We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Smithton Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Living in Manhattan, I had come to a point where I needed a refuge from stress, noise, chaos while still being able to maintain some standard of quality and comfort. Having been to Lancaster Co./Amish area once before, I knew that fresh air would be forthcoming, but what about a comfortable bed and delicious breakfast? Let me be succinct in stating why I've decided to take the time to write this review of Smithton Inn in Ephrata Pa:
1. THE INNKEEPER (Rebecca), when I spoke to her on the phone, immediately put me at ease by her enthusiasm which far exceeded any feeling of officiousness. We all know this is a business for profit, but we cling to the hope that we can still feel relaxed and WELCOME upon arrival, and this I felt.
2. THE INN. It is GORGEOUS. All the antiques are AUTHENTIC, it's not some hokey recreation. The beds are supremely comfortable (tempur pedic just like I have at home), the towels thick, the water pressure high, wide screen TVs, WORKING fireplaces. Do I REALLY need to continue? I had a fire burning all evening, as well as an IN ROOM massage. All this while keeping in tact the feeling of being liberated from the city and immersed into a relaxing Pa town with Amish roots.
3. BREAKFAST. Rebecca loves cooking, and as I saw my reservation go from one day to two to three, I will say that the thought of getting up from my comfortable bed was made easier by knowing that chicken hash with poached eggs, raspberry pancakes, asparagus and cheese quiche were waiting for me. She actually SEASONS her food as I would, I remember thinking that were I to criticize it would be that some guests might find this not to their taste, especially if they prefer eggos for breakfast but for me, someone who uses herbs and spices, it was a pleasure. SAGE in my hash! Of COURSE!
4. PRICE. Prices are bargains, that's all there is to say. I'm not rich nor poor, but it's within my price range and I'll be back as soon as I need another does of R and R, and that will be SOON.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManhattanWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 407 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2010

We just returned from a weekend at the Smithton Inn with a group of friends. This is a must see B & B. The building is very colonial and well decorated. Existing Post and Beams are preserved and the ambiance is very "period". The hospitality is very warm and friendly and a wonderful breakfast was had and cooked by the owner, both mornings. Rebecca is a wonderful host and cook! The rooms are very spacious and well decorated, not to mention VERY comfortable. Each room has it's own heat pump which is new and very quiet. Complementary coffee/tea and cookies around the clock. I would highly recommend this wonderful B & B experience, and we hope to return again soon! On a scale of 1-10, this is a 9.5.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josuss17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

I simply cannot say enough about the Smithton Inn. From the moment you step through the front door you will feel at home. The guest rooms are all tastefully appointed and you can't go wrong no matter which room you select. We stayed in the Red room and loved it. Make sure to spend time in the public rooms too and browse through the books in the library. What really makes this inn stand out from any other in the area though is the innkeepers Rebecca and Dave. They are wonderful people. They will share the history of the inn and the area and can make great recommendations about everything to see and do in the area. The inn is at a great spot to visit everything in the area. It is conveniently located and is perfect if you are in the area for antique hunting or a visit to the Ephrata Cloister. There are great restaurants nearby too. Oh and I can't forget to mention the delicious breakfasts you will experience at the inn and Lucky the dog who will be your new best friend. So if you are looking for a great retreat in Lancaster County look no further than the Smithton.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LastoftheAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

My boyfriend and I chose the Smithton Inn based on the ammenities offered in the rooms and some of the reviews we had read. This was our first time ever staying at a Bed & Breakfast so we weren't quite sure what to expect. It felt just like staying the weekend with old friends. We were going to be in town for a wedding and decided to go with a Bed & Breakfast instead of a hotel because we wanted a nice homely feel and we certainly got what we came for. Our hostess was very friendly and an excellent cook. She was very accomodating and offered a variety of freshly baked home made goods. We stayed in the Purple Room (Guest Room 6) and it was absolutely gorgeous. It had the nice historic feel a B&B should have but with plenty of wonderful modern ammenities including a jacuzzi tub and a flat screen t.v. with a dvd player. They also offered complimentary aroma therapy oils for the jacuzzi tub as well as a nice tray of goodies in the room. The king sized bed was just perfect not to firm and not too soft. The pillows were also very nice and the linens were clean and smelled like fresh laundry. We would definitely love to visit again for no other reason than to just relax. With the room being at such a great price it should be no problem to enjoy a weekend getaway every so often at the Smithton Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpepper23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights at the Smithton. We were greeted by Rebecca and the housekeeper (Judy) both of whom were very welcoming and had a wealth of information about the area and the house itself.
Knowing that Rebecca and her husband had only taken over the Inn less than a year ago, we were amazed at what had been achieved. The place is sensitively and beautifully decorated, using antiques and Amish quilts in rooms each with a distinct colour scheme. Somehow the plasma tvs in the rooms didn't spoil the ambience (and a terrific collection of DVDs to choose from.
Breakfasts were very tasty, with home made granola, home made yoghurts and fruit salads and bread, as well as a main dish - plus cakes which were a bit sweet for our European taste. We di enjoy the quiche and the Strada.
We would thoroughly recomend the Smithton Inn

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We recently spent a Saturday night at the Smithton and had a great experience. The innkeepers, Rebecca and Dave, were nothing short of enthusiastic about making guests feel welcome and at home.

After a hectic day of traveling and visiting local wineries, it was great to get back to the Smithton and stretch out on our very comfortable bed for some late afternoon quiet time. Early in the evening wine and cheese were provided along with some pre-dinner socializing. Sunday’s breakfast was plentiful and satisfying.

The owners have demonstrated excellent taste and attention to detail in bringing the venerable inn back to life. They’ve achieved a cozy, comfortable balance between historic charm and modern amenities.

At the Smithton, hospitality doesn’t end at the property line. The innkeepers are able and willing to provide you with insider’s information on the best things to do and see. They obtained our wine tour tickets and a suggested route for us, as well as made an excellent suggestion (and reservations) for our Saturday night meal.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCTrenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

My husband and I like to try different B & B's for a quick week-end away. The Smithton Inn was a great choice. The room (purple room) was very roomy, with a larger bed, fireplace and whirlpool tub. The Innkeepers were very nice and were well informed about the area. We enjoyed the conversations with Rebecca and Dave and getting a few hints about so many things to do. And of course the breakfasts were fabulous. Rebecca did a wonderful job of making and presenting the breakfasts. It is a recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachygirl313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
4.4 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hertzog Homestead Bed & Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
437 reviews
7.7 mi away
Brownstone Colonial Inn
Brownstone Colonial Inn
#1 of 3 in Reinholds
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Smithton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Smithton Inn

Address: 900 W Main St, Ephrata, PA 17522-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range: $142 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Smithton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Smithton Inn is a Select Registry property and one of the oldest bed and breakfasts in Lancaster County. The 1763 colonial stone inn boasts 7 guest rooms, all with en-suite baths, working fireplaces, flat screen TV/DVD players, digital alarm clocks and refrigerators. Guest rooms are spacious and blend historic charm with modern comforts. You'll absolutely love our breakfasts! Our location provides you easy access to all the wonderful Lancaster attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Historic Smithton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing