We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, by any measure!”
Review of Aromas Del Sur

Aromas Del Sur
Ranked #3 of 76 Restaurants in Ephrata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Colombian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This restaurant was opened in October 2010 by a group of three Colombian sibilings. We like to say we serve Spanish food but most of our dishes are cooked and prepared with Colombian influence. We wanted to bring a little part of South America to the Ephrata and Lancaster area and educate people on our lifestyle. Please come by and enjoy something we are very passionate about. We have delicious appetizers which come out fast and are filling along with our plentiful entrees. We serve your typical dishes such as pork, steak, and chicken which are usually always accompanied by their rice and beans. These dishes are prepared with Colombian spices and seasoning, but are not spicy as many believe just flavorful. We have options for reservation, take out, BYOB, and large parties. TAKE A LOOK AT OUR NEW WEBSITE!!!Please feel free to call during business hours.
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding, by any measure!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The food is truly amazing! Great food, prepared by people who know what they are doing. Service was top flight, friendly, knowledgeable people to help with the ordering process and legitimately nice.

Tremendous portions...and makes it hard to leave room for dessert, but you MUST LEAVE ROOM FOR DESSERT! The house made cheese w. Figs and caramel beggars belief. Sweet and salty in the best way. It's a small bite, but you'll be quite full from dinner, unless you've been stranded on an island. I shared the dessert and made my gf as happy as I was.

So.. value, service, food quality, interesting cuisine, and outstanding every area! We WILL be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JRaimondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hola!

What a lovely and insightful review! We appreicate you compliments and are glad you enjoyed your entire experience. We seek out to give quality food, service, and a great cultural encounter. You chose a great dessert and we are happy it was to your liking! Hope you come by again during next couple months!

Gracias!

Aromas Del Sur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    46
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“AAA+”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Best Spanish food around
Good sangria too
Plenty of parking
Lunch specials
Quiet place to eat and relax

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank usa194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for a clear and consise review and good ratings. We appreciate all reviews and hope you come back soon again!

Gracias!

Aromas Del Sur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing and Authentic Columbian Food!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We recently visited Aromas Del Sur for second time within the last few weeks since we "discovered" this restaurant with a host who goes out of the way to treat you to an authentic Columbian dining experience. While the atmosphere is average, that isn't what is so appealing about the restaurant - great food and a terrific host and service is what stands out. Apparently, a diner recently commented in her review about his salt and pepper shakers which depict art work of the human body. After speaking with the owner, we discovered that the salt and pepper shakers actually reflect the work of a local artist from the owner's hometown in Columbia. The other artwork on the walls also have significance to the owner. It is best to inquire instead of make a rash judgement...you may learn something! We enjoyed the whole experience, but the food and the owner are what really sets this restaurant apart. If you have room after the main course, we recommend the figs for dessert. Wow! There is no doubt we will be back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DRSHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hola!

Thank you so much for such a heartfelt review and fantastic ratings! We are glad you enjoyed your experience and we can't wait to share more of our culture with you in the next coming years! As for our decor we will be working on that issue as soon as possible. Like you stated, our focus is on the food and service above anything but thanking for noting the problem. We really really hope to see you again!

Muchisimas Gracias!

Aromas Del Sur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brttdvd21
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfecto”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This place is a hidden gem. I'm from South Florida and this was one of the best Columbian restaurants I've ever eaten at. The empanadas are out of this world but don't get too many of you won't be able to finish the main course. We had the Arroz con Pollo y Arroz con Camarones and they were both delicious.

Try this place - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brttdvd21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your great reviews and ratings! We are glad you were able to enjoy our Colombian cuisine even though you are quite a bit away! I am happy to see you found both of the dishes you had to be delicious. Great advice on the filling empanadas too, they can almost be a meal. Hope you come by again and bring many friends!

Muchas Gracias!

Aromas Del Sur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Metro area
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

"Aromas" has the best and most interesting food in these parts. Coming from NY and NJ, where authentic ethnic food is highly valued, we were delighted to find this oasis. Yes, the decor is a little wanting, per an earlier review, but nothing else is - everyone on staff is delightful, and the gambas al ajillo is the best I have had, even in NYC.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hola!

Thank you for such a reputable review and good ratings. We are honored to be reviewed as well as some ethnic restaurants in your region. We agree the decor can be revamped but first we want to focus on our service and food then we will tackle the decor issue as many have stated. We appreciate your constructive critisicm!

Thank you!

Aromas Del Sur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aromas Del Sur also viewed

Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 
Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 

Been to Aromas Del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing