We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Fish” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petra

Petra
Ranked #130 of 401 Restaurants in Erie
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Erie
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Fish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I have been to Petra's before tonight. We were going to use our fine dining card.
I ordered the white fish special which was served cold and stringy. I could not believe the poor quality of the food. It tasted old like cod that had just been taken out a freezer. Terrible! I didn't know a restaurant on the fine dining card circuit would actually serve old tough cold fish. I will tell family and friends just how terrible this fish was. I would not even give it one star. My husband'd Chilean Seabass did not melt his mouth like Matthew's Trattoria's Chilean Seabass.
His was rubbery and very "fishy" tasting as if it was old. I will never return to this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraErie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
137 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Tasty options”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Petra has a welcoming décor, something I actually look for in smaller restaurants. We found it very useful to take the staff’s suggestions while choosing from the menu.

The place has a good range of wines with all kinds of reds. We chose Chianti for the occasion and noted that they don’t serve it by the glass.

It was surprising to hear from one in our party that the falafel is not so good here. With one obvious choice not feasible, we tried out the hummus with pita bread served with spices and oil. Followed it up with a hot lentil soup which was more than welcome after the drive in the freak snow-storm-rains outside.

For entrees, it was the tuna with peanut sauce and vegetable kabobs. Both came with servings of rice and Lebanese sauce. The dessert was Balaklava it tasted exactly the way I like it - crisp in parts and overall not too soggy.

Petra offers the prospect of a pleasant evening with tasty options in food and drink.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nyusual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinboro
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“My Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I grew up in Greece, and the food at Petra's is authentic middle eastern food! For a nice sample, try one of the platters (my favorite is the Petra Platter). My wife usually gets the beef tips and loves the dish. The pace of service is relaxed (just like the Mediterranean), so don't go if you're in a rush. The prices are reasonable.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting but miss the BYOB days”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Nice food and they even have outdoor seating which seems to be missing in many places in Erie. The food is okay but we miss the BYOB days.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Tex-PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MmmMediteranean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Most savory Dolma ever. Cutely redecorated within the last couple years. Convenient to Presque Isle. I can only speak for the fish dishes, which are invariable perfectly cooked and beautifully balanced, and the vegetarian, which is irresistible from the homos to the dolma and back again.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Halle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing