had to go to the Super 8 (review on TA) and realized how spoiled we had been at the TownePlace. I have a complaint about TownePlace but its a worthless stupid complaint to Marriott itself. I hate the single door entrance and tiny lobby check in area. It is attractive but just to small. ANYWAY the studio room my family stayed in was clean and very nice. The location is very convienent to everything. I mean you drive a few miles to the beach are etc but that was always a fun drive. All the shopping you need is there but we had so much fun I never went shopping once. This is really saying something. The breakfast the hotel offers is very nice. Walffles, eggs, yogurt, cereal, juices. Nothing amazing about breakfast other then the woman who works it in the am. Please, if you stay here, say hello to Beth. She is a very nice woman and deserves your smile every am. Of all the things about Erie I have memories of her in my heart. She is very special. The other staff was helpful and nice too. The pool was on the small side and my son was so dang spoiled from the water park etc he didnt even want to waste his time in it! It wasnt cold it was just small and only up to 4ft. The hot tub was large and clean. I would stay here again for sure although I do like a nice view which you will not get here. Oh and you will hear kids running on the floors above you. Maybe the top floor is the best choice.I also want to say that the business center is 2 computers and a printer and the screens and your back are to the lobby so everyone can read your email with you. Anyway, it is clean and nice and I would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paymeami2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenshaw, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

We booked this hotel online and got the AAA discount. We reserved a king studio. It was a bit cramped for two adults but ok for the two nights we were there. The first thing we did was get into the hot tub as it was raining upon our arrival and we were cold. The hotel has a great indoor pool and hot tub area - lots of families there enjoying themselves even on a rainy day. The hotel had a breakfast in the morning of bagels, cereal, juice etc. We like a typical egg breakfast so cooked in our room. The pots and pans provided leaved a lot to be desired as was the stove. It took forever to heat up. The kitchen is tiny - no real prep area. The bed was firm and the bathroom large. Everything was very clean. The room was a bit noisy but I turned on the fan for sleeping so we didn't hear any hallway noise. The staff was so very friendly - even working on a holiday. We go to Erie at least once a year and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suesker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie
2.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Erie

Property: TownePlace Suites Erie
Address: 2090 Interchange Rd, Erie, PA 16565-5108
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Erie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TownePlace Suites by Marriott® Erie, PA, adjacent to the newly remodeled 170+ store Millcreek Mall Complex, is just the destination whether you need to stay one or one hundred nights! With our great long term stay rates you'll get more than you expected while paying less than you thought! The hotel is convenient to Hamot and St. Vincent Hospitals, Gannon and Mercyhurst Colleges and Edinboro and Penn State Behrend University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your TownePlace Suites Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Towneplace Hotel Erie
Erie Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing