We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel Setting in Erie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel Setting in Erie”
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed here on Saturday night, July 10, after a wedding. Check-in was easy at 3:30PM and the room was very nice. Beds were plush, there was a flat screen TV, and the bathroom was nice. The room also had a Bose clock / radio. We were on the concierge floor, but there was no service on the weekend (I didn't pay anything extra). Before the reception, we toured the hotel. The bar / restaurant area was very nice. There is an outside patio with food / drink service right on the bay. The indoor pool looked nice and there was a dedicated outdoor patio. The fitness room was very nice - I'm a fan of fitness rooms. There were several treadmills / ellipticals with bay views, a pulley / weight system and dumbbells up to 50 lbs. It seemed more like a work-out studio since it was open and bright. The hotel was very quiet at night and we had a good sleep. Check-out was easy the next day. I wanted to eat breakfast at the outdoor patio, but we opted to begin our long car ride home. As usual with full service hotels, there was no complimentary breakfast, coffee, or Wifi. Parking was $10/night. Our rate was only slightly higher than the mid-level (2.5 star) hotel we stayed at the previous night, which was near the highway. The Sheraton is not a "value" hotel, but in my opinion it is worth the premium. I wish we had more time to spend at the hotel.
Don't miss Presque Isle State Park if you visit in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyPhlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    222
    69
    28
    14
See reviews for
257
269
36
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2010

I visited Erie for a reunion and stayed for two nights at the Sheraton on the Bay. The room was impecably clean and the water view of the marina reminded me of my sailing days. Breakfast on the water was scenic with boats motoring or sailing by. The server poured a steady stream of delicious coffee as I enjoyed the view. The polite staff answered all my questions. I loved the fruit-flavored water and the decor of the entrance way. The bar and dining room made me feel like I never wanted to leave. What a delightful experience! I noticed the guests of the hotel wore happy faces amid this beautiful and aromatic surroundings. I will be back next summer.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSoBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I stayed at the Bayfront Sheraton on July 4th for a wedding in the area and I have to say that it blew my mind... I'm surprised the toilet paper didn't have a price tag. You had to pay for phone calls from the room, pay for hotel parking, there wasn't even a continental breakfast and one of the lamps in my room was dangling with exposed wires. This was definitely not worth the money and there are much better places to stay. I guess people will pay anything to be close to the water.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mynamesedwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

My family booked this hotel a month in advance for a family wedding, and when we arrived they did not have the correct rooms for my brother & sister in law, they could not find our reservation. My cousin and husband had to sit at the bar for 1 1/2 hrs before they got there room which was also booked ahead. .They did not give us ajoining rooms which I requested and in the morning we all missed breakfast together because the phones where not working, and no one could communicate with on another. When I went to check out they said I oued $320 for two nights, which I just stayed one night, they still did not have me booked correctly. When I got home they had a hold on my checking account for $625.00, which was finally released 4 days later after much aggravation. My mother left her suit coat in room which has still not shown up. I would say the entire problem revolved around reservation staff which is out of New England. The right hand did not know what the left hand was doing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank marilynmonroe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Our room was a deluxe bay view, the room had a wonderful view, the bathroom did not have a vent in it so when you showered it was all steamed up and if you like hot showers you couldn't breath. You got one little bar of soap and the rug was dirty, stained. It is a pet friendly motel where they place you on the 3rd floor, my elderly dog hated the elevator so had to walk my arthritis dog us 3 flights of steps although I paid a $50 non refundable fee. We take care of our pet and respect our surroundings, when asked where do you take your pet to relieve themselves, they didn't know. The internet is not free, it is if you belong to a special club. The local calls are $1.00 plus an extra charge if over 60 minutes. Had to call to front desk 3 times for a bar of soap. It is close to the beach and restaurants, If looking for a good breakfast go to Dominics in the little town. Dinner at the Sheraton was really good, service could have been better, the waiter went on and on to try to educate us on the ingredients of your meal whereas the time should be spent on asking if you need anything else which we waiting for quit awhile for our cocktails then charged us twice, a shot of hennesy is $12.00 and the mosquites were biting us like crazy as we had dinner on the patio with view of the bay, you would think that the outside area would be sprayed for bugs. All in all, if your looking a wonderful view of the bay, this place was great, the staff did not seem to be very knowledgeable about much. The beds were comfortable. Close to the lighthouse, fee for riding the elevator. The Cove bar is not part of the Sheraton where they have outside partying with kareoke, and the biggest gripe is that although the parking garage is attached to the Sheraton, you have to pay to park. You can pay as you go or pay a one time daily fee of $12.00 charged to your room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2010

A beautiful new building in a geographically exceptional area is being ruined by a staff that does not understand the concept of helping a guest. During each of the three phone calls I made to reserve a room I was treated with unwarranted malcontent and an unwillingness to work with a potential customer. I literally spoke with three individuals on three different occasions while attempting to make a reservation. I was treated to mumbles, grumbles, contradicting information and simple resentment toward a phone call. While staying in the hotel, I have never waited longer for service. Shockingly it was equally rude face-to-face. I hope someone dismisses the management and staff. Start from scratch!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank constantraveler44122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2010

I travel 300 days out of the year and was pleased to find out I was making a stop in Erie because I absolutely adore the area. I was also excited because for once I could stay somewhere else other than the busy commercial district located very far from the city and water.

Upon arrival I waited the longest 5 minutes of my life waiting for the girl at the front desk to complete her personal call on her cell phone. She was very huffy by the time the call ended and proceeded to take it out on me (i.e. tossing pens, being very short with me, annoyed with any additional questions I had). I remained positive while she very obviously could not wait for me to leave her alone so she may get back on her cell phone. I didn't get a "Have a nice stay!" or "let me know if you need anything!" As soon as she was done with me, she walked to the area behind the counter and started dialing...

Really? Are you kidding me? I was blown away. Obviously enough to never stay here again and write this right now. I hope she is replaced ASAP. I have received better hospitality at $30/night rooms that I have had the unfortunate pleasure of being stuck with. Unreal.

Overall, room very modern and different from the regular boring hotel layout. Very quiet. I read other reviews from people angry about the parking and internet rates, but c'mon people. This hotel is obviously for the business person using their Corporate AMEX not for you and your 2-year-old grandson.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
5.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
6.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel

Property: Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Address: 55 West Bay Drive, Erie, PA 16507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Erie
#1 Family Hotel in Erie
#1 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#1 Green Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the new Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel,the area's first waterfront hotel. Enjoy the stunning Lake Erie views and an array of amenities designed with your comfort in mind. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, free WiFi, and HD TVs. Dine in at the Bayfont Grill and enjoy a delicious menu of regional cuisine with breathtaking waterside views. The Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel's central location is also ideal for business, weekend getaways, or to discover the historical and cultural natural wonders of northern Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Sheraton
Sheraton Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing