We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day Delight”
Review of Lily's on Main

Lily's on Main
Ranked #10 of 76 Restaurants in Ephrata
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Lily's on Main has become a Lancaster County favorite - featuring a warm, inviting atmosphere and fabulous dining at reasonable prices. Specializing in American fare with artistic flair, Lily's offers entrees and appetizers for those looking for classic American favorites prepared and presented in a unique and delicious way. Located in the heart of downtown Ephrata, Lily's is decorated in the art deco style reminiscent of the 1930's and 40's, and the interior enhances the relaxed, yet sophisticated dining experience that is uniquely Lily's. At Lily's a great meal is also a value. Whether you're looking to celebrate a special occasion, or to spend an enjoyable dinner out with family or friends, Lily's has the selection and price that's right for you. Enjoy the experience that is Lily's... What dining out was meant to be.
lancaster, pa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Delight”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We went to Lilly's for Mothers Day and were quite surprised by the overall experience. Atmosphere-very nice, formal but not over the top; Service: attentive, paced well, friendly; Food: modified menu for Mother's Day which was a little disappointing and the prices were slightly increased from the prices of the menu on line (intentional increase vs. internet web page outdated?). Food was tasty, well prepared, A+ in presentation, quality and quantity was in alignment. Additionally, the Mother's Day Make A Wish parade right out front with front row seats was a definite plus and unintended. It made the day even more special. Recommendation to return: Yes, I would recommend to go back. Everyone at our table enjoyed the meal and commented on the quality and presentation.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    64
    32
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a stylish setting”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We had read reviews for Lily's on here and decided to give it a try. We watched a movie in the theater downstairs and then headed up for dinner. The first thing that struck us that we were WAY under-dressed for the restaurant. Everyone was "dressed up" whereas we were in shorts and t-shirts. Oh well, they still seated us. But if you have the chance to change into something nicer, you should. We stuck out a bit!

The restaurant is gorgeous. Kind of old fashioned, it has nice views of the sunset and the surrounding countryside. We began with soups, mine was tomato and my husband had the special soup of the day buffalo chicken. The soups were both delicious and mine had a generous serving of cheese melted on top which was actually a little hard to deal with so I would not get the tomato soup if wearing nice clothes or on a first date or something and worried about splashing. The waitress then brought bread, which really was excellent. Then we had the salads which come with every entree. The waitress offered a salad upgrade so i chose to upgrade to the Lily's special, pear, blue cheese and delicious fruity dressing. My travel companion had the house salad which was nothing to write home about, just some lettuce and grated carrot. So I would definitely upgrade to one of the more exciting salads if finance if no a concern. However, they do charge the full amount so its not really "upgrade" it's more "buy" another salad.

For main courses, we both had dishes others recommended on here-the raspberry chicken and the meatloaf. The meatloaf was a hit, we both loved that but the raspberry chicken was a little too sweet for a main course-it kind of had a dessert flavor to it. However, both plates were elegantly presented and at the correct temperature.

We passed on dessert as we were very full by that stage and had boxed up some of our portions to take home.

Overall, we would rate the food very highly. Our server was not as attentive as she could have been and seemed unimpressed by the fact that we wanted to use the "10% discount if you see a movie downstairs" option. However, she had a lot of tables on the go. Also, don't eat here if you are hungry and want food to come out quickly. I think this is one of those slow, enjoy the experience places. There was quite a long wait between courses.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhughe39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, NJ
Level Contributor
161 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A nice ending to a day of touring”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We went on a wine and cheese tour and ended our day at Lily's on Main which wasw included in our tour. Cheers to the tour organizers for such a nice finish! We were in a private section of the restaurant which was a bit too small for our group so we were elbow to elbow, but we had a nice four course meal with wine pairings. The courses were selected for us so we had no choice for what was being served but it actually turned out to be rather good. My son, however, didn't like any of what was served which could have been a problem but the server was very gracious and accommodating and allowed him to pick from their regular menu. This was much appreciated so that all five in my party were able to enjoy their meals. Service was prompt and courteous, food was well prepared and creative (but the banana nut bread pudding for dessert was dry and not very tasty) and the wines were nicely paired with the food. Taken as a whole - tour, tastings and Lily's - our experience was very enjoyable and satisfying.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveler47NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome experience-----”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Lily's on the Main was an amazing restaurant! The atmosphere and food were awesome.We loved the anniversary corner- great idea!
Service was excellent also- would visit again!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ERTMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Favorite place !”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We found Lily's On Main several years ago when we moved to the area. It has become our favorite place to celebrate - most recently for a birthday dinner. Wonderful setting, fabulous service, and love the way the menu changes with the seasons. The meatloaf is my husband's favorite....I can't decide - everything is wonderful. The chef and owner has an obvious pride in his place. Wonderful for brunch, too !

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lily's on Main also viewed

Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 

Been to Lily's on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing