We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beltway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and Relaxing”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate our Anniversary. The Hurst House is beautiful and Bert and Rich are wonderful hosts. Our two night stay in the Golden Pond room were very relaxing and peaceful. The king size bed was just right, not too hard, not too soft. Great view of the pond and surrounding farm lands. The homemade hot breakfast were delicious and the conversations with Bert and Rich interesting and educational. Bert and Rich provided us a map marked up with all the best places to visit to include written information and directions. Needless to say, we stimulated the economy in and around Ephrata during our stay. We will definitely stay at the Hurst House B&B again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterTDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
94
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The leaders of our organization used this facility for a short retreat. The owners were very hospitable and easy to work with. All the participants enjoyed the overnight accommodations and the Garden Room worked very well for our meeting time. This is a top notch facility with one of a kind view of the surrounding area. We hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 6 Contributor
681 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I want to thank my fellow TA reviewers for bringing me to Hurst House with their thoroughly positive and accurate reviews of this previously unknown jewel in Amish country. All the reviews justly rave about Bert & Rich, the amazingly gracious hosts. They went way out of their way to make sure we had healthier options for our breakfasts, including making us oatmeal and buying Cheerios for us. (Personal hint to Rich and Bert: I think other guests would appreciate being asked in advance about dietary restrictions and offered alternatives to the regular hot dishes you offer.) The big surprise were the views of the farmland and surrounding hills from this very high point in the county. Rich designed the house with an eye for maximizing the views from all 3 levels and every room. We were blessed with gorgeous sunsets and sunrises which we could appreciate in nearly 360 degrees of glory from this unbelievable spot. The rooms are big and have balconies to farther partake of the vistas. The little fitness room could use a bit of work but it was adequate for me and offered more in-house than any other b 'n b I've ever been to. The location is perfect for exploring every aspect of the area: Lancaster city; the outlets on route 30; the antiques in Adamstown; the shops in New Holland, Intercourse, and Bird-in-Hand; and the charm of Lititz; as well as exploring all the farmland roads that show off the countryside to its best advantage. The "gathering room" on the second floor where all the guest rooms are located really worked to provide 24 hour access to hot beverages and the refridgerator, but most of all a place to chat with other guests. Similarly the family style breakfast turned into extended chats around the table sharing travel tips and life experiences. And there is free wifi, which was helpful finding restaurants. Many thanks to Bert and Rich for providing a superb weekend getaway for us.

Room Tip: It appears that all of the rooms are good, with views and balconies. Just 5 rooms for now but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank X-NYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Recently stayed at Hurst House B & B for a weekend getaway. The place is more amazing than advertised, Bert and Rich were the perfect hosts, we felt like we were a part of their family by the time our stay was over with. There is so much beautiful detail to this house that you have to see it to believe it. Bert and Rich go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay with them, we really enjoyed breakfast time, they always provided a terrific breakfast. Was also very nice to mix and mingle with other couples and engage in conversations with them. Looking forward to our next visit already!

Bob E.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bgood52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Bert & Rich have created the most amazing B&B experience. First, as very charming hosts -- the kind that embrace you as family as soon as you arrive, and second, the Hurst House itself, perched high on a hill overlooking pastoral valleys and farms. The inside is beautifully furnished. Just step inside and look up to a beautiful Murano glass chandelier. It only gets better from there. We stayed in the Bird Paradise Room. Our goal is to return multiple times, each time staying in a different room...and then start over. We have found our go to "escape" and wanted to share it with all of you. If you are reading this and are looking for the best B&B in the area; in need of stress to melt away, or just someplace to escape, look no further. Really.
Liked Best: Everything + Freddie, the smartest dog ever.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Highly recommend a stay here for anyone seeking a getting in the Lancaster PA area. The owners Bert and Rich are wonderful hosts, the house itself is lovely and a walk on the grounds will restore your soul. Staying at the Hurst house will make that special weekend getaway all the more special.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Down to earth, sweet couple runs this establishment. Rooms were extremely well appointed. Bert prepared a tremendous breakfast each morning, even supplying recipe's. Rich was a pleasure to spend time with and just a genuine giving person. Amish farms surround the area with many antique stores in the area. We go to Stoudt's Brewery and steakhouse when we are in the area. Highly recommended if you seek a quiet get away.

Room Tip: We had a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
8.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
398 reviews
8.3 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
3.8 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
5.9 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hurst House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurst House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 154 E Farmersville Rd, Ephrata, PA 17522-8506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hurst House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hurst House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing