We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Smithton Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The Smithton is a beautiful B&B. The innkeepers are terrific and the breakfast was great. Lucky, the innkeeper's dog, is an added attraction.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScarletandMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 404 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2010

An historic inn, friendly proprietors, immaculate grounds, interesting history, delicious food - our experience at The Smithton Inn was incomparable! You need to book early because my guess is this B&B will fill early!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabaHoustonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

My husband and I met his brother and wife for a valentine's day overnight at the Smithton Inn. The innkeepers, Rebecca and Dave, are warm and interactive hosts. They are friendly and just love their home and want to share it and its history. The breakfast was fabulous! The rooms are lovely and spacious, the beds very comfortable and we felt totally at home and comfortable. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarylandMoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Very welcoming, warm atmosphere. It was a perfect stay for a local getaway with my spouse. Close to the kids but enjoyed the feeling of privacy & relaxation. We appreciated the comfy beds as this can be a challenge for us when we travel. Thanks for the kind hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moo678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

I live in Lancaster and was snowed in near work in Ephrata during the recent blizzard. I spent 2 nights at the Smithton Inn with a few co-workers.
I have never walked in to an unfamiliar place and felt so instantly comfortable.
Rebecca (the innkeeper) and her family are incredibly kind and welcoming. Rebecca is also a fantastic cook, so bring your appetite to breakfast!
Due to the blizzard, we were the only guests, so Rebecca showed us around and I saw all the rooms. Each one is unique and beautifully furnished with antiques. They all have working fireplaces and flat screen TVs. I stayed in the Sage room, and enjoyed a lovely fire both nights.
The Inn was built in 1763, and has a truly authentic feel. It's right next door to the historic Ephrata Cloister, and close to iconic Lancaster County farmers markets and scenery. Even though I'm a local, I would love to go back for an easy weekend getaway. It was truly relaxing!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MC427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2010

Thanks! I couldn't have asked for a better group of people to be snow-bound with than you guys. I can't say I'm hoping for another blizzard like that one, but I do hope to see you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

We loved this place. Period. We loved that they allowed us to bring our dog. We loved that the room was unique and historically authentic. (minus the tub and shower!). We loved how Dave and Rebecca gave us a tour of the place. We got to see all the rooms (except one) as we and another couple were the only guests. We loved the mystery of the place. Dave and Rebecca explained how that as they tried to remodel the place and make improvements, they would always find something new. I find history like that stuff fascinating. The breakfast was DELICIOUS! We loved the place so much, we bought two mugs.
The only thing that might be not near perfect was the location. It was right on a busy intersection. Luckily, the thick walls keep out the noise. The noise was not heard inside.
WE LOVE this place and the hospitality shown by our hosts. It felt like visiting a friend or relative you like. Amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2010

Thanks so much for the kind words! It's so nice to hear that we're on track with our goal here... to find a balance between "cozy, comfortable, historic" while providing modern conveniences that guests enjoy like Wifi, iPod docking stations, Jacuzzi tubs and flat screen TVs. We hope you and your dog come back again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

We combined business with pleasure and found a new home away from home. Nothing could have been better or more personable, thanks to the excellent attention to detail b yje Gallaghers!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atwaterhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
10.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
4.4 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
8.6 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
10.3 mi away
Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Smithton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Smithton Inn

Address: 900 W Main St, Ephrata, PA 17522-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range: $158 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Smithton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Smithton Inn is a Select Registry property and one of the oldest bed and breakfasts in Lancaster County. The 1763 colonial stone inn boasts 7 guest rooms, all with en-suite baths, working fireplaces, flat screen TV/DVD players, digital alarm clocks and refrigerators. Guest rooms are spacious and blend historic charm with modern comforts. You'll absolutely love our breakfasts! Our location provides you easy access to all the wonderful Lancaster attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Historic Smithton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing