We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal, service and environment”
Review of Bertrand's Bistro - CLOSED

Bertrand's Bistro
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Amazing meal, service and environment”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

First time visitor and will definitely be a repeat when I return to Erie. Great atmosphere and vibe. Service was impeccable - told server what we like and he took it from there and created our meal for us. Started with a charcuterie plate that was perfectly paired. I had filets w mushrooms and potatoes - perfectly cooked and delicious. Desert was absolutely memorable - peanut butter pie and a vanilla torte type thing - we all shared. No pressure to hurry up. Upscale dining in a beautiful setting on the square. Can not come up with one thing I would offer to make it better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeamPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefbebert, Owner at Bertrand's Bistro, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Bonjour,
We really appreciate your positive review! I am so pride of my staff when I see this! Happy Holidays! Merci et a bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    31
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Quality Restaurant in Erie”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We have now eaten at Bertrand's several times. Each time we love it more. The food, the atmosphere, the feeling of community. We are so thrilled that we have discovered this special place. Don't miss this international dining experience! This is the real deal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDI_McCandless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefbebert, Owner at Bertrand's Bistro, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Bonjour,
It is always a pleasure to read reviews like yours! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave one! Happy holidays! Merci et a bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Wonderful food. Highly recommend Sunday brunch. The staff are happy to explain the setup and very friendly. Maybe have a couple of breakfast drinks too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RJLovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefbebert, Owner at Bertrand's Bistro, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Bonjour,
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a positive review! Happy Holidays. Merci et a bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patton, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“YOU DON'T WANT TO PASS THIS ONE BY!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

If you find yourself in Erie PA you must stop by Bertrand's Bistro!! My husband and I were in Erie visiting the wineries in celebration of our 10th Wedding Anniversary and we wanted to go to a really good restaurant for a nice dinner. The stars were aligned when we landed at Bertrand's! While we were waiting for a table I couldn't help but notice how enthusiastic the waiters were about the food as they described it to the people already seated. Our waiter was Tom and he was FANTASTIC!! He made several recommendations that were spot on and even chose a top notch dessert for us! My husband cannot stop talking about his meal and the dessert and he is really not a dessert eater! You will NOT be disappointed, this is the restaurant you want to go to..look no further, your search is over..now go and eat and enjoy already!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yohippychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefbebert, Owner at Bertrand's Bistro, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Bonjour,
We really appreciate your enthusiastic and positive review! Happy anniversary!. We are very happy that you found us! Merci et a bientot!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smethport, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is IT. Erie's Remarkable Secret.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I had followed our TripAdvisor predecessors to 18 North Park Row to discover this absolutely awesome French Restaurant in the heart of historic district in Erie, Pennsylvania.

As we walked through the door we were greeted by happy couples conversing in French including a young lad sitting separately. These were family and friends of the owner but it dropped us into our experiences we have had in central and southern France during our years of travel.

The menu continued our French Cultural Immersion with interesting dishes and wine list that further transported us to a most wonderful, unexpected Erie evening. Our meals and service were as perfect as the rest of our evening and we left fully convinced that we Erie was blessed by this unsurpassed restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MDISmethport_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefbebert, Owner at Bertrand's Bistro, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Bonjour,
Yes, you came during the time my family and friends were visiting and the feelings you were experiencing of being in France, I was feeling the same way and it was a wonderful night! We really appreciate your review. Merci et a bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing