We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting But...”
Review of Lily's on Main

Lily's on Main
Ranked #9 of 76 Restaurants in Ephrata
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Lily's on Main has become a Lancaster County favorite - featuring a warm, inviting atmosphere and fabulous dining at reasonable prices. Specializing in American fare with artistic flair, Lily's offers entrees and appetizers for those looking for classic American favorites prepared and presented in a unique and delicious way. Located in the heart of downtown Ephrata, Lily's is decorated in the art deco style reminiscent of the 1930's and 40's, and the interior enhances the relaxed, yet sophisticated dining experience that is uniquely Lily's. At Lily's a great meal is also a value. Whether you're looking to celebrate a special occasion, or to spend an enjoyable dinner out with family or friends, Lily's has the selection and price that's right for you. Enjoy the experience that is Lily's... What dining out was meant to be.
Wyomissing, PA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting But...”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

What a great space! Too bad the rest of our experience didn't live up to our surroundings. I had heard so many good things about this restaurant. Maybe it was an off night. Let's be charitable and say the service resulted in a leisurely dining experience. The short ribs were good, the carrot was rock hard and whoever plated should be ashamed of the grey, limp asparagus. I won't rush back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    64
    32
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romance in "Ephrata", who would think???”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This place is the best and the owner is amazing. wedding planning was amazing and the food is amazing. the atmosphere and experience is warm and calm and I loved it. Howard has been cooking for years and he takes it seriously! Lots of love to all of you wonderful people who work so hard to make it a great experience to eat food that is amazing. fritters and mac and cheese with lobster and creamy soups are wonderful. Who would think you could have a nice quality dinner and a movie and feel like you are out on a lovely romantic date in "Ephrata"? "in Ephrata"?? No reason to go to Lancaster anymore!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryls3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Year Eve Celebration”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I did not go there for NYE this year but went previously and it was wonderful. Still talk about the experience and how good the food was. The cost was a little pricey though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fancy-Schmancy”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Be aware: They have a "no cell phone" rule! The food was just okay in my opinion, but service was great. Was slightly over-priced, but it had a very nice feel to it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crappy New Year!!!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

After having great meals here in the past, we decided to have our New Years Eve dinner at Lily's. We arrived 10 minutes early and were promptly seated, after that, things seemed to go downhill. Unbeknownst to us, there was a prix fix menu for $65 per person...fair enough I suppose, it was New Years Eve. Everything from the drinks and appetizers, to the entires and final check seemed to take forever. We had the lobster bisque along with the pork belly and sea scallops for appetizers. The lobster bisque had no visible lobster meat at all and the taste was bland. The sea scallops were tender and tasted great, but the pork belly was over cooked and tough. Next came the salads, the Lily's special and a "classic" caesar salad. The Lily's special was nice but, the caesar was extremely small, 2-3 fork fulls at best. Finally our entrees arrived, grilled filet mignon with portobello mushroom,truffle macaroni & cheese finished with mushroom bordelaise sauce and crab cakes with garlic butter French fries. Both meals were borderline warm, and seemed like they may have been sitting in the kitchen for a period of time. My filet was grilled as ordered, medium rare, but obviously sat too long before being served. The crab cakes were about the size of scallops, but had flavor unlike most of the meal. Both entrees came with asparagus and carrots, the carrots were uncooked. And lastly, the desserts, tiramisu and rice pudding topped with fresh berries. The tiramisu was excellent, but my fiancé had 2 bites of her rice pudding and gave up...she helped finish my tiramisu.

We had plenty of opportunities to complain, but we decided to make the best of it, we didn't want to ruin the evening. When the waitress asked how our meals were, we were honest and explained our displeasure. As a result, they discounted our meals from from $175 to $142 dollars. They automatically added a 20% gratuity to the check...adding insult to injury. We spent over 2 hours trying to enjoy what was for us, a mediocre meal. Based on this experience, I don't think we will be returning to Lily's on Main in the future.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lily's on Main also viewed

Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 
Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 

Been to Lily's on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing