We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quiet.... attractive lobby...complimentary breakfast food disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Erie-South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Erie-South
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
UNIVERSITY PARK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quiet.... attractive lobby...complimentary breakfast food disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Recent updates in lobby area are very attractive and welcoming. Bedding is fresh and comfortable but furniture in room was worn. Room was cramped with 2 queen beds. Very conveniently located to many "chain" restaurants and right off I-90.

Room Tip: Pick a king - has a couch in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 682Tom682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of your guest room in addition to the issues you experienced during breakfast. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience and we hope you will come visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    199
    54
    24
    5
See reviews for
237
157
31
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Location - conveniently located near Splash Lagoon (practically across the street), near Target, Walmart and lots of restaurants, and a short drive to Millcreek Mall.
Room - large and clean. We had a king sized bed with updated, comfy linens (even a post-it note that said the duvet covers had been cleaned!), a couch with a flat screen TV, desk and chair, and a kitchenette with sink, microwave, fridge and coffeemaker. The bathroom was large too. It had ample counter space and the largest tub I've seen in a long time (which had the jacuzzi jet sprays in working condition too!). Took almost a half hour to fill the tub to a level just above the jets.
Amenities - a nice but small pool. Gym seemed nice too. But didn't get to use either.
Staff - SUPER friendly and eager to help. You can't beat this kind of hospitality. Even the breakfast staff came by every 5 min to clear the plates.
Breakfast - Free. There's cereal, oatmeal, toast, waffles, eggs, sausages, and yogurt. Not sure if the eggs were real though. Decent fare. Liked how the coffee urns were separated by decaf, regular and bold as my husband and I both like our coffee strong.
Now here's my complaint. We had room 402. High up and facing the I-90. I couldn't sleep due to the highway traffic, especially the heavy rumblings of passing trucks. However, the hotel did provide a pair of comfortable ear plugs and once I popped those in, I was fine. So I recommend getting an odd numbered room (on the other side where you don't face the highway) OR a lower level room so you're at least beneath the highway and it's not as loud.
To the hotel: ear plugs are a nice touch. You should really have 2 pairs available in each room, not just 1 if you know there's at least 1 person staying in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd numbered room (that doesn't face the I-90 highway) or a lower level so you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_lowdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Hampton Inn Erie South. I'm glad your stay was enjoyable. We do understand that the rooms located on the highway side of the hotel are noisy and hope to have this problem resolved in the future. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAM LAKE
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff were professional, friendly & helpful. The hotel was clean, modern & nice. The free breakfast offered was good. The pool was nice, we didn't use the exercise room on this trip, but it looked to be small, but adequate & in good condition. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TIMM F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The staff was very hospitable! My room was fantastic! I always have had a great stay! Never a complaint! I arrived late, was greeted at the door, checked in quickly and offered assistance with anything I needed. I requested some extra toiletries which I received very quickly and with a smile! My check-out was equally as pleasant! This staff is superb!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine14O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. I'm glad you can trust Hampton Inn for a great stay. Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel was used while attending an athletic event at Edinboro University, which was a fifteen to twenty minute drive away. The facility more than met my needs.It was within a five minute drive of a number of shopping centers and restaurants, When I return to the area I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeYourself0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of Hampton Inn Erie. We are very fortunate to be located in a great location with plenty of shopping and restaurants. We hope you make it back to our area again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton on a Sat night in Feb. Our purpose for being in Erie was to take the kids to Splash Lagoon. Although the site does not say so....it is very close to S Lagoon. We did, however, have to call S Lagoon and purchase passes over the phone as they could not be provided by Hampton. The hotel- close to lots of casual to Olive Garden type restaurants/gas stations/book stores/grocery. Also several miles from Millcreek Mall, actually Peach St has alot of businesses along it. Otherwise- location is nothing exciting- right off I90. The lobby is small, but has a nice area to sit by the fire. Also the breakfast area is a little more updated then other Hamptons and very pretty. Breakfast is typical, continental plus some eggs/sausage and make your own waffles (awesome). It is free, decent and plentyful. Rooms are nice, bed is very comfortable. Staff was very helpful and accomodating. Pool is nice/water warm, but kind of small, then again- HUGE water park across street. Work out room is nice- cardio good/weight training limited. 6 year old would like to add "she liked the cereal."

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristaPGHPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of our hotel. I'm glad you found everything as you would expect a Hampton Inn to be. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you need a place to get out of the weather it is good. it just isn't what you would normally expect from Hampton Inn. The breakfast was: like eating rubber chicken eggs. Not what I would feed to my family or friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longfellow R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennSirak, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn Erie-South, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the quality of your breakfast you experienced during your stay. We are working to improve our offerings and welcome your comments. We hope you will come back and stay with us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Erie
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#8 of 38 in Erie
4.0 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Erie-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Erie-South

Property: Hampton Inn Erie-South
Address: 8050 Old Oliver Rd, Erie, PA 16509-4650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#4 Family Hotel in Erie
#5 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Erie-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Erie-South hotel is minutes from the Bayfront Convention Center, Millcreek Mall and across Peach Street from Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park. Enjoy free WiFi, free hot breakfast every morning, 24 hour fitness center, heated indoor pool and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Erie-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Erie-South Hotel Erie
Erie Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing