We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newly renovated and great staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Residence Inn Erie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Erie
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Newly renovated and great staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

To start I'll let you know we booked a two bedroom, two bathroom suite and it ended up being on the top (3rd) floor. There were 6 of us in total - 3 adults (my sister, mom and myself) and 3 infants (two 17 month olds and one 5 month old).

The first thing we noticed was that the front doors aren't automatic which was a pain when you have as much stuff as we did, even with the luggage cart. It was a little hard.

However, that was really the only negative thing I have to say about this place. When we first arrived the counter staff was super friendly. The entrance to the water park (which we didn't go to) is right beside the elevator, so I can understand the issues some people would have with the water in and around the elevator (which, by the way, there's only 1 of). But seeing as we stayed a Sunday to Tuesday, there weren't too may families staying as kids would have had school the next day.

The room was nice. You could smell the new carpet smell, which is a good thing. When we first walked into the room, I was surprised at the size. There was a fully equipped kitchen. The appliances were a little dated, but we weren't there to cook. It even had a dishwasher, and a garburator under the sink. There was a dining table with 4 chairs, a couch and a fireplace with a flat screen TV on top. The couch was a little worn - as was the mattress underneath where my mom slept. The bedroom to the left is where my sister slept and had two playpens in there and still had plenty of room. She had a bathroom off of her bedroom, with a gi-normous jetted tub, sink and toilet. Lots of counter space. The tub is a deep jetted double-width tub. We were able to fit one adult and all three kids in there (after swimming). We probably could have fit another adult too....it's just that big!

Then, across the living room was my bedroom. It was also large, and also had a bathroom off of it, but the sink was in the bedroom as opposed to being in the bathroom itself. I also had the same size tub. It took forever to fill, but it was great to soak in. Each bedroom had two nightstands, large closets, flat screen TVs, a dresser and a queen bed. Everything was clean, lots of various pillows from plush, to hard, some with feathers, some without.

Breakfast in the main lobby was amazing. Lots to choose from....cereals, bagels, waffle makers, yogurt, milk, juice, etc. It was a full breakfast with both hot food and cold food. Couldn't get any better.

The staff at the front counter, and at the breakfast, were all so friendly and helpful. Even the cleaning staff were friendly.

The pool area was clean. The first day we stayed the pool was very warm - like bath warm. The second day it was more like a public pool. But either way it was still nice to swim in.

Overall, we all loved this hotel. We will definately be staying in this hotel when we come back to Erie every year. I would for sure recommend it to anyone - especially families.

Room Tip: We had the top floor which was great - no one above us and it was away from the water park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladykit1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    90
    46
    25
    20
See reviews for
172
43
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We were in a bind on a rainy night and had our pug with us. This hotel is pet friendly, and the staff was wonderful. The hot breakfast was good. The rooms are a little worn, but very clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandgirl134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

The property is located right at the I-90 and Peach Street interchange, so it's logistically convenient. And if you're planning to visit the adjacent and connected indoor waterpark, then the hotel may work for you. But really, just an average place with lots of room for improvement. Check in was fine. Room was ready. One bedroom suite was spacious, but tired looking, except for the new LG flatscreen TVs. Rooms could really use new carpet and paint for sure. The renovations mentioned in previous reviews were probably not to the rooms, but rather, to the common areas.

Two big complaints were 1) hotel guests that were waterpark attendees running around the hotel half dressed and dripping wet and 2) completely mismanaged morning breakfast. There was frequently water on the main floor from the wet bathing suits, so that's a nightmare from a risk mnagagement standpoint. Just a matter of time before someone slips and falls and gets injured. And, the breakfast was a complete zoo. Significantly understaffed, unorganized, mismanaged, and they continually ran out of food, utensils, condiments, coffee, etc.

Room Tip: Waterpark entrance is on first floor. If you're going to the waterpark, obviously first floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrpaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We spent three night at the Residence in Erie and it was an excellent stay. The newly renovated rooms were fantastic, clean and spacious. The staff at check-in and breakfast were amazing and always willing to help. We were only supposed to stay 2 nights but had car problems shortly after check-out and when we called to explain the situation, Blake was more than happy to accommodate us in our original room at our original rate. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Erie if I could help it. Thanks Marriott for a great stay.

Paul & Sandy

Room Tip: We stayed in room 301 and had no problems. The room was great. The mattresses and pillows were unbel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuzzy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Loud major construction of room renovations both the Sat. & Sun. we were here (9/23 & 9/24/11) starting 7amon! No manager available because it "is not a full service hotel." No resolution after repeated complaints and could not sleep after going to a wedding and college reunion and had to drive 10 hours home on little sleep. Tried to get refund from manager, Vicky Murray, who only gave 1 night refund and would not communicate further. Called corporate office & s/w Mr. Thomas and also no resolution. Don't think it is even legal for construction to be done 7am on Sun mornings or even Sat. at 7am. If a hotel can't let their guests sleep then they should close during renovations. Cut up my Marriotts reward card.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Where to begin! First of all I am not a person that complains. If they would have told us they were doing renovations we would have stayed at another hotel. We didnt check in until 5pm. The place looked like a war zone inside from all the construction. When we arrived to our room there were mexicans installing carpet inside. We had to sit & wait for them to finish installing it in our room. The room was dumpy. The couch had rips all through it. A day later staff told us they were going to move us to a better room well we are still waiting!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cnspots1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

stayed with a group of girlfriends for a shopping trip. love the two bedroom/two bathroom suite option but this particular location really needs an update! i understand this is starting to happen now so i probably wouldn't stay again until the renovations are complete. great breakfast offered each morning but the set up seems a little cramped. lots of families with kids but i certainly would expect this since the hotel is also attached to the waterpark.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happymom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 38 in Erie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Erie, PA
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Erie
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#29 of 38 in Erie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Erie

Property: Residence Inn Erie
Address: 8061 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Erie
#11 Family Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Erie 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Erie Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing