We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites Erie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Erie
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

My room was nice with a adequate small kitchen. The bed was comfortable and the location is convenient to shopping and resturants. If you are looking for a grocery store near by, try Wegmans.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenie B, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Erie, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you so much for the positive review. Our staff is truly a caring group! Please come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    186
    71
    27
    19
See reviews for
231
116
25
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Full kitchen, two bedrooms, living room with sofabed - ahhh, space! Everyone had their own "space" and privacy, the kitchen was fantastic and everything was wonderful. The pool is on the small side and was always out of towels, but they were good about bringing them if you called the front desk and told them. Breakfast was ok. Convenient to everything and the Interstates!

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom suite and loved it! You may get noise if you're on the I-79 side of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaStBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenie B, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Erie, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed all the Hotel has to offer. The suites are really comfortable and we so enjoy hearing that our guests think so too! Please come back to Erie again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Hotel is not expensive, but rooms are big, comfortable, have everything you need, service is amazing. Small shoat the entrance is not expensive and you get good breakfast (not a lot of food variety but good). Location is very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MexKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sassa0522, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Erie, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thanks for positive response. We are truly a staff of hoteliers that want every guest to have an amazing expERIEnce!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Hotel very clean and staff super. Stayed for the week with our dog and will definitely return. The only thing the hotel should consider is additional breakfast items for people with gluten intolerance/celiac. That aside, a wonderful hotel very close to downtown, Presque Isle, shopping, attractions, etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmorche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sassa0522, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Erie, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
WOW! Not the sort of review we are used to getting! I can only hope that you will contact the hotel and let me offer you a complimentary stay to see what our "A" game is typically like! Thank you for the honest review. We are much better that that description and will be happy to show you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed with a friend and her daughter. We had a studio suite which had a King bed and sofa bed. There was a small kitchen with full size fridge, stovetop, microwave. Only enough dishes for 3 people so good thing my daughter didn't come. The sofabed was very uncomfortable - lumpy, hard. When the sofa is open, it touches the bed so there is no way around to the other side of the bed. We did a lot of crawling over things. We also didn't have any linens for the sofabed but they brought them up to the room when we called down.

We couldn't regulate the temperature in the room. If we put the heat on with the fan on constantly (to drown out night noise), the temperature would rise to 76F even though it was set at 68F. If we put the air on, then it would get too cold.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean. Bathroom was clean and towels large and thick. Water pressure was good.

There was a large closet that had a door on the kitchen side and 2 on the bathroom side. Weird set up but gave us lots of space to store all our shopping.

Breakfast was mediocre. The waffle maker was the best part. Otherwise it's just yogurt, cereal, bagels, prepackaged mufffins and a few donuts and apples and bananas. Tea and coffee is always available.

Free wifi in the rooms is useful for Canadians to keep in touch with family and friends. They have an office centre in the lobby with 2 computers. The internet was hit and miss on them and kept shutting down.

The location is great. It is practically in the parking lot of MillCreek Mall. Lots of restaurants within a 5 minute drive. Target, Walmart, Kohls, Best Buy and Bed Bath and Beyond are all within a 10 minute drive.

For diehard shoppers, it's a good halfway point from the border to Grove City. If you want to shop in Erie and Grove City, then it's a great place to stay. I recommend going to Grove City on the Sunday as all the buses go on Saturday.

This was my second time in this hotel. We had the 2 bedroom suite last time and that was much better. I would stay again but would definately make sure there are enough beds for everyone in the party.

Room Tip: Make sure there are enough beds to avoid using sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MapleRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sassa0522, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Erie, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. We do have an amazing staff that tries to give an "A" game every day! Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Erie TownePlace Suites for a two day shopping trip. We've stayed at a number of Erie hotels and this one is the nicest we've stayed at. The front desk staff were friendly upon our arrival and check in was quick. In fact, throughout our stay, the staff were great. Our room was a king suite. The room had a kitchen with fridge, microwave, dishwasher and cook top. Countertops are granite. Kitchen has laminate flooring and the rest of the room was carpeted. The decor was modern, which we really liked. I didn't find the room to be cramped at all...it was actually well layed out. There was even a pull out dining table tucked underneath the work space. The bathroom had a vanity in it with granite countertop (it's nice to have somewhere to hide away your stuff instead of leaving it on the counter). There really does need to be another mirror, other than the one in the bathroom. Perhaps one could be placed above the desk or on the wall located in the kitchen. There's a flat screen t.v. and free internet which worked well. The room was very clean and tidy. We didn't use the pool but it looked nice and clean. There were chicken wings and beer in the lounge one evening and the breakfast the next morning was more than adequate. You can't beat the location of the hotel, which is right beside the Millcreek Mall and other large stores on Peach St. On our next shopping trip to Erie we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank needmoretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen B, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Erie, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel in such a positive manner. We strive daily for the best in service and lodging. Our staff has a genuine care for our guests and we love knowing it shows! Come back again please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

This hotel was just ok. New property which is nice. My room could have used a good dusting - it looked like it hadn't really been dusted up in a long time. The really weird thing about the place is that the entryway doesn't have an automatic door. So you've got to haggle with opening the door, holding the door and trying to get your luggage in. How annoying!! Stayed in a king suite which was clausterphobic! Things crammed in every nook and cranny - good space planning for a small room, but it feels very small. So it's ok - nothing to write home about but would suffice for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Novakat93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sassa0522, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Erie, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your honest resonse. We, too, wish we had an automatic front door opener. However, our amazing Welcome Desk Staff always tries to anticipate and opens the door whenever possible! The suites are compact but do have everything you need on a trip away from home! Please come back and give us another try! We promise to offer the best in service and with a smile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie
2.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Erie

Property: TownePlace Suites Erie
Address: 2090 Interchange Rd, Erie, PA 16565-5108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Erie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TownePlace Suites by Marriott® Erie, PA, adjacent to the newly remodeled 170+ store Millcreek Mall Complex, is just the destination whether you need to stay one or one hundred nights! With our great long term stay rates you'll get more than you expected while paying less than you thought! The hotel is convenient to Hamot and St. Vincent Hospitals, Gannon and Mercyhurst Colleges and Edinboro and Penn State Behrend University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Marriott so you can book your TownePlace Suites Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Towneplace Hotel Erie
Erie Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing