We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“famous pretzel dog”
Review of Sonic Drive-In

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sonic Drive-In
Ranked #19 of 76 Restaurants in Ephrata
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Yonkers, New York
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“famous pretzel dog”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

this was our second visit to the Sonic drive in and we made a point of going simply to try the highly advertised pretzel dog with cheese and bacon bits. we happen to love pretzel rolls so we thought this would be the perfect combination...wrong! the pretzel was hard, the cheese sauce so droopy that the whole thing practically landed in our laps in the car! it was difficult to eat and only okay......French fries were great.....we were so disappointed because this particular item had been advertised and looked great but to our dismay we found it did not live up to the hype.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christmas152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Really good burgers and fries”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice fast food place where you can eat in your car or at a few tables they have out front. Your food is delivered to you by a waiter on roller skates 50's style.
You place your order into a microphone either at your car or at a large menu near the outside tables. There is no indoor seating. The outside seating is under a cover but we came after a rain and some of the benches were a bit wet.
The burgers are very tasty and the fries really good.
We never had the shakes but they too look like they should be tried.
We have eaten here the last two years in the area. We wished there were these places near where we live.
I recommend this place and will for sure return on our next trip to the Lancaster area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Softball4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernersville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sonic is always good”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Chili and cheese tots are my fav...burgers are always tasty! Love the dink varieties, service is usually very friendly and good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ariane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Drive-in throwback, very good fast food and delicious blasts!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been going here about once a month or so. Usually end up ordering some type of dessert while on our way home from Lancaster or York. Sonic Blasts are delicious, but if you ask for extra candies, they really load it up and you end up getting candy treats in every mouthful. If you didn't know, they always give you coupons for something free on the back of your receipt, so don't throw it away, plus if you sign up online for their e-mails, you will get all kinds of offers and coupons on your birthday, holidays, just about any day. The other good thing is they always let you use more than one coupon at one visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teambono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmansville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A flashback drive-in with a modern agenda!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We often stop there for a burger, pulling up to the stall and pushing the intercom button to order, which doesn't take very long as the service is completed on roller skates with a smile and extra condiments! Great burgers and grilled chicken!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wonderbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonic Drive-In also viewed

 
Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 
Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 

Been to Sonic Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing