We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, but PARENTS BEWARE”
Review of La Borimex

La Borimex
Ranked #8 of 75 Restaurants in Ephrata
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, but PARENTS BEWARE”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great food. Slow service, but the real problem is in the gift shop inside. Some VERY inappropriate images (full frontal nudity) on things for sale at kid eye level. My kids were very upset at having to see that kind of thing. It's not ok. We will never be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank EaglesFanGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    36
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, L.I., NY
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Authentic ???????????”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Had dinner at this grocery store with booths based on recent reviews. Was prepared for the atmosphere but expected way more from the prepared food. I had the shrimp & scallops fajatias. The scallops were the smallest I have ever seen and overall the only flavor came from the mild green sauce I added. The beans were better than usual fare and didn't stick to your plate. My husband ordered the steak chimichanga and one side was all dough with bits of steak. A disappointing meal overall. We expected way more based on Trip Advisor reviews.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thetraveler002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“La Borimex mexican resturant”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Like everybody says your not there for the atmosphere your there for the food. The food is excellent. It is clean and the help is good. I have seen friendlier but to eat the food is worth it!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic and different Mexican food at good price”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

La Borimex is located on Rt. 322 about 2 miles East of Rt. 222. It is a Mexican grocery store with small restaurant. All their dishes are very tasteful. The meat is tender. Little cheese, but delicious flavor. The guacamole is fresh and superb. The fried ice cream is good. The service is decent and friendly. Pick your own soft drink from the cooler. It is a BYOB to boot! A decent detour from standard Mexican food. I would go there again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amishtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in area”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Nothing to look at, but food and people were excellent! Small authentic store was fun to look in while waiting for food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob17578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Borimex also viewed

Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 
Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 
Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 

Been to La Borimex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing