We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was traveling for business and my husband came along for a mini-vacation for himself. It's a beautiful property and - as always with Sheraton - has comfortable beds and pillows. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed the fruit-infused water in the lobby. We did not visit the restaurant (there's no way we could have afforded to eat there...) and my husband was pretty disappointed with the size of the pool - enough so that he didn't bother to use it. The room was a little smaller than expected, but it fit our needs with a large workspace overlooking the marina. The issues we had were small, but they should be mentioned to be fair. One of the French doors for the bathroom would not close and one of the hand towels was dirty - it did not appear to be a stain. They put a hold on our card for incidentals at the time of check-in, but then the night auditor put it through again. This caused a bit of a problem for us, but the front desk took care of it immediately. Parking is in a parking garage adjacent, which was a pain for us. Our room was on the second floor along the outdoor (only) walkway from the garage to the lobby. There was a significant amount of noise at night with rumbling suitcases - and I'm not sure what else, but it was loud enough to vibrate the floor a couple times. This is something that most would probably be able to overlook - but it was distracting to me as I was trying to study for an exam. Overall, it was a typical stay at a Sheraton. We don't normally get to stay at nicer places, so even with a few small issues, we enjoyed the stay. Check out the beautiful restaurant next door, Smugglers' Wharf. Food was good, large portions and great view.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerrid96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with us. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (937)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 937 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've been to this location on 3 trips. I did appreciate it when SPG Gold got you concierge floor. No longer. Still the rooms are nice and refrigerators are available if you ask. I wish they had dressers. It's tough living out of a suitcase for a week.

People are nice and they do try to make your stay comfortable.

It's the best available property in Erie.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to share your opinion that the Sheraton Erie is the best hotel in Erie Pa. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Staff was very friendly, hotel is not overpriced. Has great views of the lake. Room was big and was very clean. Would recommend to anyone visiting the Erie area. Only downside is there isn't much to do downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwalsh6882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend this hotel to friends and family. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have stayed a this property many times over the past few years. As SPG Gold members and with us telling them that we would be celebrating our 37 wedding anniversary we thought we would get a decent upgrade and the use of the top floor SPG Lounge area like we did on previous visits.
Not so. Our anniversary was not even acknowledged and we were told the only room they could give us was on the 2nd floor. At least it had a bay view though. All of the other times we stayed at this property we were given rooms on the top floor and/or access to the top floor SPG lounge area based on our Gold membership. It was easy for them to have our key card coded for lounge access which you need to slide into a reader on the elevators. When we asked about it, we were told "only Platinum members have access to the lounge area". Is this a new policy?
We had breakfast downstairs in the lobby area. A very nice restaurant with very good service and food. Kudos!
We love staying here but we believe the service with regards to Gold members is deteriorating. Please reconsider how you treat SPG Gold members.

Room Tip: We would suggest asking for an upgrade if you're a SPG Gold or Platinum. Based on our most recen...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank N3YND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great location along Lake Erie. Traveled here for a wedding. Reception venue for a wedding was excellent. Would have liked to know that there was free parking on the other side of the skywalk (convention center side), as there is a daily parking fee to park in the garage connected to the Sheraton. But great experience overall. Hotel was clean and staff was friendly and accommodating.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We only stayed one night on our way to Niagara Falls but we could have stayed longer. Rooms were well apponinted and clean.The hotel does not seem to have a bad room view. One side faces the bay and the other side faces a marina. Both are nice views. There were plenty of salboats to view on the water while we had a drink right outside the bar bayside. The breakfast (not inlcuded but wirht the money) was chef caliber. My omelete was stuffed with grilled asparagus and was yummy. The USS Niagara was docked right outside and we really enjoyed stolling over to see such a neat piece of history.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lakesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and pleased to hear you were able to experience our award winning restaurant The Bayfront Grille. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Whenever we visit friends in Erie, we choose the Sheraton. Rooms are nicely appointed, view of the lake is nice to wake up to, beds are comfortable. The employees are efficient and friendly. We enjoy the lounge area for a drink and snacks and their breakfast is excellent. Only place to stay if you go to Erie!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experiences with us. We are delighted that we have become your preferred property when traveling to Erie Pa. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
5.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
0.9 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel

Address: 55 West Bay Drive, Erie, PA 16507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Erie
#1 Green Hotel in Erie
#1 Family Hotel in Erie
#1 Romantic Hotel in Erie
Price Range: $168 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the new Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel,the area's first waterfront hotel. Enjoy the stunning Lake Erie views and an array of amenities designed with your comfort in mind. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, free WiFi, and HD TVs. Dine in at the Bayfont Grill and enjoy a delicious menu of regional cuisine with breathtaking waterside views. The Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel's central location is also ideal for business, weekend getaways, or to discover the historical and cultural natural wonders of northern Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Sheraton
Sheraton Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing