We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Erie-South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Erie-South
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, United States
2 reviews
“Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have stayed in here two times. The staff is always very friendly and welcoming. They usually offer water bottles and etc when you check in which is nice after a long drive! The rooms are very clean and quiet and I have never had a problem! The location of the hotel is very convenient but it can get a little confusing to find if from the highway if you are not familiar although I didn't have any trouble I am sure others might!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of the Hampton Inn Erie. We are very, very fortunate to have an amazing staff and it is always so nice to hear praise from our valued guests. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    212
    56
    24
    5
See reviews for
256
167
32
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

One of my favorite hotel chains! This location had friendly staff, clean rooms, and great complimentary breakfast. We were only in town one night for a lacrosse tournament, but the hotel was located near rt 19 that had tons of restaurants and stores. Our room was on the back side of the hotel. If you are a light-sleeper, you may want to request a front facing room. We could hear traffic noise from the highway, but there were earplugs on the nightstand. I sleep like a log, so it didn't bother me

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank prestomagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of the Hampton Inn Erie. I'm glad you enjoyed your time here, even though it was only 1 night. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed for one night on the way to Buffalo. Have stayed on these before, the rooms are comfortable, they have a guest laundry (sad I know but really useful) which was used to great effect. Ideally situated right off the 90, breakfast included and nice pool.

Room Tip: none have a great view so don't worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Erie. I am pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay. That is one thing that we strive for. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, PA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were in Erie for Wine on the Lake. Wine on the Lake had a promotion with certain hotels to provide trolley service, but all those hotels were sold out by the time I made my plans, so we booked at the Hampton Inn.

This was a typical Hampton Inn stay. The staff was courteous and professional. When we checked in, the gentleman behind the counter asked if we would like a list of restaurants in the area. A nice touch. While the hallways and the rooms are a bit dated, everything was clean and our room was comfortable. It even included a small refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast in the morning was what we've come to expect from Hampton Inn -- scrambled eggs, sausage, french toast, etc.

Unfortunately, the Hampton Inn doesn't have a courtesy shuttle. We didn't want to drive back from Wine on the Lake, so we asked the front desk to call us a cab. There is only one cab service in Erie and they are woefully understaffed, so we were told the cab would pick us up within the hour. There are several other hotels in the area, so while we sat in the lobby waiting, we were able to watch a good number of shuttles from other hotels zip back and forth. Our cab arrived about 80 minutes later.

Our cab drivers both to and from Wine on the Lake were both friendly and professional and did their best to get us where we needed to be in terrible weather. I know this isn't really a problem with the hotel, but it is tucked back away from Peach St. along I-90, and besides other hotels and a Subway, there isn't much around. If you're without a vehicle and/or don't want to drive, I would suggest staying at one of the nearby hotels that provides a courtesy shuttle. You'll save time and money in the end.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parksy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn. Unfortunately, we do not offer shuttle service. I will pass on your comments to the corporate office and see if there is a chance that we can look into a shuttle. I am please to see you did enjoy the rest of our trip. Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhards Bay, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our family loved the pool! It was spacious, the temperature was perfect, and the staff during breakfast and the front desk were outstanding. They were attentive to all of our needs. The location of this hotel was perfect as there are lots of family activities near by including restaurants etc. We look forward to coming again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of the hotel. I am very happy to hear that your family was able to take advantage of our indoor pool. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel was the usual high standard we have come to expect from Hampton Inn hotels. Great sleep and cheerful staff, what more can you ask for. We normally plan our trips using Hampton Inn as our destination for each day of travel, we know the quality of hotel is consistent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Guiles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Erie. We pride ourselves to be apart of a company that has such high standards, high standards that are in place for you, our valued guest. Consistency is Hampton Inn's middle name. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We visited the Erie area as a family to look at homes. We knew the general area and chose Hampton based on rate, complimentary hot breakfast, and access to an indoor pool. Everything about our stay was great. We would definitely stay at this Hampton again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 678darcyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Erie. I'm glad to hear your stay was very nice. I hope your family was able to take advantage of all of our amenities, while here for your quick trip. Good luck on the house hunting and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Erie
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Erie-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Erie-South

Property: Hampton Inn Erie-South
Address: 8050 Old Oliver Rd, Erie, PA 16509-4650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#4 Family Hotel in Erie
#5 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Erie-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Erie-South hotel is minutes from the Bayfront Convention Center, Millcreek Mall and across Peach Street from Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park. Enjoy free WiFi, free hot breakfast every morning, 24 hour fitness center, heated indoor pool and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Erie-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Erie-South Hotel Erie
Erie Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing