We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG What a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife Sandy and I had a wonderful experience staying with Bert and Rich at their lovely Hurst House Bed and Breakfast. The accomadations were well above satisfactory, the food the same. As lovely as the room was
(we stayed in the Golden Pond room, with a great view of the Pennsylvania countryside (so happy about that verses staying in the town) the best part was the easy comraderie between Bert and Rich and their other guests. Highly recommended by a frequent traveler. Thanks for a great time.

Room Tip: We really liked the Golden Pond and Swan Lake rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dante D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 161 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

The B&B sits atop a hill in PA Dutch country overlooking miles and miles of farms and fields and spectacular views of the immaculately manicured grounds. There's not a bad room in the house - all have balconies - and it is meticulously cared for and maintained. Bert and Rich make you feel right at home and are attentive to anything you might need. We stayed in the swan lake room and had a wonderfully relaxing and enjoyable stay. There's a lake in the back of the property with a gazebo, pergola, seating areas and two beautiful swans that just add to the peaceful atmosphere that envelops you as soon as you set foot on the grounds! We only live a few miles away, but for the weekend, we felt like we were in a whole other world. Truly a gem and I would recommend to anyone. And I will definitely be going back again!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodeye67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We've stayed at a lot of B&B's and this one is at the top. If you're going to be in the Lancaster area you owe it to yourself to consider Hurst House B&B. Why stay in a hotel when you can get all this...you'll be glad you stayed. This was our first stay at this B&B - YES, we'll go back!!! From the large and spacious Golden Pond room, to the balcony, to the private bathroom, to the wonderful owners Burt & Rich, to the breakfast, to full-run of the basement with pool table and pingpong table, to the pond with ducks and swans, to the coffee machine and snacks, to the views... ahhhh the views....

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We were looking for a last minute place to stay since it had gotten too late for us to continue our journey back to New York. An innkeeper highly recommended this B&B to us, so out of a long list that she gave us, this one really stood out as exceptional. We were not disappointed. It was so magnificent that when we climbed the hill to the property, we thought we were in the wrong place and were going to be chased away by the owners of this incredible home. The Hurst's were probably two of the nicest people we have every met while staying at B&Bs. They opened their home to us as if we were honored guests. As soon as we arrived, they showed us all the many amenities, from movie, exercise, computer and game rooms to a snack (coffee, tea, cookies, etc..) room that was open to us 24/7. Rich, the owner and innkeeper, made it clear to us that we could have the run of the house. They were so friendly, warm and hospitable, that we felt more like family than a couple looking for a room for the night. We were given a tour of the magnificent home and taken out to the terrace to see the incredible views - views that could be seen from every guest room. We had our own private porch and the lights of the season decorated the grounds, which included a pond with live swans! The house was immaculate and I am a person who really values cleanliness. We had wonderful conversation with them after breakfast, and we really felt they were sorry to see us go. This is so different than many B&Bs where the hosts prefer that you leave quickly after breakfast. We feel we have made wonderful friends, and look forward to visiting with them again. Two final notes: The rooms were very reasonable. One would expect to pay double for a B&B of this quality. And for those of you who have trouble with the stairs, an elevator is available and its use is encouraged by the hosts.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great. Just a matter of your personal taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inconspicuous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a quiet and charming B&B to spend our 2nd wedding anniversary for the night. I am so glad I stumbled upon the Hurst House online. It was just perfect- warm hospitality, delicious food and the house was spotless! We had a great time exploring the inside and outside of the home, which has one of the best views around. Fall is a perfect time to go, and this year we were surprised with some unexpected snow in October!
We will definitely be back!
M and B

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hurst House over Labor Day weekend. It was our first time there, but found it to be very nice and clean. The house is a new Victorian design. The owner was a builder and bought the land and built a beautiful home and was kind enough to share it with visitors. Each room has a view of the Amish farms below or the large man made lake. Either view is very nice. The breakfast is served in a large dining room that overlooks the lake. The breakfast was well thought out and well balanced. The innkeepers are husband and wife and you can tell they really enjoy have quests. If you want and nice view stay at the Hurst House B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank victoria03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband and I just came back from a long weekend at the Hurst House, and we had a fabulous time! The B&B was situated on a high hill that overlooks the Lancaster region (about 10-15 minutes away from the main tourist towns). It was surrounded by lots of Amish/Mennonite farms and cornfields galore. We found that it some of the towns in the Lancaster region were rather busy and touristy (strip motels, etc), so this was a welcome respite at the end of each day. We felt like we were in farm country, and it was incredibly peaceful!

The B&B itself was beautiful and romantic. It was a very large Victorian-style home that the innkeeper himself built! It featured abut 5 bedrooms, a gathering room, living room/dining room, etc. There was also a small pond on the property. Our room, the Bird Paradise room, was one of the smallest rooms on the property but was ample for our needs and very clean. It had a queen bed, full bath and a small terrace overlooking the hillside.

The innkeepers, Bert, Rich (and Freddie the dog) were incredibly warm, friendly and accommodating. All the guests had breakfast together, and we had something different (and yummy!) each morning, cooked by Bert herself. The innkeepers were very helpful in recommending interesting sites to visit and provided us with a local flavor of the area. We had an amazing and relaxing time at the Hurst house, and we would definitely recommend it for a quiet getaway!

Room Tip: All the rooms were nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZZZ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
8.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
8.3 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
6.5 mi away
Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites
5.9 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hurst House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurst House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 154 E Farmersville Rd, Ephrata, PA 17522-8506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range: $138 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hurst House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hurst House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing