We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating our one year anniversary!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I were here to celebrate our first year anniversary. What a perfect, quiet getaway. If you like being out in the country, then this is the place to be. we enjoyed the detailed vintage decoration. We stayed in the ''garden room'' and absolutely loved it. Our host and hostess were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. My husband got special permission from Barry and Cheryl to put little candles along the sidewalk and outlined a big heart shape in the front lawn. We would go back in a heart beat! Cheryl is an amazing cook. Both mornings we were served promptly. And everything was in order and our hostess even went out of her was to put candles in our room along with dish of strawberries. They went above and beyond to make our stay relaxing and hassle free.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tovyah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 77 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and i spent two nights at the bb to celebrate our one year anniversary! When we arrived we were very warmly welcomed, then shown to our beautiful room (garden room), it was very clean and neat. Breakfast both mornings was OUT OF THIS WORLD, vonderful goot!! :) Barry and Cheryl let me surprise my wife the last night we were there, with the set up of over 100 candles in the walk and yard! They were all for it, and my wife loved it! My wife and i have stayed at several romantic "couple getaways" but this one was one of the best we have ever had! The location, the view, the service, just excellent all around! We were so blessed to have stayed at this wonderful bed and breakfast!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwood2221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in the Washington Room which is an attic room. We got to see three rooms and they were all appointed nicely with pretty bedding and well thought out eclectic antique décor. The property is beautiful and the common spaces are warm and lovely. So what went wrong?

We arrived to discover that Cheryl and Barry, the proprietors, weren't there. Okay, not the end of the world and the young people who served us that weekend were delightful.

Our room, while attractive, was dusty, so much so that we were having allergy reactions to it. Dead bugs and dirt were on the sills and although the bathroom was okay, I got the feeling that the room itself had not seen a dust rag in a long while. We also had a "giggle the handle" toilet.

Our breakfast food was so-so. We had quiche the first day with a fruit cup. One of our party didn't like pineapple, so our breakfast hostess was nice enough to take note of this the next morning and left pineapple out of her bowl. The second day was supposed to be French toast, but the bread was so large and hard it was difficult to eat.

Our other little surprise was that we were told we were being charged a $25 fee for setting up a dinner with an Amish family. That fee seemed hefty to me and we all grumbled about it. The person working the desk told us they would check with the owners since there was no mention of the fee on our bill supporting the idea that we weren't told. Wisely, we weren't charged.

This place has the potential to be great instead of getting an average rating from me. More TLC is needed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scriptspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLWIssler, Manager at Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

We are so sorry that your experience that weekend was not exceptional. As we explained to your other 2 traveling companions, we were forced to leave town that weekend with an important situation and had to choose between canceling your reservations or leaving the inn in the care of a fairly new employee who is no longer with us. We chose to honor the reservations but the quality of service from our helper was not up to our normal standards. Our rooms are always dusted on check-in day but obviously not that day. The room you choose was on the third floor which was clear on our website and they are actually the rooms that most of our return guests prefer because of the rustic ambiance, the exposed stone walls and brick chimney. The third floor does have an occasional bug in the spring which we always remove before check-in. Again this was obviously not done. We will accept responsibility for the lack of training for the young employee. We hope that we will have another chance to show you a much better time at Clearview. You will notice that until the weekend you came, every one of our reviews had been excellent. We are certain that the next time you will change your opinion of our inn. Barry and Cheryl Wissler, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Three couples traveling for a long spring weekend and looking forward to experiencing a bit of the country. The property was a charming old farmhouse with a beautiful garden. We were welcomed warmly by the son of the owners who were out of town. He did a great job of showing us to our pre selected rooms where we settled in. My husband and I stayed in the Princess room which was decorated in typical Victorian style with many ruffles and trinkets. We had the following issues with our room: bed frame needs to be oiled as it was so squeaky every time one turned over, room needed to be cleaned it was incredibly dusty, and our bathroom shower had mold in the corners. Breakfast was served in a lovely dining room. With the owners away, I feel the standards must have slipped a bit. The morning we were leaving, the staff had already removed our towels as we had breakfast so it was difficult to finish getting ready to leave. Nice place that needs a good cleaning.

Room Tip: Princess room overlooked the pond and was very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine49jbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLWIssler, Owner at Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

We are so sorry for what happened the weekend you were at Clearview. As you may have read in our response to your fellow traveler's review submitted two weeks ago, when you stayed at Clearview we were called out of town on an emergency situation. We were forced to leave the inn in the hands of a newly trained innkeeper who is no longer with us. Our only other alternative was to cancel existing reservations and we felt this would be unfair to your party of three couples who would have had real difficulty finding a place where you could all stay together. If you will read our other reviews, we have had all very positive comments from all our guests for the last 7 years since we opened. This is truly the first time we left the inn like this and the service was simply not to our normal standards. We trust you will forgive us for this and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Although we arrived on a snowy weekend we received a warm welcome from Cheryl and Barry. Their lovely old farm house is beautifully decorated with antiques. The surrounding farmland and barns create a very relaxing Lancaster county atmosphere.The living room overlooks a pond that is home to two swans who didn't seem to mind the weather. We stayed in the Garden Room which was very nicely decorated and comfortable. We enjoyed two excellent breakfasts in the company of congenial fellow guests. Ephrata proved to be a good base for exploring the area, and our hosts were very helpful in suggesting restaurants and attractions. We look forward to returning in warmer weather.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room. It was lovely. I did not see the other rooms, but you probably cannot...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I experienced our first stay in a bed and breakfast at the Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast.
Owners Cheryl and Barry were very welcoming and provided us excellent information about the area. Our room as well as the entire house was very clean and decorated so tastefully with antiques.
Cheryl's breakfasts were wonderful, especially the home baked muffins and breads.
I would highly recommend the Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast to anyone visiting Lancaster County.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights while attending the Hershey Fall Car Show. Cheryl could not be a more gracious and charming host. By the way, as good as the breakfasts were, she makes excellent coffee! The room, food, location, and peace & quiet were all top notch!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
10.0 mi away
The Inn at Leola Village
14.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
4.5 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.9 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 355 Clearview Rd, Ephrata, PA 17522-9728
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range: $99 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temporarily Closed Featured in Country Inns Magazine, this 1814 stone farmhouse has been restored and furnished with antiques. Located on 180 acres of farmland overlooking a pond, this is a quiet property ideal for a getaway. A full gourmet breakfast is served in the morning. All rooms have private baths, queen beds and two comfortable sitting chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Clearview Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing