We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Smithton Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I've stayed in several places in the area and this is THE BEST, with large comfortable bedrooms, a great breakfast and friendly hosts. The house is a historic treasure and the innkeepers have done a great job in cataloguing sight-seeing and leisure activities in the area. Overall, an excellent value and a must-stay for future trips.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sn00py123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 407 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2010

I met my parents at the Smithton Inn for the weekend and we had a wonderful time. The foam-topped mattresses were supremely comfortable, the sheets soft, and the rooms well-appointed. The rooms are decorated with antiques, but equipped with modern conveniences such as flat screen TVs, in-room refrigerators, and wireless internet. Our hosts were friendly and helpful while still allowing us to spend time alone as a family. The plentiful breakfasts featured a variety of locally sourced foods and were fantastic. With the Smithton a mere 1.5 hours away from Philadelphia, we hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 58,971,630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

My daughter and I stayed at Smithton Inn while biking in Amish Country. We found the historic inn to be wonderfully charming - lovingly restored and in its full glory. We were welcomed with cold drinks, fresh baked cookies and a large comfortable room. The decor is perfect for a 200 year old tavern - tasteful, elegant and restrained. While true to the period, our room had every comfort we could hope for - flat screen TV (and an amazing collection of DVDs to chose from) a small fridge, robes, and a spacious bath. We enjoyed drinks on the front porch in the evening watching Amish carriages travel down the lane thru the warm summer night. Our hosts had myriad suggestions for how best to enjoy the town and surrounding area. In the end, we opted for a late day stroll thru the nearby Ephrata Cloisters - the perfect end to a tranquil outing in Amish country. The following morning we were greeted with an amazing homemade breakfast of fragrant muffins, sausage quiche and herbed hash browns. The delicious coffee was ready by 6 am and never stopped flowing. Our stay at the Smithton Inn was the highlight of our visit to the area and we look forward to staying again - perhaps during the autumn harvest?

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gambletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed here for two nights. The Inn was built in 1763 and they have done a good job maintaining and restoring it. The minute we entered the door we knew we found a gem. We were greeted warmly by Dave and the dog, Lucky. There were fresh cookies and a Keurig coffee maker in the entry in case we needed a jolt and a treat. Check in was easy even though we got there earlier than planned. Dave showed us the downstairs common areas - dining room; living area with baby grand piano, a flat screen TV, and fireplace; and his office with a ton of DVD's we could borrow. He took us upstairs and showed us the four rooms on the second landing and then took us to our room. It was HUGE! We stayed in the Crimson Dove room formerly known as the Purple room. We had a high King size bed (it was great, I needed to use the steps to get in it), a sofa in front of the fireplace (way too outside to start a fire), a desk with a flat screen TV and DVD, another seating area, a small refrigerator, armoire, and free wi fi. It was spacious and cozy at the same time. The bathroom was large with a jacuzzi tub/shower and nice vanity area with stool. They had some complimentary snacks and water for us.

Breakfast was outstanding. There was yogurt, muffins (the second day it was a peach coffeecake), herb bread, homemade granola, bran, coffee, tea and juices. Then came the best part. Rebecca is a great cook. The first morning we had a strawberry & blueberry topped pancake like/coffee cake, sausage patties, and a cup of fruit that was flavored. The second day we received a crustless quiche with asparagus and mushrooms, polenta with cheese and another type of fruit cup. Everything was delicious! Rebecca is also a sweetheart and will spend time chatting with you if you choose. She is very gracious. I purchased a cookbook of B&B recipes since we spent a lot of time chatting about the food. She does an excellent presentation too.

The grounds are well maintained. The Inn is very easy to find and just down the street from the Ephrata Cloisters which we also visited. They are very happy to answer any questions regarding the area and made recommendations for places to eat. I wish we had planned on more time there. It is very evident that they care about how their guests feel and add all the right touches - soft towels and a lot of them, nice toiletries, the refrigerator, complimentary snacks, reading material, etc. We also met the cleaning woman, whose name I forget, but she was very nice too.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plan2gosoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This was my first b&b experience and I loved it! I don't want to spend another night in a motel or hotel after this! Rebecca and Dave are fantastic. Breakfasts are varied and delicious. Rooms with private baths are beautiful, clean and comfortable. The historic stone building is beautiful and well renovated. I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorisP79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

The Smithton Inn was amazing. Dave and Rebecca are terrific hosts. When we checked in Dave greeted us and gave us a wonderful tour of the Inn. The room, the Red Room, was very comfortable. The tub is huge and since my husband and I are both tall we did not have any problems climbing in and out. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets that they have on the beds are super soft! They have a wonderful DVD library which we took advantage of in the evenings after a very busy day of sight seeing. Breakfast the first day was cooked by Dave and breakfast the second day was cooked by Rebecca, both days the food was very good and it was wonderful to talk to Dave and Rebecca. Rebecca even took our picture and emailed us a copy of it as a memento from our trip. Dave gave us wonderful recommendations for dinner when we arrived and we ended up going to both of his suggestions each evening. Lucky their dog is so sweet, since we have two dogs and had not seen them in days it was so nice to pet her and visit with her too. Thank you to Rebecca, Dave, Judy and Lucky for the wonderful memories and the relaxing visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liza23star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

From the welcoming smile, to the warm cookies set out for easy access, to the charming period decor - the Smithton Inn and its innkeepers were exactly what we were looking for. We were hoping to combine pleasure with a short business trip, and the Smithon looked great on its web site. (But I'd learned that is not always what you get.) The Red Room, where we stayed, was lovelier and more comfortable than I'd anticipated.
Rebecca Gallagher is one of those perfect hosts who never smothers, always intuits your requirements before you realize you want... a cookie, an extra pillow, directions to a great restaurant.
And speaking of food... Rebecca's healthy, fresh, delicious breakfast satisfied both my taste for morning pastries and my husband's wise and healthy food preferences; fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, pear strudel and pancakes with fresh strawberries. Everything made to our specific specifications and delicious.
We look forward to future visits to the Smithton Inn, and we have recommended the inn to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFB_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
4.4 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
437 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hertzog Homestead Bed & Breakfast
7.7 mi away
Brownstone Colonial Inn
Brownstone Colonial Inn
#1 of 3 in Reinholds
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Smithton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Smithton Inn

Address: 900 W Main St, Ephrata, PA 17522-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range: $142 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Smithton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Smithton Inn is a Select Registry property and one of the oldest bed and breakfasts in Lancaster County. The 1763 colonial stone inn boasts 7 guest rooms, all with en-suite baths, working fireplaces, flat screen TV/DVD players, digital alarm clocks and refrigerators. Guest rooms are spacious and blend historic charm with modern comforts. You'll absolutely love our breakfasts! Our location provides you easy access to all the wonderful Lancaster attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Historic Smithton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing