We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Parking is not free” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Parking is not free”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband surprised me one evening that we will spend a night at this hotel. I was so excited, never been there! We got the waterfront view! When we go to hotels or any establishment, the first thing that could impress us would be the reception or the front liners..how they treat us or other customers. We give high regards to good customer service. That could affect our overall impression of the place.
Their reception area was very lovely! But oh dear..receptionists were not very nice. We also did not realize that we need to pay for parking space. One of the staff said that we need to pay because that's Erie's regulation. So ,everytime you need to pay each time you go in & out of their parking ramp. To get a free parking , you may park your vehicle somewhere else at least closer to the hotel, however be aware it might get towed. That made me so disappointed. It completely spoiled our evening together. I am rating it poor value for the price because I was not satisfied for the overall experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEr V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. As you stated there is a fee for parking in the covered structure located adjacent to the hotel. We do however offer in and out privileges for our hotel guests in this parking structure. We will work closely with our team to ensure that the parking information is more noticeably stated on our web site.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    220
    67
    27
    14
See reviews for
249
265
36
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We recently visited the Sheraton and stayed for almost a week. Everything, from the various flavored water offered in the lobby, to the superior customer service, was excellent. We will not stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the city/bay are excellent as are the rooms facing the lake. You can't go wron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefst25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

My sister and I arrived for a business trip and the manager at the front desk was very funny and nice I do not recall his name. We came into town for the wine on the lake event and needed to attend 2 session that were held in there conference center we were very pleased there was a walk way so we did not have to go outside a bear the elements.
Our room was clean and had a beautiful view of the lake. Bathroom was small but clean and they did have a magnifying mirror.
We had to meet colleagues and have small meeting so we used the lounge area a lot there we met another manager, Thomas I have to say he was excellent! Thomas gave the best customer service I have ever seen he was friendly, kind, attentive hard working and very professional! Thomas saw the bartender had not made it to us (she was very busy) he came right over made sure we were tended to and stopped back to check on us (that was one of the many thing he did) .I have stayed at many hotels and have never received service. I would stay at that hotel again just knowing that Thomas works there and take excellent care of your every need with a smile!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saralee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your recent experiences and customer service levels at our hotel. We are also pleased to see that you were able to experience our Bayfront Grille as well as the attached Bayfront Convention Center.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

we left our room at 830am and did not return until 530 pm to discover it had not been cleaned....poor service

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spideyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMErie, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly continue to work within our team and the housekeeping departments to ensure our rooms are cleaned in a timely fashion. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations as we strive to not only do that but exceed expectations on a daily basis.

We hope that you will give us an opportunity in the future to serve you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here this past long weekend to do a bit of shopping in the area.

Overall we were impressed with the hotel. It is only 4 years old so everything is in good shape and the location is beautiful.

Our stay started on a bit of a rough note, when we arrived the young woman at the check-in counter was very abrupt and barely said 10 words to us. I assume I got my points as a check-in amentity for being platinum, since she didn't offer me a choice. I had to ask if they had a club lounge, what the hours were, where the pool was, etc. There was not a smile, or inclination to help us for some reason.

We were a bit put off, but this was soon alieviated as when we got off the elevator on the 8th floor, this is where their club lounge is located. The wonderfully helpful and enthusiastic woman working there was the highlight of our trip. I believe her name was Cheryl, but I could be mistaken. She welcomed us, explained their hours, what was being served today, as well as a description of what was served in the morning and nights usually (as it differs). She was very pleasant and told us about the area, things to see, about the contruction of the hotel, etc.

The only downside to staying on the 8th floor is that because of the club lounge they don't have an ice machine. This was a bit of a nuissance because we had to go to another floor to get it, and you have to remember your key because you can't get into the ice room without it, or back up to the 8th floor for that matter since you have to use your room key to make the elevator go to the 8th floor.

Our room was big and very clean.

As others have mentioned, parking is $12 a night for secured parking with in/out privilages in the parking garage attached (via an outdoor covered walkway) to the hotel. It was mostly empty.

The fitness centre at the hotel was nice, excellent equipment and hardly anyone there. The pool was ok, it was a little loud with kids everywhere, and it would be great if they had the same size towels as they do in the room instead of the significantly smaller ones which were there. This is typical of most hotels though so I can't blame them for that.

The hot tub was a nice touch after a long day of walking/shopping.

There is a large mall nearby that had lots of shopping as well it is about an hour to go to the Outlet Centre in Grove City. The shopping here was great, especially since there is no tax on clothing!

Another highlight of our stay was a nearby restaurant. If you like Mexican food you MUST go to Latino's. It is a couple km away and it is nothing to look at, but the food is fantastic!
We were a little leary when we went in, and almost didn't stay because it looked like a bit of a dive, but man was the food amazing!!!
All of the food is fresh, homemade and full of flavour!
The owner stopped by on several occassions to ensure we liked it and talked to us about where we were from, and also about the story of the restaurant. If nothing else we will be back to Erie to go here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalenkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here twice as a stop over on our trip to Pittsburgh. Presque Isle State Park is the reason why you want to stay in the area. The hotel is very modern, clean and nice ambient. Parking is plenty and it is free. However there is no indoor walk thru from the parking building to the hotel. You have to walk to the street then to the hotel. Other than that great hotel for $100/night

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dphamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We went for a weekend trip and just found this place. No reservations. Got a room upgraded to club level no charge. What a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bukifan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Erie Bayfront
5.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
6.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Erie
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel

Property: Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Address: 55 West Bay Drive, Erie, PA 16507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Erie
#1 Family Hotel in Erie
#1 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#1 Green Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the new Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel,the area's first waterfront hotel. Enjoy the stunning Lake Erie views and an array of amenities designed with your comfort in mind. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, free WiFi, and HD TVs. Dine in at the Bayfont Grill and enjoy a delicious menu of regional cuisine with breathtaking waterside views. The Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel's central location is also ideal for business, weekend getaways, or to discover the historical and cultural natural wonders of northern Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Sheraton
Sheraton Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing