We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, clean rooms, friendly owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Smithton Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, clean rooms, friendly owners”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We wanted to stay someplace near home (NYC) so decided to go to Amish Country, which is a 2.5 hour drive. There are over 160 B&B's in Lancaster County - capital of Amish country - so after a lot of research, we settled on this place. Was not disappointed.

House: The building itself is old (built in 1700's) , and I expected for a little wear and tear, but the place was very well kept and clean.

Room: we stayed in the red room, and it was exactly as pictured and described (check out the website). The bathroom had a deep tub, and the housekeeper cleans it daily, which allowed us to take a bath (a luxury we don't have in our NYC apartment).

Breakfast: the best purpose of a B&B is the breakfast, and this place was exceptional. Rebecca - one of the innkeepers - is an amazing cook. First day's breakfast was cinnamon french toast souffle with turkey sausage, fresh fruits of apple, strawberry and kiwi, strawberry bread with homemade preserves. Second day's breakfast was 3 pepper quiche with herb cheese and regular sausage, blueberry muffins, and fresh fruits of pineapple and blueberries. Everything was absolutely fabulous

Location: Ephrata is really small, so there isn't too much to do there, but it was a close drive to Lancaster, a couple wineries, and Intercourse/ Bird-in-hand. The B&B was so great that if we went back to Lancaster County, we would probably stay here but there are more central places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPNYC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
241
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Had to run, and boy did we luck out. My ex husband to be and I ran off to this incredible little inn near lancaster. My favorite thing were the sheets. I kid you not, I have never felt anything softer in my life. Then the size of the room. There was room to walk, for that matter I could have jumped rope. Not often seen in a B and B. The hostess with the most Rebecca went out of her way to make sure everything was perfect for us.

There is plenty to do to keep you busy in the area, and she will help you with whatever you need. It is nice to see someone doing what they love to do. That actually was the best part of all.

Room Tip: The Red White and Blue decor room looked bigger..but our chocolate room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dressedlikeastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We just returned from a second stay at the Historic Smithton Inn. What a wonderful experience. So much more relaxing than a large hotel. Rebecca's breakfasts were even more delicious than I had remembered. Peach stuffed french toast!! She is a master of the local, seasonal ingredients. I highly recommend the Inn to anyone coming to this charming part of Pennsylvania.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feasterville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We have stayed at the Historic Smithton Inn now four times.
The innkeepers, Rebecca and Dave are always friendly and so helpful.
Breakfasts are consistently delicious, often made with organic ingredients.
When our truck broke down, the Innkeepers couldn't have been more helpful. They drove us to the repair shop, and offered to help in any way they could.
I was so amazed that they would even cater to my allergies by washing my sheets in ALL FREE and CLEAR!
We always stay at the Smithton...everywhere else I have to take my own sheets!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthesther_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Another great trip to The Smithton! We've been vacationing at the Smithton for 4 years now, and it gets better with each year. They're fantastic, the breakfasts are wonderful, and I never sleep better than at The Smithton. If you've never been to a bed and breakfast, give it a try. It's the only way to go. It's a great place to stay. They're the best!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveEphrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I loved this inn, and from the moment my friend and I walked through the door, Rebecca made us feel welcome. This old, historic building is lovingly maintained. We stayed in the Sage Room--quite large and beautifully appointed, including a fireplace, hand-carved headboard and two comfortable leather chairs. We had a small refrigerator in the closet, and snacks were left on a tray in the room, together with two wine glasses. Breakfast was a special treat as Rebecca loves to cook. In addition to several kinds of juices, granola, and other breakfast cereals, we had some wonderful muffins fresh out of the oven to accompany the fresh fruit and breakfast entree. Dave provided us with a map so that we could navigate our way to Intercourse and Bird-in-Hand, PA which was a real step back in time. If you ever travel to Ephrata, PA, this Inn is the place to stay!

Room Tip: The Sage Room is on the first floor with an entrance from the driveway if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms.Cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, WI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Then you must go to the Smithton Inn! A lovely historic inn with very welcoming Innkeepers, Rebecca and Dave. Front the moment we stepped in the door of the Smithton we felt rewarded that the Hampton was filled to capacity. Our room was spacious, the bed with its comforts was luxurious and allowed us to sink into a great sleep after a long day of driving. The generous breakfasts were excellent in taste and presentation. Great coffee! We will return when travels once again take us to Lancaster Co.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms face the beautiful back yard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CZHGreenwood_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
10.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
416 reviews
0.6 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Smithton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Smithton Inn

Property: Historic Smithton Inn
Address: 900 W Main St, Ephrata, PA 17522-1328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Smithton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Smithton Inn is a Select Registry property and one of the oldest bed and breakfasts in Lancaster County. The 1763 colonial stone inn boasts 7 guest rooms, all with en-suite baths, working fireplaces, flat screen TV/DVD players, digital alarm clocks and refrigerators. Guest rooms are spacious and blend historic charm with modern comforts. You'll absolutely love our breakfasts! Our location provides you easy access to all the wonderful Lancaster attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Historic Smithton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing