We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay here. The accommodations are clean and comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and the hospitality of the owners was excellent. The views are wonderful. We highly recommend it and will be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenandVicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 161 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Bert & Rich treated us like family. I've stayed at B & B's before but, this one is extra special. The home on top of the hill is lovely. We stayed for 2 nights & I would have loved to extend our stay. All the rooms have wonderful views & balconies, slippers & robes, spacious bathrooms.. We choose the Swan Lake room for the view & extra space. Bird of Paradise has a similar view but is a little bit smaller. If privacy is your 1st priority The Victorian Rose is your best choice but, the balcony is off the hallway. We loved feeding the swans, playing pool & ping pong & exercising in the workout room. Did I mention they have an elevator & a guest mini kitchen. Breakfast was lovely & tasty. Bert did her best to meet my special dietary needs( she was away just prior to our visit so, I didn't get to tell her ahead of time about my dietary restrictions). Our host did their best to recommend things to do, places to eat & directions to get there & back. When you visit, please give Fredie a treat from me. He is a very sweet old dog. We also made friend with the garage cat, she's purrfect! The neighbors are also very gracious & allowed us to wonder around their "garden" shop even though they were closed for the winter. This was a wonderful way to celebrate by Birthday & new job.

Room Tip: All the rooms have wonderful views & balconies. We choose the Swan Lake room for the view &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatW610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at Hurst House Bed & Breakfast for only one night, but it was just perfect. All rooms are cozy and well decorated, and Rich and Bert are a very welcoming and lovely couple. Breakfast was excellent. I can recommend this place to everyone, it is truly a special experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lieke2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I LOVED this place! We celebrated our first wedding anniversary here, and the owners were very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast in the mornings were delightful, the grounds were beautiful, and the rooms make you feel like home. One of the best nights sleeps I have had in a long time. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Off the beaten path, surrounded by Amish farm lands and backing up to a breathtaking man made pond, is this gorgeous Bed & Breakfast Inn by welcoming and gracious host Bert and her husband Rich who planned and built this magnificent Inn from the ground up. You will want to stay at least two nights to truly enjoy and get away from all the city hustle and bustle. This is a great get away for older couples.

Room Tip: Bird in Paradise has the closest and best view of the man made pond. The fireplace is in the wall a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our second stay at the beautiful Hurst House. We celebrated our 30 wedding anniversary this time. The weather was very warm for October we sat outside on our balcony at night. We enjoy going to Lancaster and visiting different places and this is the place we stay at because it feels like home. The views of the pond with the swans are so calming for the soul. You will not feel like a stranger in their home for long because they make you feel like part of their family. They are lovely people who love the Lord and serve others with a kind and loving spirit. If you are in the need of a perfect getaway then this is the place for you. The Carbaughs, Greencastle, Pa

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our first time at a B&B, so we didn't know what to expect. Bert was so welcoming (almost as if we were visiting a long lost relative), and she has done a lovely job decorating the house. Rich was interesting to talk to about the actual construction of the house. The views from high on the hill are breathtaking, and you HAVE to take a walk after sunset to see the frogs leaping into the pond...they are HUGE! Bert and Rich have thought of everything. It is such a relaxing environment. The beds are very comfortable; rooms are sound proof and very clean. Breakfast was delicious, but I must admit that our favorite part of the visit was talking to Lucy, the lady that helps Bert around the house. Thanks, Lucy...for enlightening us about the Amish and Mennonite families. We found it to be so fascinating and we could have talked to you for the entire day! This is definitely a "must stay" if you are visiting the Lancaster area. Ask Bert about the quaint quilt shops in the area, and make sure you stop by at least one of them.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view since you are on top of the hill. We chose the Victorian Rose room for the ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shash F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
8.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
8.3 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
6.5 mi away
Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites
5.9 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hurst House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurst House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 154 E Farmersville Rd, Ephrata, PA 17522-8506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range: $138 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hurst House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hurst House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing